Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Games & Gaming @ IUB

Video Games

Video Games - Legacy and Contemporary

As previously mentioned in this libguide, "Gaming Across the Generations," there are nine basic generations of home video game consoles, dating back to the release of the first home video game console, the Magnavox Odyssey, in 1972.  The release of Pong followed later in the same year. Games released on these consoles used limited digital technology available to produce minimalist arrangements of moving pixels. These were too simple to resemble anything in real life to the extent later generations elaborated, although pong is a two-dimensional recreation of ping pong that is easily recognizable. Many consoles are backward compatible, meaning they can play games from their immediate ancestor console. For example, Xbox games can be played on an Xbox 360.

Collection Use Policies

  • Most video and board games are shelved in the Media Browsing Collection in Media Services.
  • Patrons can check out a total of three items for 7 days, items can be renewed once via My Account.
  • Board games and consoles do not circulate outside of Media Services.  However, faculty may request to check out board games and consoles from Media Services for classroom use.

Media Beat Blog Posts:

Media Services Blog Posts

5 Must-Plays in the Video Game Collection's New Additions

Untangling the Evolution of Cables

Video Game Preservation

 

Listed here is a select list of titles held in the Wells gaming collection. Search IUCAT for a more in-depth listing of videogames for checkout.

Retro (pre 1995) Games

 

 

Pong (1972)

Is an early combined console & game which allows two players to play virtual ping pong against each other on a television. 

 

 

 

Miniature golf (1978)

A 1978 game which allows for one or two players to play 2D mini golf

 

 

Centipede (1981)

"In Centipede, the player is trapped in the Enchanted Forest. Armed with only a magic wand to ward off the forest's insect denizens, all of which apparently are attacking in the player in continuous waves."--MobyGames.com.

 

Ice Hockey (1981)

"Ice Hockey is a game for one or two players. Each team consists of two players, one offensive and one defensive. At any given time one player is active and can be controlled while the other remains inactive; if the puck is near your goal then the defensive player becomes active, otherwise you control the offensive player. Each player has the ability to shoot the puck at a variety of angles, and can even body check their opponent! The game lasts for three minutes, and whoever scores more points by the end of that time wins. The game can be played at normal or high speed, and optionally one of the players can be handicapped to give an inexperienced player more of an advantage."--MobyGames.com.

 

 

Real Sports Tennis (1983)

"RealSports Tennis is a tennis game for two players or one player against the computer. The game follows standard tennis rules, and allows you to hit forehand or backhand shots to all areas of the court as well as serves and lobs. You can play a game of singles or doubles, and multiple skill levels are included."--MobyGames.com.

 

 

 

Joust (1984)

"In Joust, players take control of a knight with a lance who rides their flying ostrich (or stork, for Player 2) to do battle against computer-controlled evil knights who ride atop vultures."--MobyGames.com.

 

 

 

Pac-Man (1984)

Pac-Man tries to eat all the dots and other objects in a maze while simultaneously avoiding four hungry ghosts.

 

 

 

CastleVania (1987)

"Every hundred years, the dark vampire known as Dracula resurrects and terrorizes the land. A vampire hunter named Simon Belmont bravely ventures into the Count's mansion in order to defeat him. Along the way he'll have to defeat skeletons, bats, fishmen, Medusa heads and other evil creatures."--MobyGames.com.

 

Metal Gear (1988)

"Near the end of the 20th century, a small fortified nation named Outer Heaven (founded by a mysterious war hero whose name and identity are shrouded in secrecy) is threatening the nations of the "West" with the development of a new prototype weapon named Metal Gear, a walking tank which is capable of launching nuclear warheads from anywhere on the globe. As FOX-HOUND's (an elite black ops unit) newest recruit, going by the codename of Solid Snake, your mission is to infiltrate Outer Heaven and rescue your missing comrade, Grey Fox (who was captured after a failed infiltration), while gathering intelligence on Metal Gear."--MobyGames.com.

