Library of Congress Subject Headings:
- Anti-Nazi Movement
- Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) [as well as subheadings for each country, form of expression, and "aspect" (e.g. sociological, political)] (see examples below as well as this search for Holocaust sources)
- Holocaust Denial
- Holocaust Memorials
- Holocaust Survivors
- Germany--Politics and government--1933-1945.
- Germany--History--1933-1945.
- Jews--Germany--History--1933-1945.
- Jews--Persecutions--Germany.
- National Socialism
- World War, 1939-1945
- World War, 1939-1945--Concentration Camps
- Basic Bibliography of the Holocaust (Yad Vashem)Comprehensive and current, this bibliography is subdivided into various Holocaust-related topics and includes about four to twenty-five books on each topic.
- Bibliography of Holocaust Literature byCall Number: Wells Library - Stacks -- Z6374.H6 E33 1986 (a second copy with the same call number is in the Wells Library Reference Reading Room)ISBN: 081337233XPublication Date: 1986-11-09This is a massive, if dated, bibliography of English-language materials on the Holocaust. It includes an author index, introductory essays, and some annotations. See also the Edelheits' supplement, with 6,500 additional entries, published in 1990.
- The Columbia Guide to the Holocaust byCall Number: E-book, also available in print: Wells Library - Stacks -- D804.3 .N54 2000ISBN: 9780231505901Publication Date: 2000This invaluable resource provides a multidimensional survey of the Holocaust, essentially integrating five separate books into one comprehensive reference tool: a historical overview; a guide to Holocaust controversies; an A-to-Z encyclopedia of people, places, and terms; a chronology; and a comprehensive resource guide. Whether used separately for their individual merits or approached as an integrated whole, the five sections of this informative volume constitute an indispensable contribution to the study of the Holocaust.
- European Jewish Research ArchiveA free-to-use and comprehensive repository of social research on European Jews since 1990.
- The Oryx Holocaust Sourcebook byCall Number: Wells Library - Reference Reading Room -- Z6374.H6 F47 2002ISBN: 1573562955Publication Date: 2002-05-30The Oryx Holocaust Sourcebook provides a comprehensive selection of high quality resources in the field of Holocaust studies. The Sourcebook's 17 chapters cover general reference works; narrative histories; monographs in the social sciences; fiction, drama, and poetry; books for children and young adults; periodicals; primary sources; electronic resources in various formats; audiovisual materials; photographs; music; film and video; educational and teaching materials; and information on organizations, museums, and memorials. In addition, each chapter begins with a concise overview essay.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Jewish Studies
An extensive bibliography compiled by scholars in Jewish Studies and related fields.
- RAMBI Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
Selective bibliography of academic articles covering all of the fields of Jewish studies as well as the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel. RAMBI is based largely on the collections of the National Library of Israel. Includes references to articles in Hebrew, Latin, or Cyrillic letters.
- United States Holocaust Memorial Museum BibliographiesThe bibliographies "list only materials that are in the Museum Library’s collection or available online. They are not meant to be exhaustive. In most cases, annotations are provided to help the user determine each item’s focus, and call numbers for the Museum’s Library are given in parentheses following each citation."
See also the general Background, Encyclopedias, and Dictionaries page
- Children of the Holocaust byCall Number: E-bookISBN: 9781440868535Publication Date: 2020This important reference work highlights a number of disparate themes relating to the experience of children during the Holocaust, showing their vulnerability and how some heroic people sought to save their lives amid the horrors perpetrated by the Nazi regime. In addition to more than 125 entries, this book features 10 illuminating primary source documents, ranging from personal accounts to Nazi statements regarding what the fate of Jewish children should be to statements from refugee leaders considering how to help Jewish children after World War II ended.
