Library Research Guides: Jewish Studies: Newspapers, Periodicals, and Newsmedia

Overview

IU affiliates have access to a huge number of newspapers and other periodicals. This page lists some of these resources that might be of particular interest to Jewish Studies students and researchers.

For a comprehensive guide on historical newspapers and periodicals available at IU, see:

Old News: Historical Newspapers and Periodicals
by Scholars Commons Staff Last Updated Aug 2, 2024 2291 views this year

Large Collections

Some websites provide access to newspapers and magazines from all over the world and do not fit the geographic categorization below. They are often a good place to start.

Historical Jewish Press
- This link opens in a new window
"This site contains a collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. We display digital versions of each paper, making it possible to view the papers in their original layout. Full-text search is also available for all content published over the course of each newspaper’s publication."
Union List of Digitized Jewish Historic Newspapers, Periodicals and e-Journals
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive list of titles from all over the world, including both freely available websites and sites that require subscriptions (many of which, IUB affiliates can access through IUCAT). Inclusive dates are between the 17th century and the present, with bulk dates in the 19th and 20th centuries.

American Israelite (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
- This link opens in a new window
Digital access to the longest-running English-language Jewish newspaper still published in the United States.
The newspaper's two goals were to spread the principles of Reform Judaism, and to keep American Jews in touch with Jewish affairs and their religious identity.

American Jewess
- This link opens in a new window
"The American Jewess (1895-1899) described itself as "the only magazine in the world devoted to the interests of Jewish women." It was the first English-language periodical targeted to American Jewish women, covering an evocative range of topics that ranged from women's place in the synagogue to whether women should ride bicycles."

Jewish Exponent (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper focused on developments in Israel, efforts to rescue Jews the world over from repressive regimes, and the ever-expanding role of Jewish people in American public life.
The Jewish Exponent garnered honors each year from the American Jewish Press Association for excellence in Jewish journalism for its news, features, reviews and commentary.
Index to Jewish Periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
Jewish history, activity and thought.
The Index to Jewish Periodicals provides indexing to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Titles include such journals as Contemporary Jewry, Holy Land Studies, Jewish Culture & History, Journal of Palestine Studies, Studies in American Jewish Literature. Most references in the Index are not found in other guides to periodical literature. The database is intended for those interested in Jewish thought and contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs. Coverage of journals dates as far back as 1988.

Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project
- This link opens in a new window
"The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project makes available more than one hundred years of Jewish newspapers published in Pittsburgh. Digitized page images capture daily life in Pittsburgh from the 1890s to 2010, with particular focus on Jewish communities. Life-cycle events, synagogue and organizational activities, arts, entertainment, and sports events are presented in detail. The collection offers extensive coverage of local, national, and international news, often from a perspective largely missing from the mainstream press."

Centralna Biblioteka Judaistyczna / Central Jewish Library
- This link opens in a new window
Large collection of digitized newspapers and magazines from Eastern Europe. Most are in Yiddish, Hebrew, German, or Polish.

Compact Memory: Internetarchiv juedischer Periodika
- This link opens in a new window
German-Jewish periodicals published between 1806 and 1938
This project offers the most comprehensive collection of German-Jewish periodicals on on the web. These periodicals are reflective of religious and political controversies within the German-Jewish community during the 19th and 20th centuries, and offer insight into the social and cultural history of Jews in Germany.

DigiBaeck - Digital Collections at the Leo Baeck Institute
- This link opens in a new window
Includes over 400 periodicals, some of which are newspapers or magazines. Most are in German.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
- This link opens in a new window
FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world
The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Many of these materials are first-hand reports of events as they occurred. As such, the FBIS Daily Reports constitutes an archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news.

FBIS Daily Reports is comprised of the reports from Middle East and [North] Africa (MEA), 1974-1987; Near East and South Asia (NES), 1987-1996; South Asia (SAS), 1980-1987; Sub-Saharan Africa (SSA), 1974-1980 and (AFR), 1987-1996; China (CHI), 1974-1996; Asia and the Pacific (APA), 1974-1987; East Asia (EAS), 1987-1996; Latin America (LAT and LAM), 1974-1996; Eastern Europe (EEU), 1974-1996; Soviet Union/Central Eurasia (SOV), 1974-1996; Western Europe (WEU), 1974-1996.

The IUB Libraries' Government Information, Maps and Microform Services (East Tower 2, or ET2), located on the 2nd floor of the Herman B Wells Library at 10th and Jordan, received these reports as part of the Federal Depository Library Program on microfiche. Feel free to contact ET2 staff regarding reports not yet available on this full text database, for earlier and later reports, and about related federal documents (including Congressional and Department of State documents).

The Jewish Chronicle
- This link opens in a new window
The London-based Jewish Chronicle was founded in 1841 and is the oldest continuously published Jewish newspaper. Note that some content on the website, including the archives, requires a subscription or payment. Issues from 1845 to 1949 are available on microfilm.

Arutz Sheva/Israel National News
Call Number: E-resource

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
- This link opens in a new window
FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world
The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Many of these materials are first-hand reports of events as they occurred. As such, the FBIS Daily Reports constitutes an archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news.

FBIS Daily Reports is comprised of the reports from Middle East and [North] Africa (MEA), 1974-1987; Near East and South Asia (NES), 1987-1996; South Asia (SAS), 1980-1987; Sub-Saharan Africa (SSA), 1974-1980 and (AFR), 1987-1996; China (CHI), 1974-1996; Asia and the Pacific (APA), 1974-1987; East Asia (EAS), 1987-1996; Latin America (LAT and LAM), 1974-1996; Eastern Europe (EEU), 1974-1996; Soviet Union/Central Eurasia (SOV), 1974-1996; Western Europe (WEU), 1974-1996.

The IUB Libraries' Government Information, Maps and Microform Services (East Tower 2, or ET2), located on the 2nd floor of the Herman B Wells Library at 10th and Jordan, received these reports as part of the Federal Depository Library Program on microfiche. Feel free to contact ET2 staff regarding reports not yet available on this full text database, for earlier and later reports, and about related federal documents (including Congressional and Department of State documents).

Ha'aretz
Call Number: E-resource
Recent issues of the Hebrew edition are also received and kept in the Wells Library Reference Reading Room.
Jerusalem Post
Call Number: E-resource
Early issues available on microfilm. Continues the Palestine Post, also available on microfilm.
Ma'ariv
Call Number: E-resource
Times of Israel
Call Number: E-resource

Jewish Studies

Librarian for History, Jewish Studies, and Religious Studies

Overview

Large Collections

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

Jewish Studies

Overview

Large Collections

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries