History

IUCAT, Indiana University's online library catalog, provides comprehensive access to millions of items held by the IU Libraries statewide, including books, recordings, US government publications, periodicals, and other types of material. Users can access IUCAT from any Internet-connected computer or device, whether in the libraries, on campus, or off campus.

In addition to the principle English language sources in the field, it includes some (about 10%) in other languages, as well as some state and local history journals. All aspects of historical inquiry are represented: diplomatic, ecclesiastical, agricultural, cultural, economic, political, military and others. The index also provides citations to book and media reviews from about 100 journals and references to abstracts of dissertations in the field. All abstracts are in English.

Covers modern world history (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in the database America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present. It currently indexes about 2,300 journals in 40 languages, with indexing also for some books and dissertations. Most of the article citations include abstracts of 75-100 words.

One Mail information:

If you created a “My Archive” or “My Account” using your indiana.edu email address, you must create a new account with your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. All accounts with indiana.edu email addresses will be deleted in January 2026.

Some materials include personal memoirs of experiences with disabilities or the accounts of those who treated them. Rehabilitation, treatments, methods of education, and other forms of remediation are documented. Reports and proceedings of organizations and institutions that sought to help or heal those with disabilities are also included. Policies and programs concerning persons with disabilities are also available (i.e. labor laws, legal rights, rehabilitation programs, etc.).

Chronicles issues of social justice and attitudes about civil rights, gender equality, the environment, the government, and the ways in which many of society's institutions shifted to include citizen involvement, public welfare, and the planet's health in the twentieth century.

Includes access to Accessible Archives newspaper collections, including the following collections/series: African American Newspapers ; African American Newspapers in the South ; Frank Leslie’s Weekly ; Godey’s Lady’s Book: 1830-1898 ; National Citizen and Ballot Box, 1876-1881 ; Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue, ; Pennsylvania Newspaper Record ; The Civil War Collection Part I, A Newspaper Perspective ; The Civil War Collection Part II, The Soldiers’ Perspective ; The Civil War Collection Part III, The Generals’ Perspective ; The Civil War Collection Part IV, A Midwestern Perspective ; The Lily, 1849-1856, The Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1815 ; The Revolution, 1868-1872 ; The Virginia Gazette, 1736-1780 ; The Woman's Tribune, 1883-1909.

Also includes access to three social justice and culture modules: Indigenous Peoples Social Justice and Culture, LGBTQ+ Social Justice and Culture and Refugees, Migration, Borders Social Justice and Culture, and North American Urban Documents, 1950–1999.

The documents found in these files are predominantly instructions to – and dispatches from – diplomatic and consular officials and are often accompanied by enclosures. Notes between the Department of State and foreign diplomats in the United States, memoranda prepared by State Department officials, and correspondence with officials of other government departments, as well as with private businesses and persons, are also included.

The collection covers a range of subjects, including Ground Forces, Air Force, Navy and Artillery, as well as specialized topics like Chemical and Nuclear Warfare, Small Arms and Firearms, NATO, Aircraft Design, and Living Conditions.