 

 

Baseball Stars (1989)

Baseball simulation for one or two players. You can create, name, upgrade, and manage your own team, as well as customize the team's logo and colors. You can also change the stats of each individual player by paying him or her more money (earned from winning games).

 

Wheel of Fortune (1990)

"Wheel of Fortune: Family Edition is one of a series of NES games based on the famous TV game show. The goal is to solve a word puzzle by guessing letters. The players take turns spinning a wheel that has designated money amounts in most spaces, but can also bankrupt the player in the wheel lands on the wrong space. A player can guess a letter and if that letter is in the puzzle, those spaces are flipped to reveal the letter and the player earns the cash amount specified by the wheel spin, multiplied by the number of occurrences of the letter. Only English consonants can be guessed-- the 5 English vowels can be purchased using a player's earnings. This NES edition of the game allows 1, 2, or 3 human players to play against each other. Human players can also elect to play against computer players and at 3 difficulty levels"--MobyGames.com.

 

 

Super Mario Kart (1992)

Master the unique driving styles of Mario, Luigi and the Princess. Race head to head with the computer or another player.

 

 

Zelda: A Link to the Past (1992)

"When an evil magician named Agahnim begins kidnapping young maidens in Hyrule in a quest to break the imprisoning seal on Ganon, a young boy named Link is called upon to stop him in this action-adventure classic." --IGN

StarFox (1993)

"Known for introducing Nintendo's Super FX chip technology, Star Fox is a 3D space shooter with polygonal graphics (a rarity for the time), standout voice effects, and a grand musical score. Players portray Fox McCloud as he pilots his Airwing fighter through both space and planetary areas, gunning down enemy ships (with lasers and nova bombs), dodging lasers, flying through narrow gaps, firing at tough bosses, and more. Your three wingmen, Slippy Toad, Falco Lombardi, and Peppy Hare, are on hand to lend a helping hand, but you must cover their backs as well. There are two hidden levels to find, power-ups to collect, and warps to discover. Gameplay is smooth, though there is some slowdown, and players can select three different pathways (easy, medium and hard), making for a title that is fun for gamers of varying skills."--All game guide.

 

Super Mario All-Stars (1993)

"Super Mario All-Stars is a collection of previously released Super Mario NES platform games. Each title is presented with its original gameplay and level design, but has been given a makeover in the graphics and sound department. A save option has been added allowing players to store the session data."--MobyGames.

 

Final Fantasy III (1994)

"Ages ago, evil beings created powerful creatures called Espers, and unleashed them against each other. The resulting battles left their world a smoldering rubble. Legend has it, the Espers destroyed themselves and most of humanity. Magic disappeared forever. Centuries have passed and a rational world now exists with Espers living only in myths, until one frozen solid since the ancient wars is unearthed. Suddenly, there are reports of magical attacks on civilians. Imperial Commandos launch raids using magic-powered MagiTek weapons."--GameFAQs Web site, viewed July 6, 2012.

 

 

Sonic The Hedgehog (1991)

A one player, 1991 game the "story focuses on Sonic's efforts to stop Dr. Robotnik's plans for world domination, release the animals Dr. Robotnik has trapped, and collect six magical emeralds known as the Chaos Emeralds."--Sega.com. 

 

 

Street Fighter II (1991)

Choose your champion and step into the arena as one of the eight original martial arts fighters or one of the four Grand Masters. Smash into the next level with this 1991 game. Contains two games in one: play Champion Edition or the new Hyper mode. Features a new Group Battle Mode, only for Sega Genesis.

 

 

Streets of Rage 2 (1992)

In this one to two player 1992 game "Original rumblers Axel and Blaze slam the asphalt with bigger, better, totally devastating attacks! Go manic with jaw-shattering, bone-busting punches, head-cracking jump kicks and secret weapons. Gangs of dirt bikers dive into you from every side. Smash 'em with a pipe as they speed by" --Container.

