Skip to main content

Databases A-Z

Find the best library databases for your research.

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription. We look forward to hearing your input on the trial databases below. New databases will appear on this page for approximately two months.
Trial
Throughout the 19th century, pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day. 19th Century British Pamphlets contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in research libraries in the United Kingdom.

Access through June 30, 2022.
Cross-searchable access to various Adam Matthew primary source collections dedicated to American history, literature, and culture. Covers the colonial period through revolution and reform, and the civil war to civil rights.
Trial
Digital access to Hungarian scientific and professional journals, weekly and daily newspapers, and encyclopedias and thematic book collections.

Feedback should be directed to Akram Habibulla (akkhabib@indiana.edu)
Access to freely available digital materials related to Ibero-American cultural heritage. Established by the Association of National Libraries of Ibero-America (ABINIA) to create a single source for access to the digital resources of the participating libraries.
Freely accessible portal to the Biblioteca Digital Hispánica's digital collections. Includes books, manuscripts, music scores, photographs, engravings, cartographic material, sound recordings, and magazines.
Access to Biblioteca Nacional's digital archive. Officially launched in 2006, BNDigital integrates digital collections, exhibitions, and thematic projects, in partnership with national and international institutions. Includes 2,112,614 freely accessible documents.
Science gateway to standardized text- and data-mining services for large datasets. To access/query all versions of Web of Science (WoS) databases, institutional/organizational login is required. To do so, click “Log in to CADRE” below, then select CILogon on the next page. Please note that even if your institutional/organizational account is also a Google/G Suite/Gmail account, you still need to log in through CILogon to access WoS. CADRE is also open to anyone to access and query the Microsoft Academic Graph dataset.

View the CADRE LibGuide for more information about using this database. https://guides.libraries.indiana.edu/cadre
Trial
Includes recordings of performances that took place live, as well as webinars, interviews, and other digital content.

Feedback should be directed to Keith Cochran (cochran6@indiana.edu) by the end of Spring semester.
Collection of primary source materials supporting the study of nineteenth-century criminal history, law, literature, and justice. Includes manuscripts, books, broadsheets, and periodicals.
Trial
Full-text searches to 1,000 titles of rare Chinese medicine books.

Please send your comments to Wen-ling Liu (wliu@indiana.edu) before June 30, 2021.
Trial
World’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.

Access through June 30, 2022.
Trial
Includes 1,500 titles of rare Chinese medicine books. Among them, only 400 with full-text searches.

Please send your comments to Wen-ling Liu (wliu@indiana.edu) before June 30, 2021.
Virtual repository of historical Mexican periodicals. Includes nearly nine million digital pages.
Trial
Access to the complete digital Urtext catalogue aimed at music students and teachers at music colleges, conservatories and universities. Follow these instructions to set up an account and access the app:

1. Create a member account at https://proxyiub.uits.iu.edu/login?url=https://www.henle-library.com/en/institutions/
2. Install the app from the App Store at https://apps.apple.com/app/henle-library/id1021283948
3. Existing users can transfer their data to their new institutional account. To do so, log into the app using your old account details then choose ‘Transfer User Data’ from the account section. Then log in the app using your institutional account.
4. Periodically users must revalidate their institutional account. This can be done from https://proxyiub.uits.iu.edu/login?url=https://www.henle-library.com/en/institutions/

Please note: The app runs on the iPad 2 and higher and on the iPad Mini 1 and higher (the iPad Air and higher and iPad Mini 2 and higher are recommended; performance limitations must be expected on tablet PCs with lower specifications). The large iPad Pro models offer the optimum way of using the app thanks to their large screen size – and also because they facilitate the use of the Apple Pencil. The app also runs on tablets with Android version 5.0 or higher and “large” screen size (Android definition). It does not run on smartphones.

Feedback should be directed to Keith Cochran (cochran6@indiana.edu) by June 30, 2021.
Hispana brings together digital collections of Spanish archives, libraries and museums. Includes access to growing a set of materials, such as manuscripts, printed books, photographs, and maps.
Access to primary source resources documenting the U.S. response to the threat posed by climatic change and global warming. Includes the research behind the studies, reports, and analyses representing an exhaustive review of the facts, causes, and economic and political implications of a phenomenon that threatens every region of the world.
Features the complete run of the International Herald Tribune from its origins as the European Edition of The New York Herald and later the European Edition of the New York Herald Tribune. The archive ends with the last issue of the International Herald Tribune before its relaunch as the International New York Times.
Primary source materials documenting the United States Government’s response to the global illicit drug trade. Documents span the presidential administrations of Ronald Reagan to Barack Obama. Includes studies, reports, and analyses compiled by governmental and military agencies.
Trial
Full-text database offering a multidisciplinary view of Jewish civilization, from its historical origins to the present. Includes publications devoted to Jewish studies, including scholarly journals, magazines, books, monographs, biographies and more.

Feedback should be directed to Scott Libson (splibson@indiana.edu) by June 18, 2021.
Trial
This resource supports advanced literary studies and interdisciplinary research on writers and texts critical to curricula in literature. With its focus on journals that use an author or text as a starting place, Lives of Literature also fulfills a scholarly resource need for in-depth study and courses on a single author or text.

Access through June 30, 2022.
Trial
Access to a range of journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of security studies. This content looks at security studies through a broad lens, encompassing research on international security and peace and conflict studies from all corners of the globe.

Access through June 30, 2022.
Trial
Access to wide range of journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of sustainability. The subjects of resilience and sustainability are explored broadly, covering research on environmental stresses and their impact on society.

Access through June 30, 2022.
Open access portal dedicated to cutting-edge research related to Latin America. The goal of LARC is to provide access to scholarly works in Portuguese and Spanish related to Latin American Studies.
Coverage of Asia's economic, political, business and technology news in English. Established with a goal to change the way the Asia is covered internationally and to enhance the world’s understanding of pan-Asian affairs.
Trial
Access to contemporary artistic performance films. Includes international and US-based contemporary artists, some of whom are rarely seen live stateside, with works that might not be performed again. Includes 60 performance films by 57 different artists representing the Pacific Northwest, New York, Australia, Germany, France, Poland, Mexico, Argentina, Chile, Belgium, Montreal, and more.

Feedback should be directed to Monique Threatt (mthreatt@iu.edu) by May 21, 2021.
Primary source documents related to unorthodox (by contemporary standards) fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum. Content supports scholars and students answering questions on philosophical, social, political, and economic ideologies as well as on contemporary issues surrounding gender, sexuality, race, religion, civil rights, universal suffrage, and more.
Primary source materials chronicling the plight of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950. Includes pamphlets, ephemera, government documents, relief organization publications, and refugee reports that recount the causes, effects and responses to refugee crises before, during and shortly after World War II.
Provides public access and preservation services for the nearly 5,000 CD-ROMs, DVDs, and floppy disks distributed by the GPO under the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP). These tangible products have been received through the FDLP since the 1980s and consist of millions of individual files containing fundamental data on economics, the environment, population, and life and physical sciences.
Text of the Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition. Provides business and financial news coverage, personal and company profiles, feature reporting, special reports, and regular columns. Additional access options for the Wall Street Journal are available.
Trial
Web OYA-bunko indexes over 400 popular journals held by Ōya Sōichi Bunko 大宅壮一文庫, a private library in Tokyo with a broad collection of journals reflecting popular culture in Japan. Provides basic and advanced Boolean searches as well as searches by personal names, occupation, subject, and keyword. Indexes also includes 110,000 personal names and 7,000 subject headings. Updated monthly from 1988 on.

Please send your comments to Wen-ling Liu (wliu@indiana.edu) before May 21, 2021.
Trial
A digital library of over 4,000 Chinese picture books (连环画), accompanied with around 700 audio files in mandarin Chinese (around 500 titles), Uyghur (100 titles), and Kazakh (50 titles). Browsable by categories: Classic Novels; Mythology; Idiom Stories; Red Classics; Juvenile Literature; Martial Arts Novels; Contemporary Chinese Literature; Foreign Literature, etc. Included in the collection is the Picture Book Series (连环画报), published since 1951, and Linhuanhua baike (连环画百科 = Chinese picture book encyclopedia), which provides brief introductory articles about the Chinese picture book history, tradition, theories, techniques, and also a biographical dictionary of famous picture book artists.

Please send your comments to Wen-ling Liu (wliu@indiana.edu) before June 30, 2021.
Loading...
Loading...

Loading...
title
Loading...