Library Research Guides: M539 Intro to Bibliography: Encyclopedias

Why use encyclopedias?

Encyclopedias provide short, readable entries so that you can gain facts and a general overview of a topic.

Sometimes an entry's bibliography can lead you to more sources about your topic.

Encyclopedias for Music

Oxford Music Online (Grove) This link opens in a new window
Includes access to Grove Music Online, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music. Comprehensive resource covering all musical topics.
Encyclopaedia Brittanica This link opens in a new window
The online equivalent of the printed Encyclopedia Britannica and more. A fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of recent articles not found in the print Britannica. Thousands of illustrations; references to biographies, geography and yearbooks are available.
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Comprehensive online encyclopedia devoted to world music research. Contains the full text of the 10-volume print encyclopedia with associated audio tracks, musical illustrations, photographs, drawings, song texts, score examples, charts, and maps.
First published in 1997, The Garland Encyclopedia has been the preeminent reference work for research in world music. Includes more than 9,000 pages of material and 300 audio recordings, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors.

M539 Intro to Bibliography