THIS PAGE IS A WORK-IN-PROGRESS
Library of Congress Subject Headings:
The major subject headings Bible. Old Testament produces so many results that it may be less useful. Consequently, you may want to try one of the other terms below.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Jewish Studies
An extensive bibliography compiled by scholars in Jewish Studies and related fields.
- RAMBI Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
Selective bibliography of academic articles covering all of the fields of Jewish studies as well as the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel. RAMBI is based largely on the collections of the National Library of Israel. Includes references to articles in Hebrew, Latin, or Cyrillic letters.
- Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB)
Bibliography of references in Egyptological literature. Includes the records and abstracts from Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB, 1947-2001), combined with Bibliographie Altägypten (BA, 1822-1946), the Aigyptos database with keywords, and more than 50,000 further items.
See also the general Background, Encyclopedias, and Dictionaries page.
Overviews:
The Cambridge Companion to the Hebrew Bible/Old Testament by Call Number: Wells Library - Stacks -- BS1140.3 .C35 2016ISBN: 9780521883207Publication Date: 2016This Companion offers a concise and engaging introduction to the Hebrew Bible or Old Testament. Providing an up-to-date 'snapshot' of scholarship, it includes essays, specially commissioned for this volume, by twenty-three leading scholars. The volume examines a range of topics, including the historical and religious contexts for the contents of the biblical canon, and critical approaches and methods, as well as newer topics such as the Hebrew Bible in Islam, Western art and literature, and contemporary politics. This Companion is an excellent resource for students at university and graduate level, as well as for laypeople and scholars in other fields who would like to gain an understanding of the current state of the academic discussion. The book does not presume prior knowledge, nor does it engage in highly technical discussions, but it does go into greater detail than a typical introductory textbook.
The Hebrew Bible by Call Number: E-book, also available in print: Wells Library - Stacks -- BS1140.3 .H43 2016ISBN: 9781400880584Publication Date: 2016A comprehensive and accessible guide to the Hebrew Bible This book brings together some of the world's most exciting scholars from across a variety of disciplines to provide a concise and accessible guide to the Hebrew Bible. It covers every major genre of book in the Old Testament together with in-depth discussions of major themes such as human nature, covenant, creation, ethics, ritual and purity, sacred space, and monotheism. This authoritative overview sets each book within its historical and cultural context in the ancient Near East, paying special attention to its sociological setting. It provides new insights into the reception of the books and the different ways they have been studied, from historical-critical enquiry to modern advocacy approaches such as feminism and liberation theology. It also includes a guide to biblical translations and textual criticism and helpful suggestions for further reading.
A dictionary of the Targumim, the Talmud Babli and Yerushalmi, and the Midrashic literature by Call Number: Wells Library - Reference Coll. - PJ5205 .J3 1992ISBN: 0910818053Publication Date: 1971-01-01The "Jastrow" is the definitive Armaic/Hebrew-to-English dictionary of the Babylonian and Jerusalem Talmud, the Targumim, and Midrashic literature. This indispensable aid presents each entry fully vocalized, and then clearly defines each word in English, together with examples of the words in context.
Databases:
- Digital Dead Sea Scrolls"The Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Project allow[s] users to examine and explore these most ancient manuscripts from Second Temple times at a level of detail never before possible. Developed in partnership with Google, the new website gives users access to searchable, fast-loading, high-resolution images of the scrolls, as well as short explanatory videos and background information on the texts and their history."
- Online Responsa Project
Collection of Jewish texts in Hebrew, covering over three thousand years of heritage and tradition.
- Otzar Online
PLEASE NOTE: users need to select "Enter 'Otzar Online" to access. Collection of thousands of searchable full-text titles in a wide range of fields of Judaic studies.
- Sefaria: A Living Library of ToraySefaria includes free digital editions of the Talmud, Mishnah, and many other significant Jewish texts.
Texts in translation
- Mishnayoth byCall Number: E-bookISBN: 1590459431Publication Date: 1963Also available in the Reference Reading Room in print.
- The Mishnah byCall Number: Wells Library - Research Coll. - BM497.5.E5 N48 1988ISBN: 0300030657Publication Date: 1988
- The Mishnah byCall Number: Auxiliary Library Facility - BM497.5.E5 L7ISBN: 0805204415Publication Date: 1974
- Talmud in the Land of Israel byCall Number: Wells Library - Research Coll. AND Auxiliary Library Facility - BM498.5 .E5 1982Publication Date: 1982-1994
- The Talmud : the Steinsaltz edition byCall Number: Auxiliary Library Facility - BM499.5 .E4 1989ISBN: 0394576667Publication Date: 1989-1999
- The living Talmud; the wisdom of the Fathers and its classical commentaries byCall Number: Auxiliary Library Facility - BM506.A2 E5 1957Publication Date: 1957
- The Babylonian Talmud byCall Number: Wells Library - Research Coll. AND Auxiliary Library Facility - BM500 .E6Publication Date: 1935-1948
- Jewish Law: history, sources, principles byCall Number: Wells Library - Research Coll. - BM520.5 .E4313 1994ISBN: 0827603894Publication Date: 1994
- Code of MaimonidesCall Number: Wells Library - Research Coll. AND Auxiliary Library Facility - BM520.84 .A213 1949
Databases:
- Old Testament Abstracts
Indexing and abstracts for religion and theology journal articles, monographs, multi-author works and software related to Old Testament studies. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work.
Journals:
- Ḳadmoniyot / קדמוניותCall Number: Wells Library - Stacks -- DS111.A1 K12
- Zeitschrift des Deutschen Palästina-VereinsCall Number: E-resourceSome issues also available in print. Continues Beiträge zur biblischen Landes- und Altertumskunde (available in print and electronic formats).