 

 

 

Mortal Kombat II (1994)

"All the fierce kombatants of the #1 arcade smash gather for Mortal Kombat II, a battle to defeat the shape-shifting demon Shang Tsung and his ruthless master, Shao Kahn."--Container. This 1994 game allows for one or two players.

Nintendo

 

 

Super Smash Bros

A 1997 video game which allows for four simultaneous players. Includes Nintendo characters Mario, Link, Donkey Kong, Pikachu, Samus, Yoshi, Kirby and Fox, plus 4 hidden characters.

Look out! More N64 games are on the way!

 

 

Zapper: One Wicked Cricket (2001)

This 2001 game advertises: "Non-stop, frantic action; 4 totally twisted worlds with 18 unique levels; Hidden areas, bonus levels, and exciting multiplayer games" --Container

 

 

Enter the Matrix (2002)

A one player 2002 game which includes: "Unparalleled film collaboration resulting in a true Matrix experience; Exclusive film footage from the creators of the Matrix trilogy;" as well as the ability to: "Battle alongside the original motion picture cast." In the war to save Zion, what part will you play? This game tells its story through a combination of live-action film footage, in-game movies called "cineractives" and the actual game-play. Clues and instructions appear in in the film and cineractive segments.

-Quotes sourced from box content

 

 

Resident Evil Zero (2002)

"Sent in to investigate a series of grisly murders in Racoon City, S.T.A.R.S. Bravo Team scrambles into action. On the way to the scene, Bravo's helicopter crashes. Although everyone survives, what they discover next is a gruesome site. An overturned military transport truck, riddled with corpses. Rookie member Rebecca Chambers is beginning to wonder what she got herself into. Bravo Team is about to discover the evil nightmare that is growing all around them. It's only the beginning!" --Container

 

 

 

Mario Golf: Toadstool Tour (2003)

"Hit the links in the Mushroom Kingdom!" This 2003 game allows you to take on Mario, Peach, Yoshi, Donkey Kong and others in the Mushroom Kingdom. Challenge them to tournaments or play them in character matches to collect rings or nab coins.

 

 

007 Everything or Nothing (2003)

"Bond. James Bond. Save the day again with 007's stylized charm, Q-gadgetry, fast cars and of course...destructive mayhem! A new third-person perspective submerses you completely in this action-thriller. Experience multiple ways to complete your objectives--from brute force to spy-like subtleties--and save the world from untold terror!" --Amazon

Gameboy Color


 

 

The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening DX (1998)

"The fourth game in the Zelda series although it does not take place in Hyrule. After being attacked at sea, Link's ship sinks, and he finds himself stranded on Koholint Island. He awakens to see a beautiful woman looking down at him. He soon learns the island has a giant egg on top of a mountain that the Wind Fish inhabits deep inside. Link is told to "awaken the wind fish and all will be answered," so Link sets out on another quest."--MobyGames website.

 

 

The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages (2001)

"A pall of Darkness has fallen over the land of Labrynna. The Sorceress of Shadows has captured the Oracle of Ages and is using her power to do evil. Link has been summoned to help and must travel back and forth in time to stop the Sorceress of Shadows and return Labrynna to its former glory."--MobyGames website.

Gameboy Advance


 

 

 

Pokemon Ruby (2003)

"Immerse yourself in the beautiful region of Hoenn, a place of masterful heroes and mysterious teams, of friendship and battles. As the new kid in town, you set off on your journey as a Pokémon Trainer. Who knows what wonders and dangers await you? Now it's time to grab your gear and head out on your own..."--Container.

 

 

Pokemon Sapphire (2003)

"Immerse yourself in the beautiful region of Hoenn, a place of masterful heroes and mysterious teams, of friendship and battles. As the new kid in town, you set off on your journey as a Pokémon Trainer. Who knows what wonders and dangers await you? Now it's time to grab your gear and head out on your own..."--Container.

DS Games


 

 

 

 

Barbie in the 12 Dancing Princesses (2006)

Players help Princess Genevieve (Barbie) find and free her sisters who have been hidden throughout the castle by the evil Duchess Rowena. Together, Barbie and her sisters can save their father, the king, and their kingdom.

