Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies

Bibliographic information can be searched separately for every journal indexed in PIO. In addition, researchers can access a list of issues for each journal and a table of contents for each issue.

Licensed full text content will display a "Full Access" icon.

ACLS Humanities E-Book includes foundational backlist titles in the humanities and social sciences, with 150-200 new titles added annually.

This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

One Mail instructions:

If you created your MyEBSCO account using your @indiana.edu email address, you will need to update the address to your @iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025.

1. Sign in to your MyEBSCO account
2. From MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account
   1. You may be asked to sign in again
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu and press the Save button

Covers modern world history (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in the database America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present. It currently indexes about 2,300 journals in 40 languages, with indexing also for some books and dissertations. Most of the article citations include abstracts of 75-100 words.

Includes journal articles, books, government documents, pamphlets and the reports of public and private bodies.  Also indexes publications in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish.

Print source: PAIS bulletin (1915-1990), PAIS Foreign Language Index (1968-1990), PAIS International in Print (1991-)

Public domain and out of copyright books are readily available through Google Books, in downloadable, PDF format. Items still under copyright may not be entirely viewed, nor may they be printed or copied. Books may be in full view, limited preview, spippet view, or no preview available.

The Index to Jewish Periodicals provides indexing to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Titles include such journals as Contemporary Jewry, Holy Land Studies, Jewish Culture & History, Journal of Palestine Studies, Studies in American Jewish Literature. Most references in the Index are not found in other guides to periodical literature. The database is intended for those interested in Jewish thought and contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs. Coverage of journals dates as far back as 1988.

The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Many of these materials are first-hand reports of events as they occurred. As such, the FBIS Daily Reports constitutes an archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news.

FBIS Daily Reports is comprised of the reports from Middle East and [North] Africa (MEA), 1974-1987; Near East and South Asia (NES), 1987-1996; South Asia (SAS), 1980-1987; Sub-Saharan Africa (SSA), 1974-1980 and (AFR), 1987-1996; China (CHI), 1974-1996; Asia and the Pacific (APA), 1974-1987; East Asia (EAS), 1987-1996; Latin America (LAT and LAM), 1974-1996; Eastern Europe (EEU), 1974-1996; Soviet Union/Central Eurasia (SOV), 1974-1996; Western Europe (WEU), 1974-1996.

The IUB Libraries' Government Information, Maps and Microform Services (East Tower 2, or ET2), located on the 2nd floor of the Herman B Wells Library at 10th and Jordan, received these reports as part of the Federal Depository Library Program on microfiche. Feel free to contact ET2 staff regarding reports not yet available on this full text database, for earlier and later reports, and about related federal documents (including Congressional and Department of State documents).

It contains references to scholarly research from journals and series, monographs, chapters of books, working papers, dissertations, proceedings, Festschriften and bibliographies.

Comprehensive, editorially maintained database of funding opportunities combined with a unique database of over 3 million pre-populated scholar profiles. Pivot's proprietary algorithm compiles pre-populated researcher profiles unique to Indiana University and matches them to current funding opportunities in the expansive COS Pivot database. This allows users to search for a funding opportunity and instantly view matching faculty from inside or outside IU.

One Mail instructions:

While creating an account is not required to access Pivot, it is encouraged to be able to track and share opportunities. The Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR) has enabled Single Sign On for this resource. However, if you created an account with your @indiana.edu email account without using Single Sign On, you may need to update your account to use your @iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025.

1. Log in your Pivot user account
2. Click on the drop-down arrow next to your name in the upper right corner of the screen and select My Profile
3. Click on the pencil icon (edit) next to the email address to add your iu.edu email address (if needed) and remove your @indiana.edu email address

Any questions or problems updating your email address should be directed to the Office of the Vice President for Research. 

The 10 individual, award-winning Gale series that comprise Literature Criticism Online represent a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.

Titles include:
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
Shakespearean Criticism
Literature Criticism from 1400-1800
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
Poetry Criticism
Short Story Criticism
Drama Criticism
Children's Literature Review

Since 1972, the Encyclopedia Judaica has been the leading source for information on the Jewish people, the Jewish faith and the state of Israel - how they have shaped and been influenced by our world.
The Encyclopedia Judaica is the authoritative reference resource for Jewish knowledge and life up to the present day. It is designed for both Jewish and non-Jewish readers and covers nine main subject categories: Contemporary Jewry, Education and modern scholarship, History, Jews in world culture, Judaism: practice, Judaism: thought, Language and literature, and Miscellaneous.