- The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life Before and During the Holocaust byCall Number: Wells Library - Reference Reading Room -- DS135.E8 E45 2001ISBN: 0814793568Publication Date: 2001-07-01"Today throughout much of Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, only fragmentary remnants of once thriving Jewish communities can be found as evidence of more than two thousand years of vibrant Jewish presence among the nations of the world. These communities, many of them ancient, were systematically destroyed by Hitler's forces during the Holocaust. Yet each of their stories-from small village enclaves to large urban centers-is unique in its details and represents one of the countless intertwined threads that comprise the rich tapestry of Jewish history. The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life before and during the Holocaust captures these lost images. In three volumes, it chronicles the people, habits and customs of more than 6,500 Jewish communities that thrived during the early part of the twentieth century only to be changed irrevocably by the war."
- Encyclopedia of the Holocaust byCall Number: Wells Library - Reference Reading Room -- D804.25 .E53 2000ISBN: 0816043337Publication Date: 2000Written in association with Yad Vashem, this encyclopedia features eight essays on the Holocaust on such topics as the history of European Jewry, Jewish achievements and contributions to European culture, and the rise of antisemitism.
- The Holocaust: an Encyclopedia and Document Collection [4 Volumes] byCall Number: E-book, also available in print: Wells Library - Undergraduate Services - Core Collection -- D804.25 .H655 2017ISBN: 9781440840845Publication Date: 2017This four-volume set provides reference entries, primary documents, and personal accounts from individuals who lived through the Holocaust that allow readers to better understand the cultural, political, and economic motivations that spurred the Final Solution.
- Holocaust Encyclopedia
An encyclopedia with extra features concerning the Holocaust and the principal figures involved.
- The Holocaust Encyclopedia byCall Number: E-book, also available in print: Wells Library - Reference Reading Room -- D804.25 .H66 2001ISBN: 0300084323Publication Date: 2001The Holocaust has been the subject of countless books, works of art, and memorials. Fifty-five years after the fact the world still ponders the enormity of this disaster. The Holocaust Encyclopedia is the only comprehensive single-volume work of reference providing both a reflective overview of the subject and abundant detail concerning major events, policy decisions, cities, and individuals.
- Holocaust Survivors byCall Number: Wells Library - Undergraduate Services - Core Collection -- D804.3 .T34 2007ISBN: 9780313336768Publication Date: 2007Although there are more and more Holocaust memoirs on the market, this essential collection is the first to present such a large number of biographical profiles of survivors for a broad readership. Holocaust Survivors: A Biographical Dictionary comprises 278 entries on more than 500 survivors of the World War II genocide. The profiles, averaging 500 words, are mostly of Jews, both individuals and family members, from throughout Europe. Organized alphabetically, the essays cover their background, circumstances and ordeals during the war, aftermath, and life achievements, including family and career. Most are on ordinary people who have extraordinary life stories.
- Modern Genocide: Understanding Causes and Consequences
Presents comprehensive information and documents on modern genocide, focusing on the beginning of the 20th century to the present day.
- Perpetrating the Holocaust: Leaders, Enablers, and Collaborators byCall Number: E-book, also available in print:ISBN: 9781440858970Publication Date: 2019Weaving together a number of disparate themes relating to Holocaust perpetrators, this book shows how Nazi Germany propelled a vast number of Europeans to try to re-engineer the population base of the continent through mass murder.
- The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945, Volume I byCall Number: E-book, also available in print: Wells Library - Stacks -- D805.A2 U55 2009ISBN: 9780253353283Publication Date: 2009The Nazis and their allies ran more than 44,000 camps, ghettos, and other sites of detention, persecution, forced labor, and murder during the Holocaust. Few people know about the breadth of the Nazi camp system and the conditions in those places—including the broad range of prisoner experiences. The Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933–1945, aims to answer basic questions about as many of those sites as possible.
As of July 2020, three of the expected seven volumes have been published. Volumes I and II are available for free from the US Holocaust Memorial Museum. The link above goes to the IUCAT record for volume I. Here are the links for volume II and volume III.
See also the Newspapers, Periodicals, and Newsmedia page
Freely Available Websites:
- Guide to Holocaust WebsitesList created by Professor Mark Roseman. Largely primary sources, but also many secondary sources.
