Education Research

This fully indexed, primary source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective, bringing together the work of early scholars who shaped the theories and methods students learn about, critique and re-shape today.

Also provides access to the current issues of peer-reviewed AAA journals, including: American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology & Education Quarterly, Annals of Anthropological Practice, Anthropology & Education Quarterly, Anthropology & Humanism, Anthropology News, Anthropology of Consciousness, Anthropology of Work Review, Archaeological Publications of the American Anthropological Association, Bulletin of the National Association of Student Anthropologists, Central Issues in Anthropology, City & Society, CSAS Bulletin, Cultural Anthropology, Culture, Agriculture, Economic Anthropology, El Mensajero, Ethnographic Praxis in Industry Conference Proceedings, Ethos, Food and Environment, General Anthropology Bulletin of the General Anthropology Division, The Journal of Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Journal of the Society for the Anthropology of Europe, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, Museum Anthropology, National Association for the Practice of Anthropology (NAPA) Bulletin, North American Dialogue, Nutritional Anthropology, PoLAR: The Political and Legal Anthropology Review, Proceedings of the African Futures Conference, SOLGAN, Teaching Anthropology: SACC Notes, Transforming Anthropology, Visual Anthropology Review, and Voices. Journal issues generally appear online prior to distribution in print.

Access is for Volumes 1-4.

Ethnographic Video Online, Vols. I and II: Foundational Films 
Includes classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent.

Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. III: Indigenous Voices
Includes films by indigenous filmmakers. Emphasis is on the human effects of climate change, sustainability, indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling. 

Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. IV: Festivals and Archives
Includes titles by contemporary visual anthropologists. Also contains the full catalog of anthropology films from Berkeley Media, formerly known as the University of California’s Extension Center for Media.

Psychiatry Online provides access to a DSM Library, the full text of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fourth Edition (DSM-IV-TR), DSM-IV-TR Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and Cases from DSM-IV-TR Casebook and Its Treatment Companion. It also features a collection of textbooks (among them, Textbook of Psychotherapeutic Treatments), and six journals. Another section deals with APA practice guidelines. A news section reports on various topics: clinical research, government and legal issues, and general news of interest to the psychiatric community.

Subjects covered include: anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational and experimental methods, psychiatry, and psychology.

Includes access to the following modules:

Counseling and Therapy in Video Volumes I & II: include videos related to the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. The collection features renowned therapists such as Albert Ellis, Violet Oaklander, Derald Wing Sue, and John Norcross demonstrating their methods and techniques.

Counseling and Therapy in Video Volume III: illustrates the theoretical models of counseling and psychotherapy as developed by the “giants” in the field such as Viktor Frankl, Albert Bandura, Albert Ellis, Aaron Beck, Virginia Satir, Jay Haley, and Carl Rogers. Includes materials in emerging areas such as social media, veterans, cyberbullying, mindfulness, and neuroscience.

Counseling and Therapy in Video Volume IV: includes transcripts of real therapy sessions, video presentations by practicing therapists as well as presentations and publications by academic therapists. The collection directly discusses the CACREP 8 Core Areas required by many states for counselor certification as well as DSM-5 and ICD-10, and working with LGBTQ clients to helping clients suffering from PTSD. Includes access to

Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy (part of Volume IV):  features presentations from world-renowned researchers and clinicians, such as Donald Meichenbaum, John Gottman, Marsha Linehan, Deepak Chopra, and Salvador Minuchin.

Counseling & Therapy in Video: Volume V, The Symptom Media Collection: focuses on counseling, psychology, social work, nursing and other behavioral healthcare courses. Helps students better recognize mental health disorders and provide accurate diagnoses via 400 streaming mental health videos aligned to DSM-5®/ICD-10 content.

The Encyclopedia of Distance Learning offers the most comprehensive coverage of the issues, concepts, trends, and technologies of distance learning. Over 400 international contributors from over 35 countries have provided extensive coverage of topics such as workforce training, accessing education, digital divide, and the evolution of distance and online education into a multi-billion dollar enterprise. This encyclopedia is edited by leading international experts with multiple years of professional and academic experience in the field. With more than 2,000 terms and definitions and over 6,000 additional references, this authoritative work is considered the foremost reference source for the latest understanding, discoveries, and research in the field of distance learning.
 

The Encyclopedia of Multimedia Technology and Networking is a collection of signed articles that covers concepts, issues, trends and technologies in multimedia. Among the topics included are design, communications, e-commerce, education, security, and virtual communities. It offers over 1,350 terms and definitions and more than 3,200 references.

Covers business skills, networking, programming languages, desktop and office applications, the Web, computer hardware and software, databases and other information technology topics.

Features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. Also includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. Designed for use by art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers. Supersedes Art Full Text and includes all the material available from that database.

Users who create an account also gain access to a set of tools for sharing images, curating groups of images, downloading them directly into PowerPoint presentations, and comparing and contrasting images.

Includes a broad range of theatrical practices, with access to 400 classical and contemporary performances. Also includes essays, practical guides, documentaries and lectures, and access to practitioner resources, including interviews with cast and creatives.

Includes in-depth detail records for more than 10,000 plays, many never published previously. It also includes over 40,000 pages of reference sources in electronic format, including Annals of the New York Stage, and the American Theatre Companies series. Thousands of posters, playbills, and photographs are also included.