Middle Eastern Manuscripts Online 1: Pioneer Orientalists (MEMO 1) consists of the Arabic manuscripts of Joseph Justus Scaliger (d. 1609), Franciscus Raphelengius (d. 1597) and Jacobus Golius (d. 1667) from the Leiden University Library, one of Europe's top repositories of Oriental manuscripts. These three collections are Leiden's oldest core collections of Arabic manuscripts. The Golius collection is particularly famous for its manuscripts on Islamic science.

Focus is on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, Indigenous peoples, LGBT, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.

Fully searchable database of primary source documents from the British National Archives that chronicle the politics, wars, administration, and diplomacy surrounding the Palestine Mandate and the Arab-Israeli conflict. Topics covered include the background to the establishment of the State of Israel, Black September, the Border wars of the 1950s, the British capture of Jerusalem, the Cold War in the Middle East, the formation of the United Arab Republic, Jewish terror groups, and milestones in the Palestine-Zionist tension and their impact on British policy leading to the Partition of 1948.

The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts builds on the merged backfile of Political Science Abstracts (1975-2000) and ABC POL SCI (1984-2000). This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 750 core serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers.

Contains original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers. Topics covered include: The Siege of Kut-al-Amara, The War in Mesapotamia and the capture of Baghdad in 1917, Introduction of the British Mandate, and the installation of King Faisal in 1921, The British administration in Baghdad, Gertrude Bell, advisor to the British administration, in both reports and memos, The Arab Uprising of 1920, Independence, and Iraq’s membership of the League of Nations in 1932, Coups d’etat in the 1930s and 1940s, The Baghdad Pact of 1955 and the military coup of 1958 leading to the establishment of a republic, The Cold War and Soviet intervention in Iraq, Kurdish unrest and the war in Kurdistan, Oil concessions and oil exploration, The Rise of Ba’athism and Saddam Hussein, The USSR-Iraq Treaty of Friendship in 1972, Iran-Iraq relations.

Comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included. Formats found in Nexis Uni are: international and domestic newspapers, magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), company financial information, industry and market news, federal and state case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and state and country profiles. Includes business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Non-English language news sources are available in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch. Campus news from some 400 college/university papers and over 50 wire services are also available.

To access Nexis Dossier select "Business" (near the bottom of the Nexis Uni homepage). Then select "Create a Company List" in the Company Dossier box.

AI Research Tool

Nexis Uni utilizes AI in their natural language search feature and the article summaries that display for many news results. Availability of the article summary feature for new results varies, and may change without advance notice.

One Mail information:

On August 13, 2025 Nexis Uni updated all personal accounts using @indiana.edu email addresses to use @iu.edu email addresses. Please use your iu.edu email address when logging in to your personal account for Nexis Uni. No further action is needed.

The birth of independent African nations, the rise of the Civil Rights movement and African American Studies in the U.S., and the end of the Cold War all prompted the emergence of African Studies as an important area of inquiry in Africa, Europe, and North America. Founded as Africa was emerging from centuries of the slave trade and foreign domination, the field has sought to displace racist foreign notions to explore African perspectives on art, culture, economics, geography and the environment, ancient and modern history, literature, music, politics, religion, science and thought, and society.
 
Over more than half a century, the field has emerged as a diverse multidisciplinary effort that spans multiple epistemologies and methodologies, making it challenging for students and scholars to be informed about every applicable area. And given the diversity of African environments and peoples it is difficult to appreciate both its broad similarities and complex specificities. We have thus combined broad introductions to such subjects as African society, politics, or literature with specific studies of individual peoples, states, or literary traditions to enable the user to appreciate Africans’ distinctiveness as well as their diversity.
 
Since the literature on African Studies is diverse, fast moving, controversial, and scattered among unfamiliar sources, we have asked leading scholars to identify the most significant themes and areas of study in their fields, recommend the best sources for exploring them, and discuss these works conceptual and empirical significance to provide a series of guided studies through the diverse approaches to a wide array of complex subjects. A great deal of this work has moved online with the most recent scholarship, research, and statistics appearing in online databases. With advances in online searching and database technologies, researchers and practitioners can easily access library catalogs, bibliographic indexes, and other lists that show thousands of resources that might also be useful to them. In this situation what is most needed is expert guidance. Researchers and practitioners at all levels need tools that help them filter through the proliferation of information sources to material that is reliable and directly relevant to their inquiries. Oxford Bibliographies in African Studies offers a trustworthy pathway through the thicket of information overload.

Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990, ENW presents a comprehensive, full-text collection of nearly 1.6 million articles from more than 280 publications offering both national and regional coverage. While the content may mirror mainstream media coverage, the viewpoints are decidedly unique.
Ethnic NewsWatch delivers hundreds of ethnocentric publications. The voices of the Asian American, Jewish, African American, Native American, Arab American, Eastern European, and multi-ethnic communities can be heard. Titles include New York Amsterdam News, Asian Week, Jewish Exponent, Seminole Tribune, and many more. A majority of this content is exclusive to ENW and not available in any other database.

A collection of eleven Russian periodicals dealing with all aspects of Russia's Muslim world before the fall of the tsarist regime. Their places of publication include not only the two metropolises of Moscow and St. Petersburg, but also such provincial cities as Kazan', Simferopol', Baku, and Kokand. Also included is the Paris weekly "Musul΄manin = Moussoulmanine," which began to be published by the Russian Muslim diaspora of Paris, France, for the purpose of enlightening the mountain people of the Caucasus and educating Russian society about the local Muslim world of the Caucasus.

JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Mellon Foundation, provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines. These scholarly journals can be browsed online and searched, and the page images can be printed for those available in full-text. The IUB Libraries subscribe to current content for only some titles available through JSTOR. Includes access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Hebrew Journals, Ireland Collection, Lives of Literature, Public Health Collection, Security Studies Collection, Sustainability Collection.

All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume. Many include content up to a "moving wall" of 3-5 years ago, although some journals have a fixed ending date for their content in JSTOR. Please check individual journals for exact dates of coverage. 

For information about access to this resource for IU alumni, contact the Indiana University Alumni Association.

One Mail instructions:

If you setup a JSTOR account using your indiana.edu, you will need to update the address to your iu.edu before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. Log in to your JSTOR account
2. Click on your name in the top-right corner
3. Select “My Account” from the drop-down menu
4. From the Account page select “Profile”
5. Click the Edit button to the right of the personal information header
6. Update your contact email to use iu.edu & click the Save button

Note: While this updates the email address associated with your account, your username will not change. If you used your indiana.edu email address as your username, you may optionally contact JSTOR support at support@jstor.org to request that they update your username to match your iu.edu. This step is not required.

AI Research Tool

The Libraries' subscription includes optional access to JSTOR's interactive research tool. You must be logged in with a free JSTOR account to see and use the tool.

Brockelmann’s Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period. This originally multivolume reference work is divided in chronologically organized sections, which are subdivided by literary genre. Individual entries typically consist of a biographical section and a list of the author’s works in manuscript and print, with references to secondary literature.

Includes the complete, fully searchable text of the traditional print version of The Chicago Manual of Style. Also includes access to the Chicago Style Q&A, which is another fully searchable resource of questions and answers, and the Tools, which provides examples of forms, letters, and style sheets.

IUCAT, Indiana University's online library catalog, provides comprehensive access to millions of items held by the IU Libraries statewide, including books, recordings, US government publications, periodicals, and other types of material. Users can access IUCAT from any Internet-connected computer or device, whether in the libraries, on campus, or off campus.

Coverage in the database begins in 1908, and there is indexing for some journal titles back into the nineteenth century. Full text is available for many electronic articles and book reviews in over 100 journals.

Premiere data source on the global economy. It contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2000 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Data selection screens are intuitive and easy to use. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted. These features plus data export options in standard formats like Excel make WDI Online the most useful tool yet for researching developmental data.
Print and CD-ROM versions of WDI are retained in GIMSS (Government Information, Microforms and Statistical Services), 2nd floor of the IUB Herman B Wells Library, which also subscribes to most World Bank publications.

The collection ranges from contemporary novels to national heritage scientific treatises. -- OCLC

Index Islamicus is the primary index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. It includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.

