Search the RISM online catalog
Search the print volumes of RISM in the Reference section of the music library:
View RISM entries below
Review the RISM slideshow from class
Digital Resources for Musicology
"provides links to substantial open-access projects of use to musicians and musicologists."
Index to Opera and Ballet Sources Online
"Opera & Ballet Primary Sources (OBPS) is one of the most recent and ambitious endeavours to make sources related to opera, ballet and other genres of music theatre easily accessible to scholars. The project focuses in particular on performance materials: libretti, ballet scenarios, scores in various formats, mise-en-scène documents, and programme announcements."
Music Treasures Consortium (hosted by Library of Congress)
"The Music Treasures Consortium is an alliance of many libraries with holdings of unique music resources, including music manuscripts, prints, and first and early editions."
Juilliard Manuscript Collections
"Considered to be one of the finest music collections to be donated to an institution in recent years, the collection includes materials of great interest to performers and scholars. Among its highlights are the late engraver’s proof of Beethoven’s Symphony no. 9, with hundreds of markings and annotations by the composer; the original manuscript of Beethoven’s Grosse Fuge, in his arrangement for piano, 4 hands; and, the last scene of Mozart’s Le Nozze di Figaro. All of the manuscript scores and sketches have been digitized. Also available on this website are selected manuscripts from the Juilliard Library’s Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections, including scores in the Artur Rubinstein Music Collection."
This online guide prepared by music librarians at the University of Illinois gives helpful links to national and international libraries and archives
Clori , Archivio della cantata italiana
DIAMM , Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music
Gallica.fr , the digital collection of the Bibliothèque nationale de France
Internet Culturale and ICCU / SBN catalogo from Italy
Paul Sacher Foundation for Music of the 20th and 21st Centuries