Library Research Guides: A Master Course Guide for IUB: FAL

Image Resources - Islamic Art

ARTstor
- This link opens in a new window
PLEASE NOTE: the Artstor platform is being retired and will no longer be available as of August 1, 2024. Content has already migrated to Artstor on JSTOR. Existing individual Artstor user accounts will carry over to the new JSTOR platform. A digital image library of over 2.5 million digital images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. To save or download images, users must register for an individual account.
Users who create an account also gain access to a set of tools for sharing images, curating groups of images, downloading them directly into PowerPoint presentations, and comparing and contrasting images.

ArchNet
- This link opens in a new window
An international online community for architects, planners, urban designers, landscape architects, conservationists, and scholars, with a focus on Muslim cultures and civilisations.” Includes a digital library and course syllabi.
Arts of the Islamic World
- This link opens in a new window
From The Smithsonian's Museums of Asian Art: Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery. The Freer and Sackler galleries have one of the finest collections of Islamic art in the United States, with particular strengths in ceramics and illustrated manuscripts.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art - Islamic Collections
- This link opens in a new window
Over 11,000 objects from the Met.

Image Resources

ARTstor
- This link opens in a new window
PLEASE NOTE: the Artstor platform is being retired and will no longer be available as of August 1, 2024. Content has already migrated to Artstor on JSTOR. Existing individual Artstor user accounts will carry over to the new JSTOR platform. A digital image library of over 2.5 million digital images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. To save or download images, users must register for an individual account.
Users who create an account also gain access to a set of tools for sharing images, curating groups of images, downloading them directly into PowerPoint presentations, and comparing and contrasting images.
DIDO: Digital Images Delivered Online
- This link opens in a new window
Includes roughly 75,000 images of art, architecture and world cultures, from the Fine Arts Visual Resources Center and licensed sources. Available system-wide. Some images are IUB only.
The Indiana University Department of the History of Art Dido Image Bank is dedicated to the storage of low resolution (72 dpi) images from the Fine Arts Slide Library collection of over 400,000 images. Encompassing the full breadth of art historical periods and media, the Image Bank contains c.60,000 images, both in-house production and commercially licensed. This compendium of digitized images permits convenient use and access with a graphic web browser. The images are presented in thumbnail and 800 x 600 screen res sizes, and many are also now available in a 1024 x 768 screen resolution. Access to the images is available through keyword search. The DIDO home page also has links to other selected image collections available at IU and on the web.

Most of the content of DIDO is available to the IU system, but commercially licensed images are available only on the Bloomington campus.
Bridgeman Education
- This link opens in a new window
Online digital library of images sourced from over 8,000 locations covering the world’s major museums, art collections, and historical sites. Includes access to over 3 million images, all copyright-cleared for educational use.

Digital Images Sources - Free for Academic/Scholarly Use

The following institutions provide license and royalty-free access to images for scholarly purposes, including publication in scholarly journals.

The British Museum- The free digital image service is managed by usage rather than user. The British Museum offers non-exclusive licenses to use the selected material free of charge.
The Victoria and Albert Museum- Free high resolution image download is determined by usage rather than user. A non-exclusive license is granted to use the selected material free of charge.
The Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) Image Library- A growing body of high resolution images (between 10–40 MB) from LACMA's collection which are believed to be in the public domain—available without restriction, free of charge.
National Gallery, London - As part of its on-going commitment to support scholarship and encourage research into the nation’s collection of Old Master paintings, the National Gallery, London is pleased to be able to waive image reproduction charges for scholarly publications including academic books and journals, student theses and academic presentations or lectures.
National Gallery of Art (Washington, DC) - Through NGA Images, the National Gallery of Art implements an open access policy for digital images of works of art that the Gallery believes to be in the public domain. Images of these works are now available free of charge for any use, commercial or non-commercial.
The Walters Art Museum- Images of objects from the Walters' collections are available under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.
Yale University Art Museums - Provides license- and royalty free access to digital images of public domain materials in all Yale collections. Open Access materials may be used by anyone for any purpose. This is not restricted to scholarly uses only.
The Getty - The Open Content Program makes available (without charge) any content to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain. No permission required.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art - Provides images at no cost to scholars via ARTstor's existing infrastructure, through the Images for Academic Publishing (IAP) program. (see below for link to ARTstor)

Find more free image sources and rights clearing agencies at: http://www.collegeart.org/ip/ip_image

ARTstor
- This link opens in a new window
PLEASE NOTE: the Artstor platform is being retired and will no longer be available as of August 1, 2024. Content has already migrated to Artstor on JSTOR. Existing individual Artstor user accounts will carry over to the new JSTOR platform. A digital image library of over 2.5 million digital images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. To save or download images, users must register for an individual account.
Users who create an account also gain access to a set of tools for sharing images, curating groups of images, downloading them directly into PowerPoint presentations, and comparing and contrasting images.