Afghanistan's history, internal political development, foreign relations, and very existence as an independent state have largely been determined by its geographic location at the crossroads of Central, West, and South Asia. In modern times, as well as in antiquity, vast armies of the world passed through Afghanistan, temporarily establishing local control and often dominating Iran and northern India. Islam has played a key role in the formation of Afghanistan as well. Although it was the scene of great empires and flourishing trade for over two millennia, Afghanistan did not become a truly independent nation until the twentieth century. In much of the twentieth century, Afghanistan remained neutral. It was not a participant in World War II, nor aligned with either power bloc in the Cold War. However, it was a beneficiary of the latter rivalry as both the Soviet Union and the U.S. vied for influence by building such infrastructure works as roads, airports, water and sewer systems, and hospitals. The U.S. State Department Central Classified Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century.

eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. Use to find information on a particular culture or cultural trait or for making cross-cultural comparisons. Includes thousands of pages of text from books, articles, and unpublished manuscripts as well as English translations of foreign texts available exclusively in HRAF.

Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Offers coverage at local, regional, national and international levels.  Covers a range of disciplines, including political science, journalism, English, history, environmental studies, sociology, economics, education, business, health, and social sciences. Enables researchers to track subjects geographically and over time, analyze trends and statistics.  

One Mail information:

In August 2025, all optional Newsbank and Readex user accounts with @indiana.edu email addresses were updated to @iu.edu email addresses. No further action is needed.

Focus is on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, Indigenous Peoples, LGBT, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.

Users who create an account also gain access to a set of tools for sharing images, curating groups of images, downloading them directly into PowerPoint presentations, and comparing and contrasting images.

One Mail instructions:

If you setup an Artstor account using your indiana.edu, you will need to update the address to your iu.edu before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. Log in to your Artstor account
2. Click on your name in the top-right corner
3. Select “My Account” from the drop-down menu
4. From the Account page select “Profile”
5. Click the Edit button to the right of the personal information header
6. Update your contact email to use iu.edu & click the Save button

Note: While this updates the email address associated with your account, your username will not change. If you used your indiana.edu email address as your username, you may optionally contact Artstor support at support@jstor.org to request that they update your username to match your iu.edu. This step is not required.

The Bibliography of Arabic Books Online is a continuing project. It's searchable in English, transliterated Arabic, and Arabic script.

Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.

Access is for Volumes 1-4.

Ethnographic Video Online, Vols. I and II: Foundational Films 
Includes classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent.

Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. III: Indigenous Voices
Includes films by indigenous filmmakers. Emphasis is on the human effects of climate change, sustainability, indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling. 

Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. IV: Festivals and Archives
Includes titles by contemporary visual anthropologists. Also contains the full catalog of anthropology films from Berkeley Media, formerly known as the University of California’s Extension Center for Media.

Archives Unbound is a suite of collections, each devoted to a particular topic. The collections include primary, unpublished historical documents and draw from institutional and governmental sources (Africa and African America; Source Library: Federal Bureau of Investigation Headquarters Library) and private collections (Women in Cuba; Library: Personal collection Dr. K. Lynn Stoner).

"Consists of pre-revolutionary Orientological publications is the little-known, classified Collection of Geographical, Topographical and Geographical Materials on Asia = Sbornik geograficheskikh, topograficheskikh i statisticheskikh materialov po Azii which was issued by the Russian General Staff between 1883 and 1914 in 87 thick volumes and 9 supplements. The Secret Prints are accounts of travels to lesser-known reaches of Asia, mostly by Russian army officers including among others authors such Nikolai Przhevalskii, Aleksei Kuropatkin, Nikolai Ermolov, Gustav Mannerheim, Lavr Kornilov, and Andrei Snesarev. The articles range from attaché and diplomatic dispatches to histories of tsarist plans for the invasion of India, the siege of Herat, and European campaigns against China. Together, they comprise a unique and largely untapped source for 19th century of Asia." -- OCLC WorldCat

The collection is almost encyclopedic, illuminating a wide variety of aspects of life in each of the eight countries (Afghanistan, Arabia/Syria, China, Japan, Korea, Palestine, Persia, Turkey) such as culture, politics, religion, diplomacy, etc.