 

 

New Super Mario Bros (2006)

Run, jump and stomp your way through raging volcanoes, tropical islands, snowcapped peaks and unimaginable challenges!

 

 

Pokemon Black (2011)

Adventure across the Unova region and discover all-new Pokémon, discover the true motives of Team Plasma and the mysterious N, and the secret of the Legendary Pokémon.

3DS Games


 

 

 

Pokemon Y (2013)

The next evolution in Pokémon allows players to capture, train, and battle Pokémon in a majestic new region. New gameplay features include Super Training and Pokémon-Amie.

 

 

Fire Emblem: Awakening (2013)

"As an inevitable war draws ever closer, you must stand with Chrom and his forces -- knights, mages, archers, and more -- commanding them against the armies of kingdoms, empires, and the dead themselves."--Container.

 

 

Yoshi's New Island (2014)

"New island, new adventures, same extraordinary Yoshi! Toss eggs to uncover hidden secrets and new paths!: swallow an enemy, make an egg; nail enemies and nab collectibles; destroy obstacles. Yoshi transformations: super stars!: dash and destroy; vehicles!: tilt to steer in special areas. Try the Flutter Wing item to help Yoshi conquer particularly rough challenges"--Container.

 

 

 

Rayman Raving Rabbits (2006)

Play over 70 quirky games, frantic contest, and engage in action against the nasty Rabbid invaders.

 

 

 

Cooking Mama Cook Off (2007)

"Cook 55 international recipes and desserts with 200 different ingredients. Make food not war! New multiplayer mode makes for a tasty two-player competition!" --Container

 

 

Lego Star Wars The Complete Saga (2007)

Building on the success of both LEGO Star Wars videogames, LEGO Star Wars: The Complete Saga enables families to play through the events of all six Star Wars movies in one videogame for the first time ever. From the Trade Federation's "negotiations" with Obi-Wan Kenobi and Qui-Gon Jinn in The Phantom Menace to the space battle above Endor in Return of the Jedi, the Complete Saga allows players to kick some brick through dozens of Story Mode levels.

 

 

Mario Kart (2007)

In Mario Kart Wii, the player(s) can choose any one of up to 24 unique characters to operate their kart, which are separated into various classes of weight. The game includes 32 different tracks, half of which are remakes of tracks from previous Mario Kart games, and up to twelve characters can participate in a race.

 

 

 

Just Dance (2009)

"Grab up to three partners and choose from over 30 of the All-Time Best Tracks, then dance the night away with friends and family--without ever leaving home." --Container

 

 

The Legend of Zelda the Windwalker (2013)

"Use the Wind Waker to command the winds as you explore the Great Sea in pursuit of a timeless evil! ... The gyroscope makes aiming a breeze; keep your maps always at the ready or swipe to command the Wind Waker ... write a letter, put it in a Tingle Bottle, and send it out to sea to be found by other players via Miiverse, even send photographs"--Container.

 

 

 

Mario Kart 8 (2014)

"Defy the laws of gravity in the wildest Mario kart game yet. New boomerang, piranha plant, super horn...optional motion-steering, share highlight reels, 12-player online racing"--Container.

 

 

Bayonetta 2 (2016)

"Angels and demons stand in her way ... carry out exhilarating combos; punish enemies with elaborate summons; master new moves with Bayonetta's trademark style; utilize new weapons and skills in battle; partner up with a friend online"--Container.

 

 

 

 

 

Captain Toad: Treasure Tracker (2014)

Play as Captain Toad or Toadette to find hidden treasure as you navigate through maze-like puzzles in over 70 different worlds.

 

 

 

Super Smash Bros Ultimate (2018)

"Inklings from the Splatoon series, as well as returning Smash characters like Mario and Link make appearances in this classic Nintendo franchise's Switch debut. Faster combat, new items, new attacks, new defensive options, and more will keep the battle raging whether you're at home or on the go."--provided by Metacritic.com.

 

 

 

Moonlighter (2018)

"Moonlight is an action RPG with rogue--little elements that demonstrates two sides of the coin revealing everyday routines of will, an adventurous shopkeeper that secretly dreams of becoming a hero. During an archaeological excavation a set of gates were discovered. People quickly realized that these ancient passages lead to different realms and Dimensions. Rynoka, a small commercial village, was found near the excavation site providing brave and reckless adventurers with treasures beyond measure."--provided by Amazon.com.

 

 

 

Ori and the Will of the Wisps (2020)

From the creators of Ori and the blind forest comes the highly-anticipated sequel, Ori and the will of the wisps. Embark on an all-new adventure in a vast and exotic world where you'll encounter towering enemies and challenging puzzles on your quest to unravel Ori's true destiny.

 

 

 

Pokemon Legends: Arceus (2022)

Get ready for a new kind of grand, Pokémon adventure in Pokémon Legends: Arceus, a brand-new game from Game Freak that blends action and exploration with the RPG roots of the Pokémon series. Embark on survey missions in the ancient Hisui region. Explore natural expanses to catch wild Pokémon by learning their behavior, sneaking up, and throwing a well-aimed Poké Ball. You can also toss the Poké Ball containing your ally Pokémon near a wild Pokémon to seamlessly enter battle.

PlayStation

 

 

 

Grand Theft Auto Liberty City Stories (2005)

"The streets of Liberty City are in turmoil. Warring mafiosi vie for control as the town begins to self-destruct under waves of political corruption, organized crime, drug trafficking and union strikes. No one can be trusted as Toni tries to clean up the mess of the city's chaotic underworld. Deranged hit men, morally depraved tycoons, cynical politicians and his own mother stand in his way as Toni tries to bring the city under Leone control" --Container.

 

 

 

 

Hot Brain (2007)

"Find out if your brain is hot or not. Test your mental abilities with a series of puzzles, challenges, and fun activities designed to raise the activity and temperature of your brain." --Container

 

 

 

Patapon (2008)

"Patapon has players guiding a tribal army of eyeball-shaped creatures across the screen solely by rhythmic button tapping. By alternating six drumbeats with the four-button controls, players can command their wee warriors to attack, march, defend, retreat, use magic, and power up. The goal is to defeat the devious Zigoton army, who ousted the Patapon tribe from their homes."--All game guide.

 

 

 

 

Crisis Core Final Fantasy VII (2008)

"Square Enix is brings this role-playing game to the PSP the fourth installment in their Compilation of Final Fantasy VII series which includes the movie "Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children," the game "Dirge of Cerberus: Final Fantasy VII" for PS2, and "Before Crisis: Final Fantasy VII" for mobile devices." --Metacritic

 

 

 

Lego Batman The Videogame (2008)

"Play as Batman and his sidekick Robin as you build, drive, swing and fight your way through Gotham City. Then, jump into the story from the other side and play as Batman's foes! There is no rest for the good (or the evil)!"--Container.

 

 

 

Tomb Raider (1996)

You are Lara Croft, a tough, beautiful, sophisticated female Indiana Jones--think of a British Demi Moore in a fedora. Lara climbs walls, leaps chasms, and generally defies gravity using impressive gymnastics.

 

 

 

Silent Hill (1999)

"Harry Mason and his daughter are driving to their favorite vacation spot. Late that night, a figure suddenly appears from out of the darkness. Harry turns the wheel in panic, and the car careens off the road, knocking Harry unconscious. Awakening sometime later, he realizes that Cheryl is missing. Stumbling out of the wreckage, he heads towards the small town of Silent Hill."--Container.

 

 

 

 

GTA 2 (1999)

"Lie, cheat, and steal your way through three districts of a huge city in the follow-up to Grand Theft Auto. Earn the respect of 7 different gangs as you demolish the town in your attempt to make lots of cash."--MobyGames.com.

 

 

 

Xena, Warrior Princess (1999)

An epic adventure based on the TV show. Battle through seven worlds with 21 sub-levels filled with bandits, creatures and traps.

                     

 

 

Spyro: Year of the Dragon (2000)

The Dragon Kingdom is looking forward to one of its most important events, the "Year of the Dragon" Festival, which happens once every twelve years. However, they are unaware that an evil Sorceress is plotting against them. Players help Spyro the Dragon and his friends in their battle to save the DragonWorlds from her evil influence.

 

 

Silent Hill 2 (2001)

"James Sutherland's life is shattered when his young wife Mary suffers a tragic death. Three years later, a mysterious letter arrives from Mary, beckoning him to return to their sanctuary of memories. Now James must go back to that special place to uncover the truth, unaware that the answers he seeks require the ultimate sacrifice."--Container.

 

 

God of War (2002)

God of war revolves around the trials and tribulations of Kratos, Spartan warrior who is on the verge of suicide. Kratos is charged with carrying out a mission from the gods of Olympus to stop the renegade god Ares from destroying the city of Athens.

 

 

Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas (2004)

" ... It's the early 90s. Carl's got to go home. His mother has been murdered, his family has fallen apart and his childhood friends are all heading towards disaster. On his return to the neighborhood, a couple of corrupt cops frame him for homicide. CJ is forced on a journey that takes him across the entire state of San Andreas, to save his family and to take control of the streets."--Container.

 

 

 

Star Wars: Battlefront II (2005)

In this sequel to the original Star Wars Battlefront game, you can engage in battles inspired by the Star Wars films. Fight as a Jedi, battle in space, and engage in massive online battles.

 

 

Bully (2006)

"Bully takes the Rockstar tradition of groundbreaking and original gameplay and humorous tongue-in-cheek storytelling to an entirely new setting: the schoolyard. As a mischievous schoolboy, you'll stand up to bullies, get picked on by teachers, play pranks, win or lose the girl, and ultimately learn to navigate the obstacles of the worst school around: Bullworth Academy."--Container.

 

 

BioShock (2008)

As a cast-away in Rapture, an underwater Utopia torn apart by civil war, you have to come to grips with a deadly, mysterious world filled with powerful technology and fascinating characters. Biologically modify your body: send fire storming from your fingertips and unleash hornets from the veins in your arms.

 

 

Dark Souls (2011)

Explore a massive seamless world; overcome terrifying enemies and reclaim your soul.

 

 

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 (2011)

"War comes home in Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare 3, the explosive third chapter of the blockbuster first-person action series set in near-future combat scenarios" --IGN.com.

 

 

Batman: Arkham City (2012)

Only Batman can stop the Joker in the sprawling heart of Arkham City.

 

 

The Last of Us (2013)

A couple of survivors brought together by disaster must journey across a post-pandemic U.S. in hopes of freedom from the brutal world left behind.

 

 

Bloodborne (2015)

"Face your fears in this ancient city where danger, death and madness lurk around every corner, and uncover the city's darkest secrets in order to survive"--Container.

 

 

The Witcher III: Wild Hunt (2016)

The world doesn't need a hero, it needs a professional. Become a witcher, one of the last monster slayers for hire. Track down the child of prophecy, a living weapon capable of untold destruction. Journey through war-torn kingdoms and slay legendary creatures. Explore towns rife with corruption and sail to untamed isles, home to clans of seafaring warriors. In a world descending into turmoil, your actions shape history.

 

 

Far Cry Primal (2016)

"Conquer other tribes to unify all mankind. Tame epic beasts and use them as weapons. Craft a large, lethal arsenal, from poison bombs to fire arrows. Explore the epic open world chaos of Far Cry's stone age"--Container.