Image Databases

For more help with image research, see the Finding Digital Images Guide

ARTstor
- This link opens in a new window
PLEASE NOTE: the Artstor platform is being retired and will no longer be available as of August 1, 2024. Content has already migrated to Artstor on JSTOR. Existing individual Artstor user accounts will carry over to the new JSTOR platform. A digital image library of over 2.5 million digital images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. To save or download images, users must register for an individual account.
Users who create an account also gain access to a set of tools for sharing images, curating groups of images, downloading them directly into PowerPoint presentations, and comparing and contrasting images.
Associated Press Images Collection (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
An electronic library containing the AP's current photos and a selection of pictures from their 50 million image print and negative library. International in scope with images dating back as early as 1826.
Berg Fashion Library
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly, multidisciplinary information on all aspects of dress and fashion worldwide, from prehistory to present day.
Content includes: articles from the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion and other reference works, a museum directory, 100+ academic e-books, museum exhibitions, 14,000+ color images from partner institutions, and research and learning tools.
DIDO: Digital Images Delivered Online
- This link opens in a new window
Includes roughly 75,000 images of art, architecture and world cultures, from the Fine Arts Visual Resources Center and licensed sources. Available system-wide. Some images are IUB only.
The Indiana University Department of the History of Art Dido Image Bank is dedicated to the storage of low resolution (72 dpi) images from the Fine Arts Slide Library collection of over 400,000 images. Encompassing the full breadth of art historical periods and media, the Image Bank contains c.60,000 images, both in-house production and commercially licensed. This compendium of digitized images permits convenient use and access with a graphic web browser. The images are presented in thumbnail and 800 x 600 screen res sizes, and many are also now available in a 1024 x 768 screen resolution. Access to the images is available through keyword search. The DIDO home page also has links to other selected image collections available at IU and on the web.

Most of the content of DIDO is available to the IU system, but commercially licensed images are available only on the Bloomington campus.
Material Connexion
- This link opens in a new window
A unique and comprehensive resource comprised of more than 10,000 materials innovations across 7,000+ global manufacturers. Users can register for individual accounts with their IU email in order to save their work, and view detailed product information.
Includes high-quality photographs, and company/vendor contact information. Users can search materials by keyword, material type, manufacturer name, and manufacturer location. The eight material processes include: polymers; cement-based materials; glass; metals; ceramics; natural materials; carbon-based materials; processes.
Rhizome
- This link opens in a new window
Online platform for the global new media art community supporting the creation, presentation and discussion of contemporary art that uses new technologies.
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text access to a growing collection of hard-to-find comics produced in North America from the 1960's to the present.
Includes more than 100,000 pages of materials, with 75,000 pages of primary materials (the comics themselves), and more than 25,000 pages of materials about comics--interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism--from The Comics Journal and other secondary sources.

Volume I covers major works from North America and Europe, beginning with the first underground comix from the 1950s and continuing through to modern sequential artists. It incorporates 75,000 pages of material from artists such as Basil Wolverton and Harvey Kurtzman, R. Crumb, Gilbert Shelton, Harvey Pekar, Spain Rodriguez, and Vaughn Bode, and modern masters including Peter Bagge, Kim Deitch, Dave Sim, Dan Clowes, and Los Bros.

Volume II adds coverage of the pre-Comics Code era horror, crime, romance, and war comics that fueled the backlash leading to one of the largest censorship campaigns in US history. Selections include works by visionaries such as Alex Toth, Boody Rogers, Fletcher Hanks, Steve Ditko, Joe Kubert, Bill Everett, Joe Simon, and Jack Kirby, along with essential series such as Crime Does Not Pay and Mister Mystery, and many others both famous and infamous.

A Master Course Guide for IUB

Image Resources - Islamic Art

Image Resources

Digital Images Sources - Free for Academic/Scholarly Use

Image Databases

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

A Master Course Guide for IUB

Image Resources - Islamic Art

Image Resources

Digital Images Sources - Free for Academic/Scholarly Use

Image Databases

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries