HIST J425 History Capstone Seminar

The collection includes primary source documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.

Includes historical context and resources, representing both personal and institutional perspectives, for the growing fields of border(land) studies and migration studies, as well as history, law, politics, diplomacy, area and global studies, anthropology, medicine, the arts, and more. At completion, the collection will include 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images

Collections include: 

Albania & Kosovo : political and ethnic boundaries, 1867-1946
Armenia : political and ethnic boundaries, 1878-1948
Caucasian boundaries : documents and maps, 1802-1946 
Ethnic minorities in the Balkan States, 1860-1971 
Greece : ethnicity and sovereignty, 1820-1994 : atlas and documents 
Historical boundaries between Bosnia, Croatia, Serbia: documents and maps, 1815-1945 
Montenegro : political and ethnic boundaries, 1840-1920 
Oil resources in Eastern Europe and the Caucasus : British documents, 1885-1978 
Proceedings of the Caucasian Archaeographical Commission, 1886-1904 
Soviet Union political reports, 1917-1970 
Yugoslavia : political diaries, 1918-1965

Beginning in the 1940s, a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA, monitored, recorded and translated any item related to the Cold War from foreign mass media and government publications. The scope of this effort was vast: over time it covered newspapers, magazines, radio broadcasts, television broadcasts and more from every corner of the world. 

From sixteenth century origins as a trading venture to the East Indies, through to its rise a powerful company and de facto ruler of India, to its demise amid allegations of greed and corruption, the East India Company was an extraordinary force in global history for three centuries.

Includes interactive maps and original documents linked to essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies. The sections cover Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class and Colonialism, c1783-1969. The images are sources from the British Library, including the Oriental and India Office Collections at the British Library; the University of Birmingham Library; the Bodleian Library, Oxford; and the Public Record Office and the State Records, New South Wales, Australia.

Includes recordings from Alaska to the Pacific Islands, West Africa to Indonesia, including religious music, secular music, celebrations and funerals. There are interviews with musicians, slides and photographs of field sites and photographs of instruments being played and in isolation.

Includes business accounts, mercantile papers and correspondence, government reports, rare pamphlets and dock records, and material from specialist collections such as the George Arent’s Tobacco Collection at the New York Public Library, the Braga Brothers Collection from the University of Florida, and the Hudson’s Bay Company Archives. Explores fifteen commodities: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea,timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits.

Contains reports gathered every day between the early 1940s and 1996 by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA . These include translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government documents, as well as an analysis of the reports.

Includes access to the following modules: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange ; British Politics and Society ; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture ; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection ; Children's Literature and Childhood ; Mapping the World ; Europe And Africa ; Photography: the World Through the Lens ; Science, Technology, and Medicine; Women: Transnational Networks.

Coverage includes the entire “war theatre,” from evacuations in Burma and mass migrations within central and Eastern Europe to the displacement of North African populations and resettlement of refugees in Latin America.

Includes access to two modules:  Forced Migration and World War II and The Early Cold War and Decolonization.

European colonizers turned to Africa for enslaved laborers to build the cities and extract the resources of the Americas. They forced millions of mostly unnamed Africans across the Atlantic to the Americas, and from one part of the Americas to another. Allows users to analyze these slave trades and view interactive maps, timelines, and animations to see the dispersal in action. Also includes access to the African Names Database, which provides personal details of Africans taken from captured slave ships or from African trading sites. It displays the African name, age, gender, origin, country, and places of embarkation and disembarkation of each individual.

In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, the resource includes documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm. Includes the following sections: Part I: Debates Over Slavery and Abolition ; Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World ; Part III: The Institution of Slavery ; Part IV: The Age of Emancipation.

Documents the communist world from the Russian Revolution until the 1980s. The digitized film covers all aspects of socialist life from society, war, culture, the Cold War, memory and contemporaneous views on current affairs. Footage includes documentaries, newsreels and feature films. Geographically the films deal with the Soviet Union alongside significant groupings of material on Vietnam, China, Korea, the German Democratic Republic and Eastern Europe, Britain, Spain, Latin America and Cuba. Includes access to three modules: Module I: Wars & Revolutions, Module II: Newsreels & Cinemagazines, and Module III: Culture & Society.

Explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality. Includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia.

Documents are divided into nine categories:

Asian Empires, 1842-2001
European Empires, 1820-2005
Ottoman and Post-Ottoman Empires in the Eastern Mediterranean, 1860-2015
Ottoman and Post-Ottoman Empires in the Balkans, 1820-1990
Native Women in North America, 1915-2010
Settler Society in North America, 1805-1940
South Africa, 1899-1987
United States Empire, 1820-2004
Women’s Global Networks in Colonial and Post-Colonial Worlds, 1883-2007

Online archive of published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century. The archive includes proceedings of women's international conferences, books, pamphlets, articles from newspapers and journals, as well as correspondence, diary entries, and memoirs. Also contains numerous online publications of contemporary Non-Governmental Organizations. (OCLC)

Major subject areas covered include Africana Studies, Atlantic Studies, Ethnic Studies, Gender Studies, Economic Studies, Slavery and Diaspora Studies. Based on the Library Company collection that itself was an attempt to gather all printed information about this area and its history.  Includes historical narratives, social histories, maps, navigational logs, military reports, government documents, demographic studies, anthropological studies, natural histories, personal and personal memoirs. Many items published prior to 1800 are included, but the majority were published in the 19th century.

Includes letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activists’ biographies and first-hand accounts.

Created from the holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, Black Authors, 1556-1922. Major subject areas addressed in Black Authors include Literature, Ethnic History, Colonialism, Gender Studies, Slavery, and Diaspora Studies. Authors included are Leo Africanus, Ignatius Sancho, Benjamin Banneker, Phillis Wheatley, Olaudah Equiano, David Ruggles, William Wells Brown, Solomon Northrup, Harriet Wilson, Harriet Jacobs, Alexander Crummell, Martin Delany, Edward Wilmot Blyden, Frances Ellen Watkins Harper, Josiah Henson, Frederick Douglass, Bethany Veney, Paul Laurence Dunbar, W.E.B. Du Bois, Charles W. Chestnutt, Booker T. Washington, James Weldon Johnson, and hundreds of others.

In addition to fiction, the database includes complete runs of selected literary magazines, such as Kyk-Over-Al and The Beacon.

Includes correspondence, some one-page letters or telegrams, others large volumes or texts of treaties. All items marked Confidential Print were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet and to heads of British missions abroad. All documents are fully text-searchable, and the set includes collection of 300 maps separated from their parent print.

U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the French colonial government and the activities of the native peoples. Highlights of the collection include the beginning of an anti-colonial movement and problems along the Moroccan-Algerian border.

German colonial aspirations in Africa ended with the end of the First World War. British and French Army forces seized German colonies in Africa and British naval forces occupied the German port facilities. The Treaty of Versailles legitimized and officially mandated the former German colonies to British and French colonial authorities. This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the German colonial governments and later the mandate authorities, and the activities of the native peoples

Italian colonial policy during the period 1930-1939 was shaped by Fascism. Fascist tenets related to governance and social policy was used in the administration and treatment of the African population in Libya, Eritrea, Somalia, and Italian East Africa. This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Italian colonial governments and later the mandate authorities, and the activities of the native peoples.

Composed of FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People's Revolutionary Party; this collection provides two unique views on African American support for liberation struggles in Africa, the issue of Pan-Africanism, and the role of African independence movements as political leverage for domestic Black struggles. (OCLC)

A variety of materials comprise this collection, including:
FBI surveillance and informant reports and correspondence from a variety of offices including, NYC, Baltimore, New Haven, Detroit, Miami, Atlanta, Newark, Kansas City, and Cleveland; Intercepted correspondence; Ephemera from NGO support groups; Justice Department memoranda, correspondence, and analyses; Newsclippings and articles; Copies of handbills, pamphlets, and newsletters; Witness statements; Extremist Intelligence Section reports; Domestic Intelligence Division reports and memoranda; Transcriptions of wiretaps, typewriter tapes, and coded messages; Speech excerpts; Transcripts of conversations.

Date range of documents: 1970-1985

The topics covered by these records include all aspects of relations with Liberia, and interactions of American citizens with the Liberian government and people.

Includes documents on a variety of topics relating to economic and commercial affairs. Documentation covers the export of agricultural produce, such as coffee, palm oil, vegetable fibers, peat, and peat moss. Also included are details on quarantine restrictions from various U.S. agencies, such as the Department of Agriculture and the Department of Commerce; as well as records of advertising media in Africa, such as newspapers and trade publications in French and Portuguese. The archive also contains correspondences with the U.S. Department of Commerce from American companies exporting to Liberia; and details on the International Exposition of American Import Trade, held in August 1930; among various other papers of interest to historians of world trade and west Africa.

Covers topical categories, including the Israeli-Arab conflict, human and civil rights, international relations, terrorism, and others. The collection includes many points of view and contemporary accounts from both inside and outside the region on events such as: the Six Day War, the Yom Kippur War, Operation Entebbe, the taking of American hostages in Iran, the Assassination of Egyptian President Anwar Sadat, the Achille Lauro hijacking, and the Persian Gulf War. And on the origins and growth of organizations such as: the Arab League, the Palestine Liberation Organization, Hezbollah, Hamas, and the Muslim Brotherhood.

This collection includes correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Portuguese colonial government and the activities of the native peoples. Highlights include the beginning of an anti-colonial movement and the industrialization and economic exploitation of Portugal’s African colonies.

Chinese Ancient Texts (CHANT), a browsable and searchable database, provides full-text access to Chinese classical works and excavated ancient documents. Images of the original scripts can be viewed side by side with the interpretation texts. Created by the Institute of Chinese Studies (ICS), Chinese University of Hong Kong, it comprises 7 full-text databases including:

1. Oracular Inscriptions on Tortoise Shells and Bones
2 . Bronze Inscriptions
3. Excavated Wood/Bamboo and Silk Scripts
4. Traditional Chinese Texts of Wei Jin and Northern and Southern Dynasties (220-589 CE)
5. The Entire Body of Extant Han and Pre-Han (pre-220 CE) Traditional Chinese Texts.

China, America and the Pacific offers an extensive range of archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Manuscript sources, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps document this fascinating history.

Includes access to the following modules:  Imperial China and the West Part 1: 1815-1881 ; Diplomacy and Political Secrets, 1860-1950 ; Records of the Maritime Customs Service of China, 1854-1949 ; Missionary, Sinology, and Literary Periodicals, 1817-1949 ; Imperial China and the West Part 2: 1865-1905 ; Hong Kong, Britain, and China Part 1: 1841-1951 ; Regional China and the West, 1830s-1950s ; Hong Kong, Britain, and China II, 1965-1993 ; Records of Shanghai and the International Settlement, 1840-1949.

Rare and important highlights of the Wason Collection include five manuscript volumes of the Encyclopaedia Maxima (1547), a 1661 ‘jade book’ bearing an inscription by the Kangxi Emperor, the manuscripts resulting from the mission to China in 1792-4 of the British diplomat Lord Macartney, a set of publications of the Chinese Maritime Customs Service (founded 1854), and a variety of 16th- and 17th-century books and manuscripts in Latin, French, Spanish and Portuguese, mostly written by Jesuit missionaries.

This full-text digital collection is based primarily on manuscript materials held at the library of the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), the British Library in London, and supplemented by additional sources from seven institutes, such as the Cambridge University Library. Covers multiple perspectives from politicians, diplomats, missionaries, business people, and tourists. In addition, there are over 400 color paintings, maps and drawings by English and Chinese artists, as well as many photographs, sketches and ephemeral items depicting Chinese people, customs, and events.

Beginning in 1946 with reports of the CIA’s predecessor, the Central Intelligence Group, CIA Research Reports reproduces over 1,500 reports on eight areas: Middle East; Soviet Union; Vietnam and Southeast Asia; China; Japan, Korea, and Asian security; Europe; Africa; and Latin America. This series deals with international questions and biographical reports, offering profiles of relatively unknown leaders. The Murphy Collection provides information on war recovery efforts, international aid, and the formation of countries and substantial information on the Chinese Communist Party.

Includes access to the following 3 collections: 1) Si ku quan shu cun mu cong shu 四庫全書存目叢書 (Collectanea of Books Reviewed for But Not Included in the Imperial Library) ; 2) Si ku jin hui shu cong kan 四庫禁毁書叢刊 (Collectanea of Books Banned during the Four Treasuries Compilation) ; 3) Si ku wei shou shu ji kan四庫未收書輯刊 (Collection of Books Overlooked for Inclusion in the Imperial Library)

The six parts of this collection make available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980:

1919-1929: Kuomintang, CCP and the Third International
1930-1937: The Long March, civil war in China and the Manchurian Crisis
1938-1948: Open Door, Japanese war and the seeds of communist victory
1949-1956: The Communist revolution
1957-1966: The Great Leap Forward
1967-1980: The Cultural Revolution

Includes access to three modules:

Japan, 1931-1945: Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific:

Section one begins in 1931, as Japan invades Manchuria. This incident, and continued Japanese activities in the region, would lead to their dramatic withdrawal from the League of Nations and further alienation from the western powers they had allied with during the First World War. The files in this section document the decline in relations, through war in the Pacific, up until Japanese surrender on board the US Missouri in 1945.

Japan, 1946-1952: Occupation of Japan:

From 1946-1952 Japan was occupied by Allied Powers. The files for this period offer a British perspective on the creation of a democratic state in Japan and the enforcement of a new constitution. They include key British communications and reports covering topics such as war crime trials, reparations, and Japan’s economic recovery. They conclude in 1952, the year the Treaty of San Francisco normalized Anglo-Japanese relations and the first post-war British Ambassador to Japan, Esler Dening, was appointed.

Japan and Great Power Status, 1919-1930:

In 1919, as a vital member of the Allied Powers, Japan found itself occupying a new position of international power within a reorganized world order. The files in this section trace the development of this power and Japan’s relationship with the West during a decade of turbulent economic, political and social change in the wake of the First World War. Beginning with the Paris Peace Conference and the ‘Shantung Question’, the files offer insight into the events of the 1920s, from the termination of the Anglo-Japanese Alliance, the devastation of the Kantō Earthquake, and the end of the Taishō democracy, to the beginning of the Shōwa period, financial crisis and Japan’s increasingly imperialist policies in Manchuria.

Feature articles were first accompanied by lithograph illustrations that were later replaced with photography, and so the magazine assumes the characteristic of an illustrated encyclopedia for matters concerning the early modern and modern periods. Subjects include the Sino-Japanese War, the Russo-Japanese War, disasters such as earthquakes and tsunamis, in addition to fashion and popular culture.

Grand Secretariat Archives is a database that contains documents originally housed in the storerooms of the Grand Secretariat of the Qing dynasty (1644-1912). After 1949 these documents were kept at the Institute of History and Philology of Academia Sinica. The entire archive contains about 310,000 items. The collection, dating from the Ming dynasty to the Qing dynasty (1368-1912), encompasses a wide variety of subjects. For full content coverage, see "Grand Secretariat Archives - Inventory and History of Preservation". Also, portions of the archives had been published under title: Ming Qing dang an.--OCLC The archives of the Grand Secretariat currently housed at the Institute were originally kept at the Grand Secretariat Storehouse in the Ch’ing imperial palace. They were removed from the Storehouse when it underwent renovation in 1909. After the overthrow of the Ch’ing, these archives changed hands several times, and were, at one point, even sold to a paper recycling factory. Eventually, the Institute purchased them from Li Sheng-to, a book collector, in 1929 thanks to the efforts of Fu Ssu-nien, the Institute’s first director. There are over four thousand Ming (1368-1644) documents and more than three hundred thousand volumes of Ch’ing (1644-1911) archival materials in this collection, including imperial decrees, edicts, memorials, tribute document, examination questions, examination papers, rosters of successful examination candidates, documents from the offices of the Grand Secretariat, documents from the offices for book compilation, and old documents from Mukden. Memorials make up the bulk these documents.--Publisher

Knowledge content resource with focus on Korean Studies, containing 162 digital products categorized under ten subjects (history, literature, art, culture, religion, philosophy, sociology, classics of Korean studies, traditional medicine, and animal and plants).

