How to find dissertations
The easiest way to locate dissertations is to search Proquest Dissertations Database.
You can also locate dissertations in online catalogs and within some digital repositories of universities.
Often, dissertations can be located in the music database RILM.
If you come across a citation for a dissertation, try searching Proquest Dissertations Database, then RILM, then Worldcat. If you still cannot find a dissertation, contact your librarian for assistance.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, including millions of works from thousands of universities. Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
- WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of libraries may be searched from this one catalog; Interlibrary Loan requests can also be made. - RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliography of writings about music featuring citations, abstracts and indexes. Covers nearly one and a half million publications from the early 19th century to the present on traditional music, popular music, jazz, classical music, and related subjects. Also includes full text of over 260 periodicals. New titles are added annually
- IUCAT This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Indiana University online catalog.
