How to find folktales
Type- and Moif-Indexes are the specialized tools of the folklorist. With these tools you can locate variants of any international folktale. Use the links below for further help on how to use these indexes.
Specialised type and motif-indexes also exist for ballads, legends, and special topics. Consult Azzolina's Tale Type and Motif Indexes: An Annotated Bibliography to find many more than the ones listed here.
Type and Motif Indexes
Type- and motif-indexes are folklorists' tools for locating variants of folk literature texts. For more indexes based on this system, look on the Folk Literature tab.
-
The types of international folktales: a classification and bibliography
by
Call Number: GR1 .F605 no.284-286ISBN: 9514109554Publication Date: 2004The latest, updated version of the Aarne-Thompson index. -
-
Type and motif-index of the folktales of England and North America by
Call Number: GR1 .I3 no. 20Publication Date: 1966 -
Storyteller's Sourcebook, 1983-1999
by
Call Number: GR74.6 .M3 2001ISBN: 0810354853Publication Date: 2001 -
Folk Traditions of the Arab World
by
Call Number: GR268.A73 E4 1995 v.1-2ISBN: 0253352010Publication Date: 1995 -
The migratory legends; a proposed list of types with a systematic catalogue of the Norwegian variants by
Call Number: GR1 .F605 no.175Publication Date: 1958 -
Motif Index of the Child Corpus by
Call Number: PR976 .W85 1995ISBN: 3110142902Publication Date: 1995 -
Analytical Survey of Anglo American Traditional Erotica by
Call Number: Z5865 .H712ISBN: 0879720557Publication Date: 1973 -
Index to Fairy Tales, 1987-1992
by
Call Number: Z5983.F17 S67 1994ISBN: 0810827506Publication Date: 1994 -
Tale Type and Motif Indexes by
Call Number: Z5983.L5 A98 1987ISBN: 0824087887Publication Date: 1987 -
Motif-Index of Folk Literature
by
Call Number: ebook; click title to connectISBN: 9781570850059Publication Date: 2002-01-01
