South Asian Studies

Filmakers Library Online provides access to more than 1,500 online streaming titles from the award-winning distributor Filmakers Library. New releases will be added as made available.

Based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the British Film Institute (BFI) over the past 70 years. Coverage ranges from the earliest silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters. It indexes films from over 170 countries. Film records include information on the director, full cast and crew lists, year of release and production information. Credits, awards and a synopsis are also included. Person records include biographical information, awards received, and a complete list of the films. References to film journals are also cited in many film and person records.

Includes films by many of the world’s leading contemporary directors, such as Andrei Zvyagintsev, Koji Wakamatsu, Wong Kar-Wai, and Jean-Luc Godard. All the films were shown at major festivals. Many were nominated and a large number have won major awards. Twilight Samurai (2002), directed by Yôji Yamada, The Scent of Green Papaya (1993), directed by Tran Anh Hung, and Dogtooth (2009), directed by Yorgos Lanthimos, were all Oscar®-nominated. The Cannes Grand Jury Prize went to The Piano Teacher (2001), directed by Michael Haneke. Collectively, the films in the collection have won more than 1,000 awards.

World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Upon completion, the collection will contain 1,000 hours of streaming video that offers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.