- AHEYM: The Archive of Historical and Ethnographic Yiddish MemoriesThe Archives of Historical and Ethnographic Yiddish Memories (AHEYM—the acronym means "homeward" in Yiddish) includes approximately 800 hours of Yiddish-language interviews with 350 individuals, most of whom were born between 1900 and 1930. The interviews were conducted in Ukraine, Romania, Moldova, Hungary, and Slovakia. The interviews include: linguistic and dialectological data; oral histories of Jewish life in Eastern Europe; Holocaust testimonials; musical performances (including Yiddish folk songs, liturgical and Hasidic melodies, and macaronic songs); folklore, including anecdotes, jokes, stories, children's ditties, folk remedies, and Purim plays; reflections on contemporary Jewish life in the region, and; guided tours by local residents of sites of Jewish memory in the region.
- Arolsen ArchivesThe Arolsen Archives are an international center on Nazi persecution with the world’s most comprehensive archive on the victims and survivors of National Socialism. The collection has information on about 17.5 million people and belongs to UNESCO’s Memory of the World. It contains documents on the various victim groups targeted by the Nazi regime and is an important source of knowledge for society today.
- Duane Mezga Holocaust Sites Photograph CollectionThe Duane Mezga Holocaust Sites photograph collection consists of 682 digitized Kodachrome 64 color slides. Almost all of the photographs were taken in 1992, of concentration camps and other historically significant sites related to the Holocaust. Twenty-one sites in Austria, then-Czechoslovakia, Germany, the Netherlands, and Poland are included. The photographs were taken using the progressive-realization technique, which captures the experience of walking through a site. Memorials present at these sites were a focus of the documentation.
- Holocaust Denial on TrialDocuments the trial of David Irving v. Penguin Books Ltd. and Deborah Lipstadt.
- Nuremberg Trials ProjectThe Harvard Law School Library's Nuremberg Trials Project is an open-access initiative to create and present digitized images or full-text versions of the Library's Nuremberg documents, descriptions of each document, and general information about the trials.
- Pogrom: November 1938--Testimonies from Kristallnacht (Wiener Library)In the months following November 1938, Alfred Wiener and his colleagues at the Central Jewish Information Office in Amsterdam collected over 350 contemporary testimonies and reports of the November Pogrom in Germany and Austria. These documents are now available here, for the first time in English.
- Simon Wiesenthal Center Digital ArchivesThe Digital Archives images are owned by the Simon Wiesenthal Center Library and Archives. The Archives database and low-resolution images are available here.
- United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Digitized CollectionsIncludes interviews, objects, newspapers, books, and many other types of material. You can also limit results based on events, cities, camps, and ghettos.
- Yad Vashem Documents ArchiveIncludes posters, personal documentation, official documentation, lists, letters, memoirs, testimonies, diaries, and legal documentation. Advanced search allows you to limit results to English-language documents.
- Yizkor Books at the New York Public LibraryYizkor (memorial) books document Jewish communities destroyed in the Holocaust. Most yizkor books are in Hebrew and/or Yiddish. Most are available for download.
Databases
- Conditions & Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945Features full-text documents received in the British Foreign Office from all European states under Nazi occupation during World War II.
- Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust TestimoniesThe Fortunoff Archive and its affiliates recorded the testimonies of willing individuals with first-hand experience of the Nazi persecutions, including those who were in hiding, survivors, bystanders, resistants, and liberators. Note the Fortunoff Video Archive critical editions series.
PLEASE NOTE: To access users need to create an account and submit a request.
To create an account select Log In, and then Join Now. Users will then receive a confirmation email.
Login and then enter a search term. Click on a testimony in the search results and request access. Please note that records truncate last names of those who gave testimony to protect their privacy. If you are looking for a specific person’s testimony, either shorten their last name to the first initial (“Eva B.”) or contact the archive directly. You only need to request access to one testimony to obtain viewing access for the entire collection.
Once the approval email is received, users may view testimonies. A browser refresh may be necessary. - German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941
Digital access to 170 German-language titles of books and pamphlets. The collection presents anti-Semitism as an issue in politics, economics, religion, and education.
