How to use this page
The major index for scholarly literature in folklore is the MLA Bibliography. Sometimes, however, you need a bibliography tailored to a specific subject or document type. Here you will find a sampling of such works.
Additional bibliographies may be found on the subject tabs in this guide.
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography enables users to find books and articles on languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics. It includes print and electronic journals, series, books, and web sites. Most publications are covered from 1926 to the present. SInce 970, the Bibliogaphy has had an entire section devoted to all aspects of folklore and related fields.
General Bibliographies
- MLA International Bibliography
This link opens in a new window
The MLA Bibliography indexes material in modern languages, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film.
Internationale volkskundliche Bibliographie. International folklore and folklife bibliography. Bibliographie internationale des arts et traditions populaires
Call Number: Z5982 .I62ISBN: 00749737Publication Date: 1971-1999Folklore Theses and Dissertations in the United States by
Call Number: FOLK Reference Z5981 .D914ISBN: 0292724136Publication Date: 1976
Bibliographies on Special Subjects
The Journal of American folklore Centennial Index: 1988-89 by Call Number: e-book; click title to connectPublication Date: Oct-Dec 19881988-1994 Supplement to The Centennial Index by
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: Arlington, Va : American Folklore Society, c1994.
American Folklore Films and Videotapes by Call Number: Z5984.U6 A44 1976 v.1-2ISBN: 0892670002Publication Date: 1976An annotated bibliography of Indiana folklore, 1973-1987 by
Call Number: GR110.I6 A56 1988Publication Date: 1988European Immigration and Ethnicity in the United States and Canada by
Call Number: Z1361.E4 E9 1983ISBN: 087436258XPublication Date: 1983
Folklore and Literature in the British Isles by Call Number: Z2014.F6 B34 1986ISBN: 0824086600Publication Date: 1986Gypsies and Travelers in North America by
Call Number: Z5118.G5 L63 1994ISBN: 0961710756Publication Date: 1994
Black Theatre and Performance by Call Number: Z5784.B56 G7 1990ISBN: 0313268754Publication Date: 1990Afro-American Folk Culture by
Call Number: Z5984.A44 S95 v.1-2ISBN: 0915980800Publication Date: 1978