Edward Sylvester Morse went to Japan on a scientific expedition in 1877 and was eventually made Chair of Zoology at the new Imperial University of Tokyo. In addition to preserving the household records of a samurai family and many accounts of the tea ceremony, Morse made notes on subjects as diverse as shop signs, fireworks, hairpins, agricultural tools, artists’ studios, music, games, printing, carpentry, the Ainu, gardens, household construction, art and architecture.

The collection is almost encyclopedic, illuminating a wide variety of aspects of life in each of the eight countries (Afghanistan, Arabia/Syria, China, Japan, Korea, Palestine, Persia, Turkey) such as culture, politics, religion, diplomacy, etc.

"Consists of pre-revolutionary Orientological publications is the little-known, classified Collection of Geographical, Topographical and Geographical Materials on Asia = Sbornik geograficheskikh, topograficheskikh i statisticheskikh materialov po Azii which was issued by the Russian General Staff between 1883 and 1914 in 87 thick volumes and 9 supplements. The Secret Prints are accounts of travels to lesser-known reaches of Asia, mostly by Russian army officers including among others authors such Nikolai Przhevalskii, Aleksei Kuropatkin, Nikolai Ermolov, Gustav Mannerheim, Lavr Kornilov, and Andrei Snesarev. The articles range from attaché and diplomatic dispatches to histories of tsarist plans for the invasion of India, the siege of Herat, and European campaigns against China. Together, they comprise a unique and largely untapped source for 19th century of Asia." -- OCLC WorldCat

Instructions for access: 
1. Select Ancient Classics 
2. Select Log in 
3. Under the third icon in the first row select Series 1 or Series 2 (合集 初集 二集) 

Material from: National Library of Russia, St. Petersburg.
This collection of rare publications from the 1920's to 1940's opens a window into the mentality of the 'first Soviet generations' and gives insight into one of the most characteristic aspects of socializing the young in early Soviet Russia. Play was used to inculcate 'politically correct' attitudes and children were taught new variants of familiar games, such as constructing the Lenin Mausoleum with snow bricks dyed red, or playing co-operative shop and collective farm market using wooden models and building blocks. The Pioneer and Komsomol movement devoted huge energy to efforts to 'clean up' children's games in the streets and courtyards: children were, for example, encouraged to play 'communists and fascists' instead of 'Cossacks and robbers', and baby or fashion dolls, considered as questionable in gender terms, were ditched in favor of wholesome ethnic representations. Other children's leisure activities featured in this collection are festive holidays: such as the New Year parties organized by the state for the youth; and a variety of theatre performances and films featuring approved Soviet material. The collection includes books published in the provinces, as well as in Moscow and Leningrad, and covers different age groups, from pre-schoolers to pre-teens. Heavily ideologized tracts are presented alongside more liberal articles. The actual practices of play are highlighted, rather than schematic recommendations. (OCLC)

Beginning in 1946 with reports of the CIA’s predecessor, the Central Intelligence Group, CIA Research Reports reproduces over 1,500 reports on eight areas: Middle East; Soviet Union; Vietnam and Southeast Asia; China; Japan, Korea, and Asian security; Europe; Africa; and Latin America. This series deals with international questions and biographical reports, offering profiles of relatively unknown leaders. The Murphy Collection provides information on war recovery efforts, international aid, and the formation of countries and substantial information on the Chinese Communist Party.

The Fortunoff Archive currently holds more than 4,400 testimonies, which are comprised of over 12,000 recorded hours of videotape. Testimonies were produced in cooperation with thirty-six affiliated projects across North America, South America, Europe, and Israel. Testimonies were recorded in whatever language the witness preferred, and range in length from 30 minutes to over 40 hours (recorded over several sessions).

Create Account & Request Testimony:

1. IU Bloomington users must register with their official iu.edu email. To create an account select Log In, and then Join Now. Users will then receive a confirmation email.
2. Login and then enter a search term. Click on a testimony in the search results and request access. Please note that records truncate last names of those who gave testimony to protect their privacy. If you are looking for a specific person’s testimony, either shorten their last name to the first initial (“Eva B.”) or contact the archive directly. You only need to request access to one testimony to obtain viewing access for the entire collection.
3. Once the approval email is received, users may view testimonies. A browser refresh may be necessary.

Onemail Instructions

Users who set up an individual account with their indiana.edu email will need to update their account to reflect their iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. Log into your Fortunoff account.
2. Select profile from the dropdown menu in the upper right corner.
3. Update your email in the email field. 
4. Select Update.

Content included: Crimean Parliamentary Elections, 1994 ; Crimean Presidential Elections, 1994 ; Russia Presidential Election, 2008 ; Russia Presidential Election, 2012 ; Russia Presidential Election, 2018 ; Russia State Duma Election, 1993 ; Russia State Duma Election, 1999 ; Russia State Duma Election, 2007 ; Russia State Duma Election, 2011 ; Russia State Duma Election, 2016 ; Ukraine Parliamentary Election, 2012 ; Ukraine Parliamentary Election, 2014 ; Ukraine Parliamentary Election, 2019 ; Ukraine Presidential Election, 2014 ; Ukraine Presidential Election, 2019.

The collection contains texts by such artists as Wassily Kandinsky, Pavel Filonov, Kazimir Malevich and Anatolii Petrytskyi; publications of art groups such as the Jack of Diamonds (Bubnovyi valet) and Màkovets; theoretical tracts by Nikolai Tarabukin and Boris Kushner; and books by well-known critics such as Iakov Tugendkhol'd, Erikh Gollerbakh, and Nikolai Punin.

This collection offers a comprehensive survey of the original writings of the Hungarian reformers. It includes texts from the period of the first stirrings of reform in the 1540s through to works written for the established churches of the region during the 1650s. Useful for those studying the Lutheran Reformation, international Calvinism, the Catholic Reformation, and the emergence of Anti-Trinitarianism.

Multiple languages; Texts predominantly in German, also in English, French, Italian, and Latin, and occasionally in Dutch, Polish, Portuguese, Swedish, and Turkish. This was a dynamic period in Turkish, Russian, Middle Eastern, and Western European history, in which the foundations of the present-day spheres of influence were laid. The sources were published in Europe over a period of two centuries; they provide detailed insight, not only into the military hassles in the Ottoman-Russian relations, but also into the effects these hassles had on public opinion in Europe. Included are treaties, travel reports, decrees, etc. (OCLC) Contents of the set: 1. The origins, 1600-1800 -- 2. Shifts in the balance of power, 1800-1853 -- 3. The Crimean War, 1854-1856 -- 4. The end of the empires, 1857-1914. -- 4. The end of the empires, 1857-1914.

Multiple languages; Texts predominantly in German, also in English, French, Italian, and Latin, and occasionally in Dutch, Polish, Portuguese, Swedish, and Turkish. Series: The Eastern question; Variation: Eastern question (IDC Publishers) Abstract: The origins, 1600-1800: 193 monographs on Russian-Ottoman relations. This was a dynamic period in Turkish, Russian, Middle Eastern, and Western European history, in which the foundations of the present-day spheres of influence were laid. The sources were published in Europe over a period of two centuries; they provide detailed insight, not only into the military hassles in the Ottoman-Russian relations, but also into the effects these hassles had on public opinion in Europe. Included are treaties, travel reports, decrees, etc. (OCLC) Contents of the set: 1. The origins, 1600-1800 -- 2. Shifts in the balance of power, 1800-1853 -- 3. The Crimean War, 1854-1856 -- 4. The end of the empires, 1857-1914.

Part of the Slavic studies bundle. Multiple languages; Texts predominantly in German, also in English, French, Italian, and Latin, and occasionally in Dutch, Polish, Portuguese, Swedish, and Turkish. Series: The Eastern question; Variation: Eastern question (IDC Publishers) Abstract: The origins, 1600-1800: 193 monographs on Russian-Ottoman relations. This was a dynamic period in Turkish, Russian, Middle Eastern, and Western European history, in which the foundations of the present-day spheres of influence were laid. The sources were published in Europe over a period of two centuries; they provide detailed insight, not only into the military hassles in the Ottoman-Russian relations, but also into the effects these hassles had on public opinion in Europe. Included are treaties, travel reports, decrees, etc. (OCLC)Contents of the set: 1. The origins, 1600-1800 -- 2. Shifts in the balance of power, 1800-1853 -- 3. The Crimean War, 1854-1856 -- 4. The end of the empires, 1857-1914.

Part of the Slavic studies bundle. Multiple languages; Texts predominantly in German, also in English, French, Italian, and Latin, and occasionally in Dutch, Polish, Portuguese, Swedish, and Turkish. Series: The Eastern question; Variation: Eastern question (IDC Publishers) Abstract: The origins, 1600-1800: 193 monographs on Russian-Ottoman relations. This was a dynamic period in Turkish, Russian, Middle Eastern, and Western European history, in which the foundations of the present-day spheres of influence were laid. The sources were published in Europe over a period of two centuries; they provide detailed insight, not only into the military hassles in the Ottoman-Russian relations, but also into the effects these hassles had on public opinion in Europe. Included are treaties, travel reports, decrees, etc. (OCLC)Contents of the set: 1. The origins, 1600-1800 -- 2. Shifts in the balance of power, 1800-1853 -- 3. The Crimean War, 1854-1856 -- 4. The end of the empires, 1857-1914.

The Russian literary avant-garde was both a cradle for many new literary styles and the birthplace of a new physical appearance for printed materials. This collection contains many rare and obscure books, as well as well-known and critically acclaimed texts, almanacs, periodicals, literary manifests. Represented in it are more than 30 literary groups without which the history of twentieth-century Russian literature would have been very different. Among the groups included are the Ego-Futurists and Cubo-Futurists, the Imaginists, the Constructivists, the Biocosmists, and the infamous nichevoki - who, in their most radical manifestoes, professed complete abstinence from literary creation.
(From the vendor write-up.)

Previously published under the titles Rabochii i iskusstvo (1929-1930), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1931-1941), Literatura i iskusstvo (1942-1944), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1944-1952) and Sovetskaia kul’tura (1953-1991). In the Soviet period it published critical diatribes against dissident writers Pasternak, Solzhenitsyn, Aksyonov and others, infamous articles condemning modern art exhibitions, chastising avant-guard composers and abstract painters. In modern Russia its reviews and event listings often focus on the cultural life of Moscow and regions, it is known for its topical commentaries on popular culture and politics.

The collection covers a range of subjects, including Ground Forces, Air Force, Navy and Artillery, as well as specialized topics like Chemical and Nuclear Warfare, Small Arms and Firearms, NATO, Aircraft Design, and Living Conditions. 

The Annals of Communism series contains 25 volumes of scholarly commentary, annotation, and interpretation of documents from state and party archives selected by teams of Western and Russian editors. These volumes span the history of Soviet and international communism. Highlights include: foreign policy with Germany before World War II; communications during the Great Purges; relations with Western intellectuals and leaders; and private notations on many Soviet leaders.

This collection documents the history of Artek, the main Soviet pioneer recreation camp, and includes information on various aspects of youth policy and young people’s lives in the Soviet Union in the period from 1944 to 1967. It contains government documents, administrative, medical and financial records, transcripts of meetings, statistical reports, letters from Soviet and foreign children, diaries etc. These documents provide an insight into everyday life and mentality of Soviet children. The archive is a valuable resource for a wide circle of researchers in such fields as sociology, cultural studies, philology and political history." (from the vendor's annotations)

World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean provides full text, searchable access to a digital collection of primary (and secondary) source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean. In scope it ranges from the colonial period to the present and includes monographs, manuscripts, pamphlets,letters, expedition records, journals, periodicals, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, and newspaper accounts.

Among the historical collections are:Bauza Maps and Manuscripts Collection
Brazil's Popular Groups, 1966-1986
Coleccion De Documentos Ineditos Relativos Al Descubrimiento, Conquista Y Organizacion De Las Antiguas Posesiones Espanolas De America Y Oceania. -- Madrid : M.B. de Quyros, 1864-1884
Conquistadors: The Struggle for Colonial Power in Latin America, 1492-1825
Latin American History and Culture: An Archival Record, Series 1: The Yale University Collection of Latin American Manuscripts, Parts 1-7
Latin American and Iberian biographies
Mexican and Central American Political and Social Ephemera
Papers of Agustin de Iturbide, 1799-1880

Topic pages cover, among other things, countries in the region (e.g. Chile), people (e.g. Hugo Chavez, Simón Bolívar), commerce and industry (e.g. Petroleum Industry), history (e.g. Archaeology), politics (e.g. China-Latin American Relations).

Brazilian chapbooks are typically sold at street fairs, where the pamphlets are hung by string (cordel in Portuguese). They are a grassroots form of communication whose purpose is both education and entertainment. Cordel pamphlets serve the community by alerting them to health concerns such as dengue fever. They provide entertainment in the re- telling of folk tales and more importantly, they chronicle political, social, and cultural events. 

Includes access to two parts: Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture: Oliveira Lima Library, Pamphlets, and Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture: Oliveira Lima Library, Monographs.

The geographical focus of these materials is all of the islands of the Caribbean Sea, widely referred to as the West Indies, though many works also deal with nearby islands technically not part of the Caribbean chain. Also included are works that cover both Caribbean islands and neighboring areas such as Florida, Mexico and Brazil. In addition, due to the nature of the Atlantic slave trade, some works also cover Africa, especially the West African coastal nations that played a key role in the transportation of the enslaved to the New World. The places of publication of these 1,200-plus works include primarily England, France, Spain, the Netherlands and the United States, though there are works published in the Caribbean itself as well as other European countries. Most of the works are in English, approximately 329 are in French, and a small number are in the other languages of other Colonial powers that controlled parts of the Caribbean.

Includes newspapers, magazines, printed publications of the Government of Puerto Rico and the Federal Government, rare books published in the 19th and 20th centuries, manuscripts, drawings, photographs, graphics, maps, tape, microforms and other materials.

Includes access to Module 1: Settlement, Slavery and Empire, 1624-1832, Module 2: Colonial Government and Abolition, 1833-1849, and  Module 3: Economic Change and Indentured Labour, 1850-1870.

Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with Indigenous Peoples, wars and territorial disputes, the fall of the Brazilian monarchy, British business and financial interests, industrial development, the building of the Panama Canal, and the rise to power of populist rulers such as Perón in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil.

Newly acquired materials are being digitized and added on an ongoing basis. the bulk of the materials were originally created around the turn of the 20th century and after, with some originating as recently as within the last year. The formats or genre most commonly included are pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards. These items were originally created by a wide array of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, public policy think tanks, and other types of organizations in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and activities.

The collections, mostly in Spanish, include works by feminists about feminists and their causes, works by men on the status of women, and literary works by feminist writers that illustrate or discuss the condition of women. Among the journals in the collection are items from Aspiraciones, a feminist journal published by the Partido Feminista Aspiraciones, La Mujer Moderno, the journal for the Club Femenino de Cuba, and La Mujer, the journal of the Partido Demócrata Sufragista.
There are also assessments by politicians, jurists, and legislators about the condition of women in the cities and countryside and excerpts from novels, essays and poetry written by women about women. Also included are literary anthologies of Cuban women writers in general as well as literary analysis of these women's works.

Source Library: Personal collection Dr. K. Lynn Stoner

The documents found in these files are predominantly instructions to – and dispatches from – diplomatic and consular officials and are often accompanied by enclosures. Notes between the Department of State and foreign diplomats in the United States, memoranda prepared by State Department officials, and correspondence with officials of other government departments, as well as with private businesses and persons, are also included.

Devised as a tool to support research in Brazilian Studies, the site provides a searchable index of Brazilian scholarly journals, as well as access to full-text dissertations from Brazilian institutions. Additional relevant resources include online directories of researchers and institutions, online bibliographies, quantitative data sets, and selected web sites relevant to researchers.

Afghanistan's history, internal political development, foreign relations, and very existence as an independent state have largely been determined by its geographic location at the crossroads of Central, West, and South Asia. In modern times, as well as in antiquity, vast armies of the world passed through Afghanistan, temporarily establishing local control and often dominating Iran and northern India. Islam has played a key role in the formation of Afghanistan as well. Although it was the scene of great empires and flourishing trade for over two millennia, Afghanistan did not become a truly independent nation until the twentieth century. In much of the twentieth century, Afghanistan remained neutral. It was not a participant in World War II, nor aligned with either power bloc in the Cold War. However, it was a beneficiary of the latter rivalry as both the Soviet Union and the U.S. vied for influence by building such infrastructure works as roads, airports, water and sewer systems, and hospitals. The U.S. State Department Central Classified Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century.

Documents the use of the press by many groups that sought to shape Afghanistan’s social and intellectual landscape including the Communist People’s Democratic Party (PDPA); exiled loyalists to the deposed Afghan monarchy; independent humanitarians and intellectuals seeking to better their country; anti-Soviet mujaheddin groups from a range of political movements; the Taliban; and minority political parties that have emerged following the post-2001 transition towards democracy.

Documents encompass the era of “The Great Game” - a political and diplomatic confrontation between the Russian and British Empires for influence, territory and trade across a vast region, from the Black Sea in the west to the Pamir Mountains in the east.

Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.

Early records in the collection focus on events in Palestine, Britain’s policy toward Palestine, and how the situation in Palestine affected relations with other nations. The files also survey the contours of Arab politics in the wider Middle East. Additionally, they cover the political, philosophical, and personal fractures within and between both the Jewish and Arab communities from 1940-1948.

The British Library's collection of Arabic printed books was formed partly from the former British Museum Library (which became the British Library in 1973), and partly from the India Office Library. The India Office was set up in 1858 to oversee the administration of the Provinces of British India (today Bangladesh, Burma, India, and Pakistan), as well as Aden and other British territories around the Indian Ocean. It closed in 1947 with the independence of India and Pakistan. The India Office library originated in 1798 as the East India Company's library which was taken over by the India Office in 1867.

Module 1: Religion and Law
The Qu'ran, traditions (Hadith), tafsir, theology, commentaries on religious texts, religious teaching and practice, biographies of religious figures; law, fiqh and statutes, fatwas and rulings

Module 2: Sciences, History, and Geography
Natural history, medicine, physiology, other science, classical sciences, philosophy, logic, politics, ethics, mathematics, arithmetic, geometry, mechanics, astrology, chemistry; history, early caliphs and conquests, modern history, genealogy, biographies; geography and travel, regional geography, and topography

Module 3: Periodicals, Literature, Grammar, Language, Catalogues and General Works
Periodicals, folktales, pre-Islamic literature (Antar, Bani Hilal, Imru'l qays), Islamic poetry and prose (al-Burdah), poetry and prose (maqamat), Kalilah wa-dimnah, Luqman, proverbs and sayings, Thousand and one nights, later literature, poetry and prose, general literature; language and lexicography, dictionaries, grammar, syntax, rhetoric, 'ilm al-bayan, catalogues, manuscript catalogues, etc.

Consists of the complete run of documents in the series DO 133, DO 134 and FCO 37, as well as all documents covering the Indian subcontinent in the FO 371 series. Events covered include independence and partition, the Indian annexation of Hyderabad and Goa, war between India and Pakistan, tensions and war between India and China, the consolidation of power of the Congress Party in India, military rule in Pakistan, the turbulent independence of Bangladesh and the development of nuclear weapons in the region.

The files address these events from the standpoint of British officialdom. In addition to high politics, they deal with such issues as economic and industrial development, trade, migration, visits to South Asia by British politicians and by South Asian politicians to Britain and elsewhere, education, administrative reorganisation, conflict over language, aid, political parties, agriculture and irrigation, and television and the press. Together they form a resource of fundamental value to scholars and students of modern South Asia.

Module 1: Middle East, 1971-1974: The 1973 Arab-Israeli War and the Oil Crisis
Explores the politics of the Middle East region in the run-up to the Arab-Israeli War and its effect on global industry, political relations and social stability, as well as providing in-depth coverage of separate conflicts in Cyprus, internal and external political relationships, and details about military exports.

Module 2, 1975-1978: The Lebanese Civil War and the Camp David Accords
The Foreign Office files in Module 2 tackle the aftermath of the Arab-Israel War, tracing the successes and failures of the prolonged peace talks led by Henry Kissinger, which conclude with the historic Camp David Accords in 1978. This module explores the economic and political impact this conflict had on the UK’s relationships with other Middle East nations, as well as continuing to track the progress of peace talks between Cyprus and Turkey. These files also contain reports on the devastating civil war in Lebanon and its impact on the region, as well as assessing the political climate in Iran in the run up to the revolution.

Module 3, 1979-1981: The Iranian Revolution and the Iran-Iraq War
Module 3 is dominated by conflicts in Iran, with extensive coverage of events surrounding the revolution, the hostage crisis at the United States Embassy, and the beginning of the Iran-Iraq War. These Foreign Office files also continue to examine the on-going peace negotiations between Egypt and Israel, with a particular focus on the Israeli Occupied Territories, and contain a number of personality profiles to accompany yearly country reviews.

Covers topical categories, including the Israeli-Arab conflict, human and civil rights, international relations, terrorism, and others. The collection includes many points of view and contemporary accounts from both inside and outside the region on events such as: the Six Day War, the Yom Kippur War, Operation Entebbe, the taking of American hostages in Iran, the Assassination of Egyptian President Anwar Sadat, the Achille Lauro hijacking, and the Persian Gulf War. And on the origins and growth of organizations such as: the Arab League, the Palestine Liberation Organization, Hezbollah, Hamas, and the Muslim Brotherhood.

Fully searchable database of primary source documents from the British National Archives that chronicle the politics, wars, administration, and diplomacy surrounding the Palestine Mandate and the Arab-Israeli conflict. Topics covered include the background to the establishment of the State of Israel, Black September, the Border wars of the 1950s, the British capture of Jerusalem, the Cold War in the Middle East, the formation of the United Arab Republic, Jewish terror groups, and milestones in the Palestine-Zionist tension and their impact on British policy leading to the Partition of 1948.

