Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Games & Gaming @ IUB

Game Consoles

Gaming Consoles and Gaming Accessories

As previously mentioned in this libguide, "Gaming Across Generations," there are by now nine basic generations of home video game consoles, dating back to the release of the first home video game console, the Magnavox Odyssey, in 1972.  The release of pong followed later in the same year and the release of Coleco Telstar followed this in 1976 (Coleco later went bankrupt in 1980). The games released on these consoles used the limited digital technology available to produce minimalist arrangements of moving pixels. These were too simple to resemble anything in real life to the extent later generations elaborated, although pong is a two-dimensional recreation of ping pong that is easily recognizable.  Consoles can be discontinued a few years after their successor is released and competing consoles are not necessarily released right after each other or anything close to simultaneously. Also, many consoles are backward compatible, meaning they can play games from their immediate ancestor console. Xbox games can be played on an Xbox 360 for example.

Listed here are a variety of consoles located in the Wells Library Media Services department. Game consoles are for in-house use only. Consoles can be checked out for four hours with unlimited renewals.

Media Services Blog Posts

5 Must-Plays in the Video Game Collection's New Additions

Untangling the Evolution of Cables

Video Game Preservation

 Nintendo Switch Nintendo Switch

Includes:

  • Joy-Cons with bumpers and grip
  • Dock
  • AC Adapter
  • HDMI Cable

 

 


 

Xbox OneXbox One

Includes

  • 1 Wireless Controller
  • Power Cable
  • USB to Micro USB Cable (for controller)

 

 

 


 

Playstation 4Playstation 4

Includes

  • 1 Wireless Controller
  • Power Cable
  • USB to Micro USB Cable (for controller)

 

 

 


 

Retron 5

Includes

  • 1 Controller
  • Power Cable

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

WiiUWiiU

Includes

  • Main Console
  • Handheld Console
  • 2 Wiimotes
  • Power Cable
  • Docks
  • Sensor Bar

 

Nintendo 3DS XL

Includes

  • AC Adapter

 

 

 

 

 


 

WiiWii

Includes

  • One Wiimote
  • One Nunchuck*
  • Power Cable
  • RCA Cable
  • Sensor Bar

*only console #1 includes a nunchuck


 

Playstation 3

Includes

  • 1 Wireless Controller
  • Power Cable
  • USB to Micro USB Cable (for controller)
  • HDMI Cord
  • PS3 Earbuds with Microphone

 

 

 

 


 

Xbox 360

Includes

  • 1 Wireless Controller
  • Power Cable
  • RCA Cable

 

 

 


 

PSP

Includes

  • Power Cable

 

 

 

 

 


 

Gameboy Advanced SP

Includes

  • AC Adapter

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Xbox

Includes

  • 1 Controller
  • Power Cable
  • RCA Cable

 

 

 


 

Nintendo Gamecube

Includes

  • 1 Controller
  • Power Cable
  • RCA Cable

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Nintendo 64

Includes

  • 2 Controllers
  • RCA Cable

 

 

 

 


 

Playstation

Includes

  • 2 Controllers
  • Memory Card
  • Power Cable
  • RCA Cable

 

 

 

 

 


 

Sega Gensis

Includes

  • 2 Controllers
  • Power Cable
  • RCA Cable

 

 

 


 

Atari 2600

Includes

  • 2 Joysticks
  • RCA Cable

 

 

 

 


 

Pong

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Additional Controllers

Additional controllers for many of our consoles are also available for checkout, including:

  • All Xbox Models
  • Wii and WiiU
  • Playstation 4
  • Playstation 3
  • Sega Gensis