The Libraries subscribe to databases that contain academic journals, professional publications, news, data and statistics and government information. Access these resources from both on- and off-campus by using the links in this guide or on the Libraries' webpage.
The Business Subject Page has curated lists of business resources and a link to a complete list of business databases.
For company directories, profiles and analyses, you can start with these resources:
- MarketLine Advantage
This link opens in a new window
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources. - Pitchbook
- This link opens in a new window
ACCESS TO THIS TITLE WILL NO LONGER BE AVAILABLE AFTER JUNE 7, 2024. Please note: New users must first register from a computer on campus. IU users must create an individual account using their iu.edu email. After registering, users may access the database from anywhere on or off campus via the Library link. Users must also re-register in June to reconfirm affiliation. Access to data, research and technology covering private capital markets, including venture capital and private equity.
- D&B Hoovers
- This link opens in a new window
Integrates business and financial information from data providers throughout the world. - Reference Solutions
- This link opens in a new window
Detailed business and consumer data on businesses in both the U.S. and Canada. Includes directory information, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
- S&P Capital IQ
- This link opens in a new window
S & P Capital IQ is a web and Excel-based financial research application produced by Standard & Poor's. It organizes historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide, provide clients with the data necessary to analyze company fundamentals, build financial models, screen for investment ideas, and execute other financial research tasks. Some user-friendly features are its chart builder, screening tools and Excel Plug-in modeling tools.
Available for IUB-affiliated users only. Requires individual registration for access. To sign up, select “New User?”. Questions related to registration should be directed to the Kelley School of Business.
Industry/Market Resources
For industry and market reports and analyses, use these resources:
- IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings. - MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources. - Mergent Intellect
- This link opens in a new window
To access Dun & Bradstreet's First Research industry reports, scroll down on the home page and select "First Research." You will be prompted to enter your IU email address. You will then be routed to the search page for the industry reports where you can search by keyword or NAICS or SIC code. - Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on consumer, industrial, and service markets around the world. - Frost & Sullivan Growth Partnership Services
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to international industry-specific databases including healthcare, telecom, IT, transportation, electronics, and semiconductors. - BCC Research
- This link opens in a new window
Access to market research reports that cover life sciences, sensors, materials, environment and sustainability, commerce, and publishers. Provides the latest trends, opportunities, challenges, and innovations emerging within these landscapes.
Marketing Resources
For information on demographics, marketing strategy and market research, start with these resources:
- Mintel Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Reports that include consumer and market data and analysis and marketing strategies. To get started with this database, see this video. - Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries
- MRI-Simmons Insights
- This link opens in a new window
Data on U.S. consumer demographics, attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits. The database can be used to create individualized reports for marketing strategies, advertising choices, and other business decisions. See this video to learn how to create a quick demographic profile. - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts.
Finance Resources
• Bloomberg
Two terminals located in the BSIC.
- EDGAR (SEC)The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission's EDGAR database provides free public access to company filings.
- Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Database of corporate information covering over 22,000 US and foreign public companies, both current and historical.
News and Literature Resources
To access news articles and trade publication for background information, trends and case studies, use these resources:
- ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2,890 publications, offering the latest business and financial information, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competition environment. - Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications. - Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 25,000 sources including The Wall Street Journal, The Financial Times, and the Dow Jones and Reuters newswires. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from international newspapers, magazines, transcripts, legal research and medical journals.
Data Resources
Standalone terminals for use are located in the Business/SPEA Library.
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)
Other Data Sources:
- IMF Data
This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive access to International financial statistics (IFS), Balance of payments statistics (BOPS), Direction of trade statistics (DOTS), and Government finance statistics (GFS) databases. View and download predefined data reports or create and share your own views of IMF data. - ProQuest Statistical Insight
- This link opens in a new window
Access to statistical content information produced by U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. Includes tables, statistical reports, publication abstracts, and datasets. Results are ranked by relevance. Faceted search results can then be filtered by document type, source, date published, geographic area, and more.
Specific Publications and Web Resources
Government Sources
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsThe Bureau of Labor Statistics provides labor and productivity costs as well as wage information for various industries. Other applicable demographic and consumer data as well.
- Career One StopThis site that allows you to search Bureau of Labor Statistics wage data by area and occupation.
- EDGAR (SEC)The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission's EDGAR database provides free public access to company filings.
- Export.govDeveloped by the United States Department of Commerce's Commercial Service, the Export.gov website brings together resources to assist American businesses in planning their international sales strategies. The Country Commercial Guides and market research library provide information about market conditions, purchasing power, consumer trends, distribution channels, navigating entry constraints, best sectors, key contacts, and more. Coverage varies by country.
Periodicals
- AdweekMajor advertising periodical. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through the ABI/Inform database.
- Bloomberg Business WeekMajor business periodical. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through the Business Source Complete database.
