Ask the Education Library
Education Library Support
Text Analysis Tool
- Digital Scholar Lab
Note: IUB users need to create an individual account with their iu.edu email. Digital Humanities resource that includes access to text and data mining resources, visualization tools, and methodology suggestions.
Thesis and Dissertations
- OpenDissertations
Free database providing access to records for more than 1.2 million electronic theses and dissertations from around the world.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, including millions of works from thousands of universities. Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
- Open Scholarship
Freely available access to the work of IU scholars . Includes journal articles and books, as well as research data, learning objects and teaching materials, and conference proceedings.
- OSF RegistriesOSF Registries offer a place for a formal, transparent "story" of your study, as well as a search feature to see what other studies are already underway or published. This is a discipline-agnostic resource.
- OSFOSF is a free, open platform to support your research and enable collaboration. Discover projects, data, materials, and collaborators on OSF that might be helpful to your own research. (from website)
Research Methods
- Sage Research Methods
Tool intended to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
- AERA Open byOpen access journal of the American Educational Research Association
- International Journal of Research & Method in Education : IJRMEISBN: 17437288Discusses conceptual, theoretical and methodological issues in educational research with a particular focus on method.
Select books (not complete list)
Research Methods in Education by ISBN: 9781412940092Publication Date: 2012Research Methods in Education presents introductory research methods that address emerging instructional needs. It weaves actual research "stories" into the presentation of research topics, and it emphasizes validity, authenticity, and practical significance as overarching research goals.
Action Research in Education, Second Edition by ISBN: 9781462541621Publication Date: 2019-12-11Acclaimed as a text and professional development tool, this user-friendly resource has now been revised and updated, and offers expanded coverage of collaborative action research (CAR) and participatory action research (PAR). Preservice and inservice educators get crucial step-by-step guidance for conducting classroom- and school-based studies to improve their instructional practices. Organized to mirror the full cycle of action research, the book provides balanced coverage of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches.
Freedom research in education : becoming an autonomous researcher by ISBN: 9783319696508Publication Date: 2018
Handbook of Research Methods in Early Childhood Education by ISBN: 9781623966119Publication Date: 2014-04-01This Handbook with its individual chapters presents several research methodologies to address a variety of hypotheses or research questions that will contribute to the knowledge of the field in early childhood education.
Theory and Method in Higher Education Research by ISBN: 9781838678425Publication Date: 2019-10-07This volume of Theory and Method in Higher Education Research contains analyses and discussions of, amongst others, disability frameworks, rhythms research, loose coupling, mixed methods, internet-mediated research, critical whiteness and selection bias.
Research in Special Education by ISBN: 9780398093167Publication Date: 2020-02-05The primary purpose of this book is to offer a broad-based examination into the role of scientific inquiry in contemporary special education.- Performing music research : methods in music education, psychology, and performance science byISBN: 9780191883071Publication Date: 2021This is a comprehensive guide to planning, conducting, analysing, and communicating research in music performance.
