Library of Congress Subject Headings:
The major subject headings are, not surprisingly, Israel and Palestine, as well as Arab-Israeli Conflict and Zionism, but the high number of results can make them less useful. Consequently, you may want to try one of the other terms below. This list offers just a few examples of the hundreds of subject headings related to Israel and Palestine.
- Arab-Israeli conflict--History
- Democracy--Israel
- There are many subcategories of the subject heading Israel. Here are some examples:
- Israel. Kneset
- Israeli West Bank Barrier
- Jerusalem--History
- Jerusalem--Ethnic relations
- Jewish-Arab relations
- Jews--Israel
- Jews--Palestine
- Immigrants--Israel
- Mizrahim--Israel
- National characteristics, Israeli
- As with the subject heading Israel, the subject heading Palestine also has many subcategories, such as the following:
- Palestinian Arabs--Israel
- Prime ministers--Israel
- Religion and state--Israel
- Zionism--History
- Agnon House Article Library
This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of work about Nobel Prize-winning Israeli author שמואל יוסף עגנון (S.Y. Agnon). For the Hebrew library, click here.
- The Heksherim Lexicon of Israeli Authors / לקסיקון הקשרים לסופרים ישראלים byCall Number: Wells Library - Stacks -- PJ5014 .L385 2014ISBN: 965552857XPublication Date: 2014Over 1000 entries on authors who were active since the founding of Israel in 1948.
- Kiryat Sefer
- This link opens in a new window
Kiryat Sefer - The National Bibliography of the State of Israel and of the Jewish People was founded in 1925. The goal was to document all the publications that appeared in the Land of Israel (later, the State of Israel) in all fields. In addition it included all publications dealing with Judaism and the Land and later the State of Israel that appeared anywhere and in any language. The publication of Kiryat Sefer ceased in 2015. - Modern Hebrew Literature - A Bio-Bibliographical Lexicon
- This link opens in a new window
Compiled by Ohio State University professor and Jewish Studies Librarian, Joseph Galron-Goldschläger. A lexicon with entries for over 3000 authors. "Each page includes a short biography of the author (photograph, if available), a list of the author’s books in Hebrew, translations into foreign languages, and a bibliography of books and articles about the author and his literary work. It also includes electronic links to third party sources such as websites devoted to an author or online articles available in electronic journals."
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Jewish Studies
This link opens in a new window
An extensive bibliography compiled by scholars in Jewish Studies and related fields. - RAMBI Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Selective bibliography of academic articles covering all of the fields of Jewish studies as well as the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel. RAMBI is based largely on the collections of the National Library of Israel. Includes references to articles in Hebrew, Latin, or Cyrillic letters.
See also the general Background, Encyclopedias, and Dictionaries page.
Arab-Israeli Conflict by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781610690683Publication Date: 2014Truly an essential reference for today's world, this detailed introduction to the origins, events, and impact of the adversarial relationship between Arabs and Israelis illuminates the complexities and the consequences of this long-lasting conflict. The Arab-Israeli conflict remains one of the most contentious in modern history, one with repercussions that reach far beyond the Middle East. This volume describes and explains the most important countries, people, events, and organizations that play or have played a part in the conflict. Chronological coverage begins with the Israeli War of Independence in 1948 and extends to the present day. A one-stop reference, the guide offers a comprehensive overview essay, as well as perspective essays by leading scholars who explore such widely debated issues as the United States' support for Israel and historic rights to Palestine. Important primary source documents, such as the UN Resolution on the Partition of Palestine and the Camp David Accords, are included and put into context.
The A to Z of Zionism by Call Number: Wells Library - Reference Reading Room -- DS149 .M3755 2009ISBN: 9780810868892Publication Date: 2009The A to Z of Zionism--through its chronology, maps, introductory essay, bibliography, and over 200 cross-referenced dictionary entries on crucial persons, organizations, and events--is a valuable contribution to the appreciation for both the diversity and consensus that characterize the Zionist experience.
Conflict in the Holy Land: from Ancient Times to the Arab-Israeli Conflicts by Call Number: E-book, also available in print: Wells Library - Stacks -- DS119.7 .C6524 2020ISBN: 9781440867484Publication Date: 2020More than 250 A-Z entries on a variety of conflicts throughout the long history of the Holy Land. Contributions from dozens of distinguished scholars and independent historians from a variety of disciplines. Dozens of illustrations and maps depicting conflict in the Holy Land.