- The EconomistMajor business periodical. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through the ABI/Inform database.
- EntrepreneurMajor business periodical. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through the Business Source Complete database. For content from 1996 to 2006, see Business Insights.
- Fast CompanyMajor business periodical.
- The Financial TimesMajor business periodical. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through the ABI/Inform database.
- ForbesMajor business periodical. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through the ABI/Inform database.
- FortuneMajor business periodical. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through the Business Source Complete database.
- Harvard Business ReviewMajor business periodical. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through the Business Source Complete database.
- Inc.Major business periodical. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through Business Source Complete. Includes CRM software reviews.
- Journal of Consumer ResearchMajor scholarly marketing journal: Research that describes and explains consumer behavior. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through the Business Source Complete database.
- Journal of Advertising ResearchMajor scholarly marketing journal. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through the Business Source Premier.
- Journal of MarketingMajor scholarly marketing journal. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through the Business Source Complete database.
- Marketing NewsMajor scholarly marketing journal. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through the Business Source Complete database.
- Wall Street Journal Online
- This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal Online is a New York based newspaper with a focus on business and financial news; this entry enables access to wsj.com and via their apps. Additional access options for the Wall Street Journal are available. Wall Street Journal allows access for current IU Bloomington faculty, staff, students, and retired faculty only.
Account Setup: The first time eligible IU Bloomington users access the Wall Street Journal (WSJ) Online they will be asked to register for an account. They should use their IU email address to register. Following activation, IUB users can go directly to the Wall Street Journal online at https://www.wsj.com or to WSJ apps and log in with the username and password they created during account registration.
Click more for account renewal information, mobile app availability, and additional access options.
Internet Sources
- CrunchbaseDatabase of technology companies. Have an online business idea? You can search Crunchbase for similar companies.
- Ecommerce: Internet StatisticsPortal to sources of ecommerce, internet, social media, and digital marketing data and statistics.
- eMarketerCovers digital marketing, media and commerce
- Internet RetailerCovers the market trends, technology, competitive practices and people that are shaping the e-commerce industry.
eCommerce and Social Media Marketing
- Ecommerce: Internet StatisticsPortal to sources of ecommerce, internet, social media, and digital marketing data and statistics.
- eMarketerCovers digital marketing, media and commerce
- Internet RetailerCovers the market trends, technology, competitive practices and people that are shaping the e-commerce industry.
- Mergent Intellect
- This link opens in a new window
Contains information on the latest social media mentions of companies.
Policy Literature Basics
Policy literature is produced by a number of different entities and is published in a variety of publications (see criteria below and this general guide to understanding sources). This literature can then be accessed using the following tools.
General Resources:
- Columbia International Affairs Online
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs, offering fulltext of working papers from research organizations, abstracts of foreign policy journal articles, etc. - CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text discussion of current, controversial public policy issues; coverage of newsworthy global affairs and issues from a variety of international viewpoints. - PAIS Index
- This link opens in a new window
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) indexes articles, books, studies, selected official documents and other resources on public policy issues, public administration, law, politics and government.
Government Documents:
- ProQuest Congressional
- This link opens in a new window
Provides easy access to congressional publications since 1789 and some full-text of reports, bills, resolutions, and laws to the present.
Legal & Regulatory Information:
- Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
Organizations:
- OECD iLibrary
- This link opens in a new window
Online portal for Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) publications and statistics. Source for internationally comparable statistical, environmental and socio-economic reports and data. OECD works with policy makers, governments and citizens to inform public decision-making.
Press:
- Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
Includes electronic editions of hundreds of large and small U.S. newspapers and titles worldwide.
- Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. - HeinOnline
- This link opens in a new window
Access provided by the Jerome Hall Law Library. Provides full-text of historial treaties, regulations, and presidential documents. Also includes numerous law resources.
Professional Associations:
- Gale Directory Library
- This link opens in a new window
Online collection of premier directories providing information on companies, publishers, associations. Includes descriptions of associations, professional societies, and nonprofit organizations, at local, state, national and international levels. - ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Think Tanks & Policy Organizations:
Universities:
- Academic Search (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
- JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, ecology, and business.
Social Polls, Surveys & Trendspotting
- Gallup Analytics
- This link opens in a new window
Gallup data from countries that are home to more than 98% of the world's population through a web-based portal.
- General Social SurveySocial survey gathering data since 1972 on changing demographics and social attitudes conducted by NORC at the University of Chicago.
- Harris Interactive PollsFrequent polls tap into a representative sample of Americans of all ages, genders, income and ethnic backgrounds. From sports to health, politics to the economy, the Harris Poll reflects Americans’ opinions on a wide range of topics and are regularly published by national, local, consumer, business and trade media outlets.
- Nielsen InsightsNews, analysis, and market research reports on current trends covering consumer, global, innovation, media and entertainment, mobile, and online topics.
- Pew Research CenterPew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.