 

Red Dead Redemption II (2018)

"Developed by the creators of Grand Theft Auto V and Red Dead Redemption, Red Dead Redemption 2 is an epic tale of life in America's unforgiving heartland. The game's vast and atmospheric world also provides the foundation for a brand new online multiplayer experience. America, 1899. The end of the Wild West era has begun. After a robbery goes badly wrong in the western town of Blackwater, Arthur Morgan and the Van der Linde gang are forced to flee. With federal agents and the best bounty hunters in the nation massing on their heels, the gang has to rob, steal and fight their way across the rugged heartland of America in order to survive. As deepening internal fissures threaten to tear the gang apart, Arthur must make a choice between his own ideals and loyalty to the gang that raised him."--provided by Metacritic.com.

 

 

Man of Medan (2019)

"Five friends set sail on a holiday diving trip. As the day unfolds and a storm rolls in, their trip soon changes into something much more sinister. Who will live? Who will die? It's all down to you." --Container.

 

Spider-Man: Miles Morales (2020)

In the latest adventure in the Marvel's Spider-Man universe, teenager Miles Morales is adjusting to his new home while following in the footsteps of his mentor, Peter Parker, as a new Spider-Man. But when a fierce power struggle threatens to destroy his new home, the aspiring hero realizes that with great power, there must also come great responsibility. To save all of Marvel's New York, Miles must take up the mantle of Spider-Man and own it.

 

 

Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart (2021)

Play along with Ratchet, Clank and resistance fighter Rivet as they dimension-hop to defeat a maniacal robot emperor.

Look out! More PS5 games are on the way!

Microsoft/Xbox

 

 

SimCity Classic : The Original City Simulator (1996)

Player designs, builds, and manages a city, coping with problems such as crime, pollution and natural disasters.

 

 

 

Catz II (1997)

Five breeds of animated virtual cats that perform a variety of activities.

 

 

Evil genius (2004)

"Achieve world domination with Evil Genius, the one and only world domination simulator. All the everyday tasks of the deliciously wicked mastermind are available to experience and master, from building your ultrasecret base to developing spectacular superweapons to carry out your nefarious plan."--Container.

 

 

Gears of war (2007)

"A nightmare from below. A hero from within. The planet lies in ruin - cities crumbling, Man's greatest works fallen. Humanity is cornered, nowhere to run. The Locust Horde has risen, and they won't stop coming. They won't stop killing. The Coalition is desperate for soldiers. The sick, the wounded, the imprisoned are all that remain. An inmate named Marcus Fenix, once left to die, is now charged with keeping humanity alive. He can take comfort in but one fact: the human race isn't extinct. Yet."--Container.

 

The Thing (2002)

"Anyone who's ever seen John Carpenter's 1982 horror picture, THE THING, probably knows how frightening this game is. Based on the story of that very film, the events in this game take place just after the movie's plot ends. You're part of a team that's been sent to an abandoned base in the Antarctic to investigate the mysterious happenings. You quickly discover the fact your enemy can morph into the form of its prey, making it next to impossible to detect. Armed with flamethrowers, machine guns, and weapons you build yourself, you'll try to win this battle before the terror spreads" --IGN. 

 

 

Fable (2004)

Role-playing fans yearning for a rich adventure will find much to engage them. In the mystical land of Albion, the game will immerse players in a world where every action has a consequence, and players shape their destiny to rise to fame ... or descend into infamy. This role playing game will take you from childhood through adulthood and on to an old (and powerful) age.

 

 

Halo: Combat Evolved (2004)

"Bent on Humankind's extermination, a powerful fellowship of alien races known as the Convenant is wiping out Earth's fledgling interstellar empire. You and the other surviving defenders of a devastated colony-world make a desperate attempt to lure the alien fleet away from Earth. Shot down and marooned on the ancient ring-world Halo, you begin a guerilla-war against the Covenant. Fight for humanity against an alien onslaught as you race to uncover the mysteries of Halo"--Container.

 

 

 

Star Wars Battlefront (2004)

"A multiplayer online shooter set in the Star Wars universe featuring soldier sets from the series and a wide variety of vehicles out of the films." --IGN

 

 

 

LEGO Star Wars: The Video Game (2005)

"Chronicles the first three episodes of George Lucas' popular science-fiction trilogy from the perspective of everyday building blocks" --IGN.

