Education Research

Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, Biography includes over 5,000 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. Reference content is offered alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. This resource is continuously updated.

Middle Search Plus contains full text for nearly 170 popular, middle school magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 200 magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains Essential Documents in American History, and other important information resources such as an Image Collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents. Full text backfiles date as far back as 1989, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984.

Covers more than 400 core topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Includes materials from leading political magazines, newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.

All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles) to provide educators with an estimate of the result's read difficulty and approximate grade-level reading ability required for comprehension. Examples of publications covered in Primary Search include: Ladybug, Spider, Highlights, and Junior Scholastic.

The database includes two series from Gale publishers:Something About the Author and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series.
The series contain illustrated biographies of children's authors and illustrators, searchable by keyword, full text, named author, and illustration caption.
Although concentrating on English-language writers, Something About the Author does include authors writing in other language, for example Aesop, Charles Perrault, Antoine de Saint-Exupery and the Brothers Grimm. Entries contain bibliographies of the authors' works and may also note adaptions of their works for the theater, film or television.

Historical coverage in the collection ranges from the early history of Native Americans, to the lost colony of Roanoke, to the 1988 Vicennes Affair in the Persian Gulf. Biographical coverage ranges from eighteenth century figures such as Benedict Arnold and Daniel Boone to modern day figures such as Thurgood Marshall and Helen Thomas. You may sign in to create, edit and share playlists or clips.

Users who create an account also gain access to a set of tools for sharing images, curating groups of images, downloading them directly into PowerPoint presentations, and comparing and contrasting images.

World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Upon completion, the collection will contain 1,000 hours of streaming video that offers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.

Users who create an account also gain access to a set of tools for sharing images, curating groups of images, downloading them directly into PowerPoint presentations, and comparing and contrasting images.

The Indiana University Department of the History of Art Dido Image Bank is dedicated to the storage of low resolution (72 dpi) images from the Fine Arts Slide Library collection of over 400,000 images. Encompassing the full breadth of art historical periods and media, the Image Bank contains c.60,000 images, both in-house production and commercially licensed. This compendium of digitized images permits convenient use and access with a graphic web browser. The images are presented in thumbnail and 800 x 600 screen res sizes, and many are also now available in a 1024 x 768 screen resolution. Access to the images is available through keyword search. The DIDO home page also has links to other selected image collections available at IU and on the web.

Most of the content of DIDO is available to the IU system, but commercially licensed images are available only on the Bloomington campus.

The Image Collection contains over 100,000 images and consists of a wide range of photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Other areas include contemporary and historical photos of people, places and the natural kingdom.