Skip to Main Content
Libraries Indiana University Bloomington

Map Collections

Herman B Wells Library Map Collections

Introduction

Herman B Wells Library Map Collection

The Wells Library map collection at Indiana University Bloomington is the largest in the state of Indiana. We hold maps from nearly every country in the world, with particular strengths in Russia and Eastern Europe, the African Continent, and the state of Indiana. We are located on the 2nd floor of the East Tower in the Wells Library, and maps are available to view by appointment.

This guide will highlight some of our collections and try to answer some common question about maps. Visit About the Collection page for more information about the scope of our collection, and view the tabs on the left for information about specific map series. For more help, feel free to contact libmaps@iu.edu any time.

 

Map Librarian

As the Map and Spatial Data Librarian, I am responsible for collecting, managing, and promoting the Herman B Wells Library Map Collection. You can learn more about me and my research on my libraries' profile page.

 I can help you...

  • Find a map! Our vast collection has something for everyone, but knowing where to look can be a challenge. Please email me for assistance or to set up a time to view the collection. 
  • Teach with maps. Print maps offer an engaging and rich primary source experience for students. I love teaching with the map collection, and am available for class visits as well as to design lectures, activities, and assignments using the map collection for your class. 
  • Acquire a map. Use this form to suggest a purchase of maps or spatial data for the library.

 

What about GIS?

GIS stands for "Geographical Information System" and refers to the practice of using map (spatial) data to investigate and understand the world. Everything from weather maps on the local news to studies of population migrations over time are examples of how GIS data can be used.

IU Libraries provides support for GIS research, including data sources, training workshops, and consultations. Find out more about GIS at the library on our GIS Research Guide.