Includes access to two volumes:

Theatre in Video: Volume I: access to plays, documentaries, interviews, and instructional materials in more than 550 hours of streaming video.  Covers 20th century theater history, from productions of Shakespeare to in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett.

Theatre in Video: Volume II: greater focus on new and international productions. Includes new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group.

Features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; current job listings; an archive of previously published content; discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, and salary databases.

College Source consists of college profiles and full-text college catalogs It covers 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional and international schools. Users can find colleges by major, enrollment, tuition, degrees, state, and affiliation.

The Europa World of Learning is the online version of the classic reference text in print, The World of Learning. It is an annual publication that began in 1947 and remains one of the most authoritative sources for information and data on academic institutions from around the globe.

Brings together data from the International Handbook of Universities and additional institutions offering at least a post-graduate degree or a four year professional diploma, to provide a cross-referenced and searchable database featuring information on institutions in more than 180 countries. Detailed information on the higher education system of every country is also included.

Subjects Covered: Adult Education, Arts, Athletics, Comparative Education, Continuing Education, Curriculum, Distance Learning, Educational Law & Litigation, Elementary Education, Ethnic/Multicultural Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, Juvenile Delinquency, Language Arts, Library Science, Literacy, Parent-Teacher Relations, Preschool Education, Psychology of Learning, Religious Education, School Administration, School Buildings, Science & Mathematics, Secondary Education, Special Education, Student Counseling, Teacher Education, Teacher Evaluation, Teaching Methods, Tests & Measurements, Vocational Education, War & Education

Material from: National Library of Russia, St. Petersburg.
This collection of rare publications from the 1920's to 1940's opens a window into the mentality of the 'first Soviet generations' and gives insight into one of the most characteristic aspects of socializing the young in early Soviet Russia. Play was used to inculcate 'politically correct' attitudes and children were taught new variants of familiar games, such as constructing the Lenin Mausoleum with snow bricks dyed red, or playing co-operative shop and collective farm market using wooden models and building blocks. The Pioneer and Komsomol movement devoted huge energy to efforts to 'clean up' children's games in the streets and courtyards: children were, for example, encouraged to play 'communists and fascists' instead of 'Cossacks and robbers', and baby or fashion dolls, considered as questionable in gender terms, were ditched in favor of wholesome ethnic representations. Other children's leisure activities featured in this collection are festive holidays: such as the New Year parties organized by the state for the youth; and a variety of theatre performances and films featuring approved Soviet material. The collection includes books published in the provinces, as well as in Moscow and Leningrad, and covers different age groups, from pre-schoolers to pre-teens. Heavily ideologized tracts are presented alongside more liberal articles. The actual practices of play are highlighted, rather than schematic recommendations. (OCLC)

Articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.

Also includes materials related to constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.

Comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included. Formats found in Nexis Uni are: international and domestic newspapers, magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), company financial information, industry and market news, federal and state case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and state and country profiles. Includes business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Non-English language news sources are available in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch. Campus news from some 400 college/university papers and over 50 wire services are also available.

To access Nexis Dossier select "Business" (near the bottom of the Nexis Uni homepage). Then select "Create a Company List" in the Company Dossier box.

ProQuest Congressional provides indexing and full-text access to various publications of the U.S. Congress. It provides easy search access to congressional publications and includes full-text of reports, bills and resolutions, and laws.

Use Advanced Search to select specific series included:
-Congressional Research Digital Collection
-Congressional Hearings Digital Collection
-House and Senate Unpublished Digital Collection
-ProQuest Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection
-ProQuest Congressional Serial Set Maps Digital Collection
-ProQuest Statutes at Large
-ProQuest U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection
-Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations
-U.S Bills and Resolutions

Most publications are owned by IUB, either in print, on microfiche or electronically. IUB has been a Federal Depository Library since 1881. For specific assistance or to ask questions about using congressional publications, contact Government Information, Maps and Microform Services, located on the 2nd floor of the Herman B Wells Library. Email libgimms@iu.edu or telephone 812-855-6924

Communication Source features full text for more than 800 titles, including over 600 active full-text titles and 150 full-text titles not found in other EBSCO academic databases.

Provides abstracting and indexing to core international periodicals, yearbooks, and monographs covering preschool, elementary, secondary, higher, and adult education. Full text is provided for articles from 500 titles since January 1980.

JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Mellon Foundation, provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines. These scholarly journals can be browsed online and searched, and the page images can be printed for those available in full-text. The IUB Libraries subscribe to current content for only some titles available through JSTOR. Includes access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Hebrew Journals, Ireland Collection, Lives of Literature, Public Health Collection, Security Studies Collection, Sustainability Collection.

All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume. Many include content up to a "moving wall" of 3-5 years ago, although some journals have a fixed ending date for their content in JSTOR. Please check individual journals for exact dates of coverage. 

For information about access to this resource for IU alumni, contact the Indiana University Alumni Association.

Medline provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as:

- The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE.
- Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing.
- Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.

Subjects covered include: anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational and experimental methods, psychiatry, and psychology.

Provides access to the international journal literature of psychology and related fields, to dissertations, and to technical reports from approximately 50 countries. More than 2200 journals in 29 languages are indexed. This database includes material relevant to psychology from such related disciplines as education, medicine, business, sociology, linguistics, law, psychiatry and anthropology.

Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).