 

 

 

Dead Rising (2006)

"Chop 'til you drop! You are Frank West, a hard-edged photojournalist hellbent on investigating the mystery at Willamette Mall. It's swarming with zombies. You have 72 hours. Anything and everything is a weapon!"--Container.

 

 

 

Fallout 3 (2008)

Prepare for the future with the third in the classic, post-apocalyptic franchise. Leaving the only home you've ever known, you emerge from the Vault into the Wasteland to search for your father, and the truth.

 

 

 

Call of Duty: Black Ops (2010)

Play as a soldier being interrogated about black ops experiences in different wars from Vietnam to Iraq. Also includes acclaimed multiplayer and 4-player co-op zombie modes.

 

 

 

Halo Reach (2010)

The military outpost of Reach prepares for a full scale planetary invasion by the Covenant fleet which is bent on the total annihilation of the human race.

 

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag (2013)

"Abstergo Industries - modern-day front for the organization of the Templars - has opened an entertainment subsidiary in Montreal, Quebec, using advanced technology that allows reliving fragments from the lives of people from the past. The unnamed protagonist is hired by the company to connect to the life of Edward Kenway, a Welsh privateer living in the eighteenth century. Through a series of events Edward assumes the identity of a rogue member of the Assassins reporting to Laureano Torres, the Governor of Cuba and also the Grand Master of the Templars. Initially motivated by greed, Edward finds himself at odds with both the Templars and the Assassins, who are both pursuing a mysterious man known as the Sage in order to gain access to the secret technology of the First Civilization" -- Moby Games.

 

 

Fallout 4 (2015)

Play to rebuild your world and determine your fate as the only survivor of Vault 111 in a world destroyed by nuclear war.

 

 

The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim (2011/2016)

"The Special edition includes the ... game with all-new features like remastered art and effects, volumetric god rays, dynamic depth of field ... the full power of PC Mods ... [and] includes the add-ons: Dawnguard, Hearthfire, Dragonborn ... Epic fantasy reborn. Dragons, long lost to the passages of the elder scrolls, have returned to Tamriel and the future of the Empire hangs in the balance. As Dragonborn, the prophesied hero born with the power of the voice, you are the only one who can stand amongst them"--Container.

Battlefield 1 (2016)

"Battlefield 1 is the fifteenth main game in the Battlefield shooter franchise and as a main entry the follow-up to the 2013 Battlefield 4. This time it is set during World War I and it is inspired by the historic events. Like most of the main games in the series it combines a single-player campaign with an extensive amount of multiplayer modes. The campaign consists of six large missions, dubbed War Stories, each with a different protagonist, a different setting and distinct gameplay elements. The prologue "Storm of Steel" is experienced through the eyes of several Harlem Hellfighters in France and "Through Mud and Blood" is about controlling a tank in France as a British driver. "Friends in High Places" takes it to the skies in France and England as a fighter pilot for the Royal Flying Corp and in "Avanti Savoia" you are a member of the Arditi in Italy. In "The Runner" you are an ANZAC runner in Turkey and the final story "Nothing is Written" is about controlling a Bedouin warrior commanded by Lawrence of Arabia in Mesopotamia. Each story has a different approach and offers specific vehicles, weapons or play styles" -- Moby Games.

 

 

Doom (2016)

"The Union Aerospace Corporation's facility on Mars is overwhelmed by demons. Only one person stands between their world and ours. As the Doom marine, you're here to do one thing - kill them all."--Container.

 

 

 

Overwatch: Origins Edition (2016)

"The future is now. Are you with us? Join the ranks of a legendary force of soldiers, adventurers, and oddities known as the Overwatch. Choose your hero and clash on the battlefields of tomorrow. Bend time, defy physics, and wield extraordinary powers in the ultimate team-based shooter"--Container.