General Material Culture
Material Culture by
This collection of essays brings together six distinguished scholars to examine the progress, problems, and potential of material culture studies in America. From the perspective of their respective disciplines--cultural geography, vernacular architecture, American studies, the history of technology, the decorative arts, and folklife studies--these widely respected authorities survey the major material culture research of the past two decades and assess the most creative and innovative work-in-progress. Thomas J. Schlereth's introductory chapter provides a critical analysis of material culture evidence, articulating the distinctive quality of such data and focusing on the problematic nature of doing research with objects rather than with written records. The chapters that follow, five of which originally appeared in 1983 in a special issue of American Quarterly, represent a succinct summary of those fields and subfields of material culture scholarship that are at the cutting edge of current research. The volume includes an expanded, up-to-date bibliography that will be of use to a wide range of scholars. Today American material culture studies remains a field where the most innovative work is occurring at the local or regional level. The essays in this volume suggest, however, that such work will be part of the wider evidential base and broader interpretive strategy out of which a new synthesis may develop.
Call Number: E161 .M35 1985ISBN: 0700602755Publication Date: 1985
Southwest Native American Visual Arts, Crafts and Material Culture by Call Number: Z1209.2.U52 S686 1991 v.1-2ISBN: 0824070933Publication Date: 1991
Folk Art
Encyclopedia of American Folk Art by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0415929865Publication Date: 2003-12-17
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture Volume 23: Folk Art by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781469608006Publication Date: 2013
Costume & Body Art
- Berg Fashion Library
Collection of scholarly, multidisciplinary information on all aspects of dress and fashion worldwide, from prehistory to present day.
Encyclopedia of National Dress by
This two-volume set presents information and images of the varied clothing and textiles of cultures around the world, allowing readers to better appreciate the richness and diversity of human culture and history.The contributors to Encyclopedia of National Dress: Traditional Clothing around the World examine clothing that is symbolic of the people who live in regions all over the world, providing a historical and geographic perspective that illustrates how people dress and explains the reasons behind the material, design, and style. The encyclopedia features a preface and introduction to its contents. Each entry in the encyclopedia includes a short historical and geographical background for the topic before discussing the clothing of people in that country or region of the world. This work will be of great interest to high school students researching fashion, fashion history, or history as well as to undergraduate students and general readers interested in anthropology, textiles, fashion, ethnology, history, or ethnic dress.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780313376375Publication Date: 2013-04-09
The Complete Costume Dictionary by Call Number: GT507 .L49 2011ISBN: 9780810840041Publication Date: 2011
Vernacular Architecture
Traditional Buildings: A Global Survey of Structural Forms and Cultural Functions by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781435634893Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World by Call Number: NA208 .E53 1997 v.1-3ISBN: 0521564220Publication Date: 1997American folk architecture : a selected bibliography by
Call Number: Z5944.U5 M38Publication Date: 1981Barns, Stables and Outbuildings by
Call Number: Z5943.B35 S38 1986ISBN: 0899501931Publication Date: 1986
