Skip to Main Content
Libraries Indiana University Bloomington

Studio Craft at Indiana University

Art Practice

Budd Stalnaker worked in fiber arts. He created architectural hangings, tapestries, rugs, and other textile works. Budd's Magenta Cartouche was featured in the Objects: USA exhibition of 1969. Two of Budd's commissioned works are shown in the collection, including Autumn Prayer Mat for Fort Wayne's First Presbyterian Church and Punch Card Tapestry for the Upjohn Company.

  • 3 Midwestern Craftsmen: Ann Singer, Mary Walker, Budd Stalnaker, Art Institute of Chicago, Chicago, IL, 1967
  • Fabrications, Cranbrook Academy of Art Galleries, Bloomfield Hills, MI, 1972
  • The Collector, American Craft Museum, NYC, 1974
  • Art in Modern Handicrafts, Museum of Art, Carnegie Institute, Pittsburgh, PA, 1979

To view other artwork by Stalnaker, see these websites:

Selected works from collection

White, woven wall hanging including circle filled with a checkerboard pattern.

"H.T.G. The Circle and Other Forces"

Indiana University Archives

Red and white, striped, woven basket with radiating strings attached to top edge.

"Basket Form"

Indiana University Archives

White, rectangular, woven rug partially covered by multicolored checkerboard pattern.

"Aaron's Prayer Mat"

Indiana University Archives

Red and yellow three-dimensional textile hanging.

"Study Form"

Indiana University Archives

Red and white, square, woven wall hanging with circle at center.

"Penland Sun"

Indiana University Archives

Yellow, three-dimensional, woven textile hanging suspended from ceiling.

"Flying Form II"

Indiana University Archives