South and Southeast Asian Studies Librarian
About the South Asian Studies Collection at IU
The South Asian Studies collection at Indiana University supports the Dhar India Studies Program within the Hamilton Lugar School of Global and International Studies, as well as other relevant research and instruction across IUB. Resources are collected primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Historically, there is an emphasis on language and literature in Hindi and Sanskrit, and on the contemporary history of India.
Sanskrit, Hindi, Urdu, and Bengali are regularly taught and supported through library acquisitions, with growing collections in Tamil.
All formats are collected of both primary and secondary materials, including e-books, dvds, and videos. Use IUCAT to search for these materials. We also have growing special collections related to South Asian film. Please see the South Asian Cinema guide for more information.
Listings in this guide include our key South Asia-specific resources. For other disciplinary resources, please visit the appropriate guide, as those resources may include material relevant to South Asia. For example, the ProQuest Political Science database includes sources useful to research in South Asian Studies, even though it is not wholly devoted to that area.
Starting Points for Research in SAS
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
This link opens in a new window
Western-language bibliographical database for research on East, Southeast and South Asia. Published by the Association for Asian Studies, it covers all subjects with special focus on the humanities and social sciences.
- CRL Library Catalog
This link opens in a new window
Online catalog of the Center for Research Libraries.
- HathiTrust Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
Shared digital library created and designed by partnership of major research libraries.
- South Asia Open Archives (SAOA) | Print
- This link opens in a new window
Curated collection of open access historical and contemporary sources in arts, humanities and social sciences, from and about South Asia, in English and other languages of the region.
- CrossAsiaCrossAsia offers access to research information for humanities and social sciences from Asian countries and about Asia.
- Digital South Asia LibraryThe Digital South Asia Library provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia to scholars, public officials, business leaders, and other users.
OneSearch@IU: A Great Starting Place
OneSearch@IU searches most of the Libraries' databases. It is a great place to start your research.
Direct access at: libraries.indiana.edu/databases/onesearch
More databases can be found on the Libraries homepage under the "Research" tab or the "Featured Databases" located at the bottom of the page.