Library Research Guides: Education Research: Cited References &amp; Impact Metrics

Common Methods for Finding impact

Perform Author Searches
A variety of impact metrics will be available. Note: one database's ability to tell you how many times something was cited is usually restricted to the times the item was cited within that database. No one database captures all of scholarly publishing's output or impact.

Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
A citation database of peer-reviewed academic journal articles.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
An interface that allows cross-searching of BIOSIS Previews, Medline, Zoological Record, and Web of Science Core Collection.
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Special version of Google's index to scholarly content on the web. Connects to full-text resources available to IU users.
oogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Connecting to Google Scholar from off-campus? The IUB Libraries already provide access to many of the journal articles indexed in Google Scholar. Look for IU-Link, which will lead you to information about full-text content you can access via the Libraries' subscriptions.

Find the articles that your author(s) cite in their papers.
Use a DOI (example: 10.3149/jms.1403.337) in the Citation/eJournal IU-Link database.

See the IU Libraries Research Guide for Alternative Metrics for more information.

Check Social Media

More Library Tools to Measure Impact

Journal Citation Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Citation analysis for journals in the sciences and social sciences.
Data Citation Index
This database includes data sets from a wide range of international data repositories and connects them with the scientific literature to track data citation.
Social Sciences Citation Index
- This link opens in a new window
Access to authors citing other authors in journals and citations to articles with title keyword searches

Education Research

Ask the Education Library

Education Library Support

Common Methods for Finding impact

Check Social Media

More Library Tools to Measure Impact

Featured Databases

IU Libraries