Multiple languages; Texts predominantly in German, also in English, French, Italian, and Latin, and occasionally in Dutch, Polish, Portuguese, Swedish, and Turkish. This was a dynamic period in Turkish, Russian, Middle Eastern, and Western European history, in which the foundations of the present-day spheres of influence were laid. The sources were published in Europe over a period of two centuries; they provide detailed insight, not only into the military hassles in the Ottoman-Russian relations, but also into the effects these hassles had on public opinion in Europe. Included are treaties, travel reports, decrees, etc. (OCLC) Contents of the set: 1. The origins, 1600-1800 -- 2. Shifts in the balance of power, 1800-1853 -- 3. The Crimean War, 1854-1856 -- 4. The end of the empires, 1857-1914. -- 4. The end of the empires, 1857-1914.

Multiple languages; Texts predominantly in German, also in English, French, Italian, and Latin, and occasionally in Dutch, Polish, Portuguese, Swedish, and Turkish. Series: The Eastern question; Variation: Eastern question (IDC Publishers) Abstract: The origins, 1600-1800: 193 monographs on Russian-Ottoman relations. This was a dynamic period in Turkish, Russian, Middle Eastern, and Western European history, in which the foundations of the present-day spheres of influence were laid. The sources were published in Europe over a period of two centuries; they provide detailed insight, not only into the military hassles in the Ottoman-Russian relations, but also into the effects these hassles had on public opinion in Europe. Included are treaties, travel reports, decrees, etc. (OCLC) Contents of the set: 1. The origins, 1600-1800 -- 2. Shifts in the balance of power, 1800-1853 -- 3. The Crimean War, 1854-1856 -- 4. The end of the empires, 1857-1914.

Part of the Slavic studies bundle. Multiple languages; Texts predominantly in German, also in English, French, Italian, and Latin, and occasionally in Dutch, Polish, Portuguese, Swedish, and Turkish. Series: The Eastern question; Variation: Eastern question (IDC Publishers) Abstract: The origins, 1600-1800: 193 monographs on Russian-Ottoman relations. This was a dynamic period in Turkish, Russian, Middle Eastern, and Western European history, in which the foundations of the present-day spheres of influence were laid. The sources were published in Europe over a period of two centuries; they provide detailed insight, not only into the military hassles in the Ottoman-Russian relations, but also into the effects these hassles had on public opinion in Europe. Included are treaties, travel reports, decrees, etc. (OCLC)Contents of the set: 1. The origins, 1600-1800 -- 2. Shifts in the balance of power, 1800-1853 -- 3. The Crimean War, 1854-1856 -- 4. The end of the empires, 1857-1914.

Part of the Slavic studies bundle. Multiple languages; Texts predominantly in German, also in English, French, Italian, and Latin, and occasionally in Dutch, Polish, Portuguese, Swedish, and Turkish. Series: The Eastern question; Variation: Eastern question (IDC Publishers) Abstract: The origins, 1600-1800: 193 monographs on Russian-Ottoman relations. This was a dynamic period in Turkish, Russian, Middle Eastern, and Western European history, in which the foundations of the present-day spheres of influence were laid. The sources were published in Europe over a period of two centuries; they provide detailed insight, not only into the military hassles in the Ottoman-Russian relations, but also into the effects these hassles had on public opinion in Europe. Included are treaties, travel reports, decrees, etc. (OCLC)Contents of the set: 1. The origins, 1600-1800 -- 2. Shifts in the balance of power, 1800-1853 -- 3. The Crimean War, 1854-1856 -- 4. The end of the empires, 1857-1914.

All these manuscripts were acquired by the scholar Levinus Warner during his stay in Istanbul from 1644 until his death in 1665. This selection from the Warner Legacy to the Leiden University Libraries includes one autograph (Codex Orientalis 432), 10 unique manuscripts (Cod. Or. 498; 517; 801; 870; 1088; 1090; 1096; 1110; 1143; 1155; and 1175), and 11 manuscripts with unique parts (Cod. Or. 309; 333; 662; 697; 730; 765; 835; 870; 898; 917; and 923). The collection also includes several of Warner's diaries with research notes in various languages.

In addition to 5 autographs, the highlights of the collection include: the earliest dated manuscript in the collection (Arab O. 013) a dated copy of a unique arrangement of a rare treatise written by al-Ṣāḥib Tāǧ al-Dīn (d. 707/1307) produced in the year of the author’s death; two rare Mamluk treatises on horsemanship (Arab F.2); and an anonymous compilation (Arab O. 027) about the lives of the outstanding men who lived in Medina in the 12th/18th century.