- Human Rights Studies Online
Human Rights Studies Online is a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010.
- Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996
Digital archive covering all aspects of 20th-century human migration. includes firsthand accounts from reputable sources around the world, covering such important events as post-World War II Jewish resettlement, South African apartheid, Latin American migrations to the United States and much more.
- Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950
An archive of primary source documents, covering the repatriation and emigration of the Displaced Persons and survivors of the Holocaust and World War II.
- USC Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive
The USC Shoah Foundation’s Visual History Archive allows users to search through and view the 51,537 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide currently available in the Archive that were conducted in 61 countries and 39 languages. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China and the 1994 Rwandan Tutsi Genocide. Please note: authorized IUB users may register for an account with their iu.edu email address. Users must accept vendor terms of use to complete registration process.
- Testaments to the Holocaust : Documents and Rare Printed Materials from the Wiener Library, London
Digital access to the archives of the Wiener Library, London, the first archive to collect evidence of the Holocaust and the anti-semitic activities of the German Nazi Party.
- U.S. relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950
Digital access to correspondence, reports and analyses, memos of conversations, and personal interviews exploring such themes as U.S.-Vatican relations, Vatican’s role in World War II, Jewish refugees, Italian anti-Jewish laws during the papacy of Pius XII, and the pope’s personal knowledge of the treatment of European Jews.
Books/Microfilm
- America and the Holocaust : a thirteen-volume set documenting the editor's book The abandonment of the Jews byCall Number: Auxiliary Library Facility - D804.3 .A47 1989ISBN: 0824045424Publication Date: 1989-1991Documents supporting Wyman's book Abandonment of the Jews: America and the Holocaust, 1941-1945
- Archives of the Holocaust : an international collection of selected documents byCall Number: Wells Library - Research Coll. - D810.J4 A73Publication Date: 1989-Contains reproductions of files and documents from a number of relief and charitable organizations dealing with the plight of the Jews during the 1930s and 1940s.
- Testaments to the Holocaust. Series one, Archives of the Wiener Library, London [microform] byCall Number: Wells Library - Microforms - LC Film -- D804.3 .T468 ser. 1Publication Date: 1998This collection contains four distinct types of material: 1. Eyewitness accounts; 2. Rare photographs; 3. Nazi propaganda materials; 4. Limited-circulation publications and rare printed serials.
The more than 1,200 unpublished eyewitness accounts contained in this indispensable collection allow the voices of the Nazi persecution victims to speak out in their own words. - Testaments to the Holocaust. Series three, The Henriques Archive from the Wiener Library, London [microform] byCall Number: Wells Library - Microforms - LC Film -- D804.19 .T48Publication Date: 2000This collection comprises the working papers of Rose Henriques from 1945 to 1950, and offers extraordinary insights into the life of Jewish Holocaust survivors and their first steps back into life and community.
Trial of the Major War Criminals Before the International Military Tribunal [e-book] by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 0404536506Publication Date: 1947-01-01Trial against H.W. Göring, R. Hess, J. von Ribbentrop, R. Ley, W. Keitel, E. Kaltenbrunner, A. Rosenberg, H. Frank, W. Frick, J. Streicher, W. Funk, H. Schacht, G. Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach, K. Dönitz, E. Raeder, B. von Schirach, F. Sauckel, A. Jodl, M. Bormann, F. von Papen, A. Seyss-Inquart, A. Speer, C. von Neurath, and H. Fritzsche, individually and as members of any groups or organizations to which they belonged.
Includes bibliographical references.
"Documents admitted in evidence are printed only in their original language."- The trial of German major war criminals by the International Military Tribunal sitting at Nuremberg, Germany [e-book] byCall Number: E-bookPublication Date: 1946-1951
Genocide Studies InternationalCall Number: Electronic resource- Genocide Studies and Prevention: An International JournalCall Number: Electronic resource
Holocaust and Genocide StudiesCall Number: Electronic resource
Journal of Genocide ResearchCall Number: Electronic resource