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World by Call Number: E-book, also available in print: Wells Library - Reference Reading Room -- DS135.L4 E53 2010ISBN: 9789004176782Publication Date: 2010The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World covers an area of Jewish history, religion, and culture which until now has lacked its own cohesive/discreet reference work. The Encyclopedia aims to fill the gap in academic reference literature on the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods. The only reference work of its kind: up-to-date research and bibliographies make it indispensable for all levels of users.
Encyclopedia of the Palestinians by Call Number: Wells Library - Reference Reading Room -- DS113.6 .E53 2005ISBN: 0816057648Publication Date: 2005This revised edition includes new entries on recent developments and personalities, updates of many of the existing entries, and approximately 50 black-and-white photographs and additional maps. A document section has been added to the end of the book, including entire texts or excerpts of key documents on Palestinian history.
Historical Dictionary of Israel by Call Number: Wells - Stacks -- DS126.5 .R38 2016ISBN: 9781442271845Publication Date: 2016This third edition of Historical Dictionary of Israel contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1100 cross-referenced entries on significant persons, places, events, government institutions, political parties, and battles, as well as entries on Israel's economy, society, and culture. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the various diplomatic and political personalities, institutions, organizations, events, concepts, and documents that together define the political life of the Jewish state of Israel.
Historical Dictionary of Zionism by Call Number: Wells Library - Stacks -- DS149 .M375 2008ISBN: 9780810859586Publication Date: 2008The second edition of the Historical Dictionary of Zionism--through its chronology, maps, introductory essay, bibliography, and over two hundred cross-referenced dictionary entries on crucial persons, organizations, and events--is a valuable contribution to the appreciation for both the diversity and consensus that characterize the Zionist experience.
New Encyclopedia of Zionism and Israel by Call Number: Wells Library - Reference Reading Room -- DS149 .N56 1994ISBN: 0838634338Publication Date: 1994The Encyclopedia of Zionism and Israel was conceived by Dr. Emanuel Neuman. This updated edition expands on the first edition, including articles on Zionism, subject matter on Israel, and agricultural developments in the Yishuv and Israel.
See also the Newspapers, Periodicals, and Newsmedia page
Freely available resources:
- Arab-Israeli Dispute, 1964–1967 (Foreign Relations of the United States)
- This link opens in a new window
From the Foreign Relations of the United States database, 418 transcribed State Department documents related to the Arab-Israeli conflict that culminated in the Six-Day War in 1967. - Israel Central Bureau of Statistics
- This link opens in a new window
Contains data about many aspects of contemporary Israeli life. - Israeli History (Archive Network Israel)
- This link opens in a new window
Over a million historic photographs, manuscripts, documents, recordings and videos that tell the story of the State of Israel. - Israel's Foreign Policy - Historical Documents
- This link opens in a new window
This collection of documents is intended to provide readers with first-hand knowledge of basic documents on Israel's foreign relations since the pre-state period (1947). - Knesset Research and Information Center
- This link opens in a new window
The Knesset Research and Information Center (RIC) was established in the year 2000 with the goal of providing Knesset members with professional, reliable, and objective information in-house. The RIC provides the Knesset members, committees, and departments with data, research papers, and background studies pertaining to current debates, legislation, and relevant parliamentary activity. - National Library of Israel Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
Includes a wide variety of material (e.g. newspapers, maps, photographs, videos, etc.) from many time periods. - Recognition of the State of Israel (Truman Library)
- This link opens in a new window
This collection focuses on the recognition of the State of Israel. The collection includes 87 documents totaling 351 pages covering the years 1943 through 1974. Supporting materials include photographs, oral history transcripts, audio clips and a chronology of events. - Versa: Opinions of the Supreme Court of Israel (Cardozo Law School)
- This link opens in a new window
The Israeli Supreme Court Project is designed to support scholars, lawyers and judges in democracies around the world by making available the opinions of the Court, and discussion and analysis thereof, in English.
Requires IUB authentication:
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to materials exploring important aspects of LGBTQ life. Includes periodicals, newsletters, manuscripts, government records, organizational papers, correspondence, an international selection of posters, and other primary source materials. - Digital National Security Archive
- This link opens in a new window
The Digital National Security Archives contains over 110,000 declassified documents, an archival record of reports, memoranda, correspondence and papers concerning important public policy decisions in the area of foreign affairs and national security. - Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981
- This link opens in a new window
Resource for primary source documents covering the events in the Middle East during the 1970s. Includes diplomatic correspondence, minutes, reports, political summaries and personality profiles. - Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable, primary documents on the politics, administration, wars, and diplomacy of Palestine, the Independence of Israel, and the Arab-Israeli conflict. - U.S. Declassified Documents Online
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents.
Source books:
Arab-Israeli Conflict: a Documentary and Reference Guide by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781440843914Publication Date: 2017Covering the Arab-Israeli conflict from its origins to the present, this valuable resource traces the evolution of this ongoing, seemingly unresolvable dispute through a wide array of primary source documents. It includes some 90 primary source documents, including major official statements by all parties to the Israeli-Palestinian dispute, including Zionists, Israel, the Arab League, the Palestine Liberation Organization, Hamas, and Hezbollah as well as Great Britain, France, the League of Nations, the United States, the Soviet Union, and the Quartet.
The Arab-Israeli Conflict by Call Number: Wells Library - Stacks -- DS119.7 .M2245 2019ISBN: 9781138047679Publication Date: 2019The Arab-Israeli conflict has been one of the most protracted and contentious disputes in modern history. This wide-ranging textbook examines the diplomatic and historical setting within which the conflict developed, from both the Israeli and Palestinian perspectives, and gives a comprehensive overview of the peace process. The new edition includes a fully revised and updated introduction and a wider selection of documents up to the first year of the Trump presidency.
The Israel-Arab Reader by Call Number: Wells Library - Stacks -- DS119.7 .I8256 2016ISBN: 9780143110057Publication Date: 2016In print for nearly half a century, and now in its eighth edition, The Israel-Arab Reader is an authoritative guide to over a century of conflict in the Middle East. It covers the full spectrum of a violent and checkered history-the origins of Zionism and Arab nationalism, the struggles surrounding Israel's independence in 1948, the Six-Day War and other wars and hostilities over the decades, and the long diplomatic process and many peace initiatives. Arranged chronologically and without bias by two veteran historians of the Middle East, this comprehensive reference brings together speeches, letters, articles, and reports involving all the major interests in the area. The eighth edition features a new introduction as well as a large new section-more than 40 pages-recounting developments over the last decade, including the intra-Palestinian factional strife between Fatah and Hamas, the roles played by Egypt and Iran in the region, enduring arguments over a two-state solution and the right of return for Palestinian refugees, and issues of human rights abuse and terrorism.- Palestine Statehood Committee Papers byCall Number: Wells Library - EastTower2 - Microforms - LC Film -- DS125 .P244Publication Date: 1997Correspondence, memoranda, reports, publications, advertisements, and clippings related to five committees active in the United States from 1939 to 1949: the American Friends of a Jewish Palestine, the Committee for an Army of Stateless and Palestinian Jews, the Emergency Committee to Save the Jewish People of Europe, the American League for a Free Palestine, and the Hebrew Committee of National Liberation.
Guide also filmed at the beginning of reel 1, compiled by Katherine Morton.
- British Journal of Middle Eastern StudiesCall Number: E-resource
- International Journal of Middle East StudiesCall Number: E-resourceSome issues also available in print.
- Israel Studies ReviewCall Number: E-resourceContinues Israel Studies Forum: An Interdisciplinary Journal (2001-2010), Israel Studies Bulletin: A Publication of the Association for Israel Studies (1992-2001), and Newsletter (Association for Israel Studies) (1990-1991).
- Jerusalem ReviewCall Number: Wells Library - Stacks -- PJ5059.E1 J47
- Journal of Israeli HistoryCall Number: E-resourceSome issues also available in print. Continues Studies in Zionism.
- Yiśraʼel : ketav ʻet le-ḥeḳer ha-Tsiyonut u-Medinat Yiśraʼel, hisṭoryah, tarbut, ḥevrah / ישראל : כתב עת לחקר הציונות ומדינת ישראל, היסטוריה, תרבות, חברהCall Number: Wells Library - Stacks -- DS149.A1 T75Continues הציונות.