Bibliography
Article
- "Conversations with Indiana Potters: Karl Martz" in Indiana Potters (Summer 1991)
- In this article, Karl discusses his life, pottery practice, and teaching career at Indiana University.
Digital collections
- American Craft Council Library & Archives Digital Collections
- An open-access online compendium containing thousands of unique images, documents, and media, the ACC Digital Collections detail the history of contemporary craft in America.
- Ball State Digital Media Repository
- This repository contains several exhibition catalogs and newspaper clippings featuring Karl.
- IU Digital Collections
- This repository contain several photographs and Indiana Daily Student newspapers featuring Karl.
Website
- MartzPots.org
- This website was created by Karl Martz's son, Eric Martz, and includes information on Karl Martz and Becky Brown and their work. The site also includes many photographs of Martz's and Brown's artwork.
Materials from IU Libraries
-
Clay Times Three: the tale of three Nashville, Indiana, potteries: Brown County Pottery, Martz Potteries, Brown County Hills Pottery
by
ISBN: 9780253355898Publication Date: 2010This book showcases industrious potters, decorators, and shop owners who made their living in Nashville, Indiana from the Great Depression to the 1980s. -
Karl Martz, potter: retrospective, 1977: [exhibition] Indiana University Art Museum, Bloomington, Indiana
Call Number: NK4210.M287 A4 1977Publication Date: 1977This is an exhibition catalog for a 1977 retrospective of Karl Martz's work. -
Pots I
by
Call Number: NK4210.M287 A4 1970Publication Date: 1970This book is a record of Karl Martz's ceramic works from 1960 to 1970.
-
Karl Martz papers, 1949-1992
Call Number: Collection C360This collection consists of correspondence, exhibition and teaching material, and most prominently, notebooks compiled by Martz relating to the chemistry of ceramics.
Articles
- "Mashiko Ware" by Yokobori Satoshi, Google Arts & Culture
- This article discusses the history of Mashiko Ware and the Mingei movement. It features objects by Hamada Shōji, Seto Hiroshi, and Shimaoka Tatsuzō.
- "Mashiko: Japan’s Living Legacy of Folk Craft" by Liliana Morais, Museum of Ceramic Art New York (November 2024)
- This article discusses the history of Mashiko as a pottery center and includes contemporary photographs of the town.
- "The Transition Of The Artisan-potter To The Artist-potter In Mashiko, A Folkware Kiln Site In Japan" by Ann Sommer Holmes (1982)
- This article discusses Mashiko pottery and the town's role as a folkware kiln site, utilizing oral history interviews with Mashiko potters conducted between 1969 and 1973. It includes interviews with Sakuma Tōtarō, Seto Hiroshi, and Shimaoka Tatsuzō, in addition to photographs of the potters.
Websites
- Japan Folk Crafts Museum
- Kondo Museum
- Mashiko Museum of Ceramic Art
- Mingei Film Archive
- Shoji Hamada Memorial Mashiko Sankokan Museum
Materials from IU Libraries
-
Japanese Mingei Folk Crafts
by
ISBN: 4805317310Publication Date: 2024This book offers an illustrated guide to Japan's rich folk craft traditions. See pages 90-91 for information on Mashiko Ware. -
Kingdom of Beauty
by
ISBN: 9780822339830Publication Date: 2007This book shows that the discovery of mingei (folk art) by Japanese intellectuals in the 1920s and 1930s was central to the complex process by which Japan became both a modern nation and an imperial world power.
