Bibliography
Article
- "With These Hands: The Rebirth of the American Craftsman (1970)" by Mina Warchavchik Hugerth (2021)
- This essay documents the making of the film With These Hands and contextualizes its presentation of the artists included as a form of performative living with craft at its center.
Digital collections
- American Craft Council Library & Archives Digital Collections
- An open-access online compendium containing thousands of unique images, documents, and media, the ACC Digital Collections detail the history of contemporary craft in America.
Materials from IU Libraries
-
Crafting Modernism: midcentury American art and design
by
Call Number: NK808.C72 2011ISBN: 9780810984806Publication Date: 2011This book is an in-depth examination of the American studio craft movement in the decades following World War II, with a focus on the major mediums (clay, wood, fiber, metal, jewelry, and glass) favored by the greatest craftspeople of the period. -
Craft in the Machine Age, 1920-1945: the history of twentieth-century American craft
by
Call Number: NK808 .C69 1995ISBN: 0810919680Publication Date: 1995This book explores the shift from the handmade objects of the Arts and Crafts Movement to the streamlined, geometric forms of modernism. -
Craft shops, galleries, USA; a directory of shops, galleries & studios selling United States crafts
by
Call Number: NK805 .A515ISBN: 0883210010Publication Date: 1973 -
Makers: a history of American studio craft
by
ISBN: 9780807834138Publication Date: 2010This book follows the development of studio craft objects in fiber, clay, glass, wood, and metal from its roots in nineteenth-century reform movements to the rich diversity of expression at the end of the twentieth century. -
Objects: USA 2020
by
Call Number: NK808.A33 2020ISBN: 1580935737Publication Date: 2020This exhibition catalog is an art historical reference that traces how craft was elevated to the status of museum-quality art, and sets its trajectory forward. -
-
Tradition and Change: the new American craftsman
by
Call Number: NK808 .H27 1977ISBN: 0525221956Publication Date: 1977 -
Unpacking the Collection
by
Call Number: TT6.U6 P67 2008ISBN: 9780972898133Publication Date: 2010This book presents a selection of works from the collection of the Museum of Contemporary Craft.