Contains original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers. Topics covered include: The Siege of Kut-al-Amara, The War in Mesapotamia and the capture of Baghdad in 1917, Introduction of the British Mandate, and the installation of King Faisal in 1921, The British administration in Baghdad, Gertrude Bell, advisor to the British administration, in both reports and memos, The Arab Uprising of 1920, Independence, and Iraq’s membership of the League of Nations in 1932, Coups d’etat in the 1930s and 1940s, The Baghdad Pact of 1955 and the military coup of 1958 leading to the establishment of a republic, The Cold War and Soviet intervention in Iraq, Kurdish unrest and the war in Kurdistan, Oil concessions and oil exploration, The Rise of Ba’athism and Saddam Hussein, The USSR-Iraq Treaty of Friendship in 1972, Iran-Iraq relations.

The collection is almost encyclopedic, illuminating a wide variety of aspects of life in each of the eight countries (Afghanistan, Arabia/Syria, China, Japan, Korea, Palestine, Persia, Turkey) such as culture, politics, religion, diplomacy, etc.

"Consists of pre-revolutionary Orientological publications is the little-known, classified Collection of Geographical, Topographical and Geographical Materials on Asia = Sbornik geograficheskikh, topograficheskikh i statisticheskikh materialov po Azii which was issued by the Russian General Staff between 1883 and 1914 in 87 thick volumes and 9 supplements. The Secret Prints are accounts of travels to lesser-known reaches of Asia, mostly by Russian army officers including among others authors such Nikolai Przhevalskii, Aleksei Kuropatkin, Nikolai Ermolov, Gustav Mannerheim, Lavr Kornilov, and Andrei Snesarev. The articles range from attaché and diplomatic dispatches to histories of tsarist plans for the invasion of India, the siege of Herat, and European campaigns against China. Together, they comprise a unique and largely untapped source for 19th century of Asia." -- OCLC WorldCat

Consists of the complete run of documents in the series DO 133, DO 134 and FCO 37, as well as all documents covering the Indian subcontinent in the FO 371 series. Events covered include independence and partition, the Indian annexation of Hyderabad and Goa, war between India and Pakistan, tensions and war between India and China, the consolidation of power of the Congress Party in India, military rule in Pakistan, the turbulent independence of Bangladesh and the development of nuclear weapons in the region.

The files address these events from the standpoint of British officialdom. In addition to high politics, they deal with such issues as economic and industrial development, trade, migration, visits to South Asia by British politicians and by South Asian politicians to Britain and elsewhere, education, administrative reorganisation, conflict over language, aid, political parties, agriculture and irrigation, and television and the press. Together they form a resource of fundamental value to scholars and students of modern South Asia.

Includes access to two modules: Module I: Cold War in the Pacific, Trade Relations and the Post-Independence Period, 1963-1966; and Module II: Foundations of Economic Growth and Industrialisation, 1967-1980.

This collection follows the establishment of an independent Malaysia in 1963, following the release of the Cobbold Commission Report. Under President Sukarno, Indonesia strongly opposed this decision and hostilities between the two countries escalated. Alongside tensions with Malaysia, Indonesia would experience growing civil unrest in this period, with anti-Communist sentiments on the rise. Documents featured in this collection cover these fundamental events alongside a number of key themes, including trade, economic development and authoritarian rule in this period.

Digital facsimiles from the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland. Includes diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works. The collection documents the relationship between Britain and India in an empire where the Scots played a central role as traders, generals, missionaries, viceroys, governor-generals and East India Company officials. The dates of the documents range from 1710 to 1937.
 

Includes files of the American ambassadors to India and Pakistan during this time, and thousands of official records on the conflict and competition between India and Pakistan during a key period in the Cold War era. Subjects covered: political parties and elections, unrest and revolution, human rights, government administration, fiscal and monetary issues, national defense, foreign policy-making, wars and alliances, religion, culture, trade, industry, natural resources, and more.

Independent India's first years were marked with turbulent events - partition, a massive exchange of population with Pakistan, the Indo-Pakistani War of 1947 and the integration of over 500 princely states to form a united nation. This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of the Subcontinent between 1945 and 1949, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned India in the postwar period.

For generations of British and Indian Officers and men, the North-West Frontier was the scene of repeated skirmishes and major campaigns against the trans-border Pathan tribes who inhabited the mountainous no-man’s land between India and Afghanistan. This collection contains Army Lists; Orders; Instructions; Regulations; Acts; Manuals; Strength Returns; Orders of Battle; Administration Summaries; organization, commissions, committees, reports, maneuvers; departments of the Indian Army; and regimental narratives.

A companion archive to India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949. The collection is sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. The records are under the jurisdiction of the Legislative and Diplomatic Branch of the Civil Archives, National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C.

Works were written from the end of the colonial era to the present. The writers are from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, the Maldives, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, and Fiji, either by birth or through cultural identity. Writers may now be living in the Caribbean or Africa, London, Toronto, or New York.

Covers U.S. involvement in the region from the early days of the Kennedy administration, through the escalation of the war during the Johnson administration, to the final resolution of the war at the Paris Peace Talks and the evacuation of U.S. troops in 1973. Traces the actions and decisions at the highest levels of the U.S. foreign policy apparatus, as well as events on the ground in Vietnam, from the perspective of State Department officials, Associated Press reporters, and members of the U.S. Armed forces, including the Marines and the Military Assistance Command Vietnam. Collections also highlight all of the most important foreign policy issues facing the United States between 1960 and 1975. -- OCLC