Skip to Main Content
Libraries Indiana University Bloomington

HIST W335 History of Genocide

Research guide for students in Professor Mark Roseman's History of Genocide course

Develop a research question

When starting out on your research, it is important to choose a research topic that is not only of interest to you, but can also be covered effectively in the space that you have available. You may not know right away what your research question is - that's okay! Start out with a broad topic, then conduct some background research to explore possibilities and narrow your topic to something more manageable.    

Choose an interesting general topic. If you’re interested in your topic, others probably will be too! And your research will be a lot more fun. Once you have a general topic of interest, you can begin to explore more focused areas within that broad topic. 

Gather background information. Do a few quick searches in OneSearch@IU or in other relevant sources. See what other researchers have already written to help narrow your focus. 

  • What subtopics relate to the broader topic? 
  • What questions do these sources raise?
  • What piques your interest? What might you like to say about the topic? 

Consider your audience. Who would be interested in this issue? For whom are you writing? 

Adapted from: George Mason University Writing Center. (2008). How to write a research question. Retrieved from http://writingcenter.gmu.edu/writing-resources/wc-quick-guides 

Once you have done some background research and narrowed down your topic, you can begin to turn that topic into a research question that you will attempt to answer in the course of your research. 

Keep in mind that your question may change as you gather more information and as you write. However, having some sense of your direction can help you evaluate sources and identify relevant information throughout your research process. 

Explore questions.

  • Ask open-ended “how” and “why” questions about your general topic.
  • Consider the “so what?” of your topic. Why does this topic matter to you? Why should it matter to others?

Evaluate your research question. Use the following to determine if any of the questions you generated would be appropriate and workable for your assignment. 

  • Is your question clear? Do you have a specific aspect of your general topic that you are going to explore further? 
  • Is your question focused? Will you be able to cover the topic adequately in the space available? 
  • Is your question sufficiently complex? (cannot be answered with a simple yes/no response, requires research and analysis)

Hypothesize. Once you have developed your research question, consider how you will attempt to answer or address it. 

  • If you are making an argument, what will you say?
  • Why does your argument matter?
  • What kinds of sources will you need in order to support your argument?
  • How might others challenge your argument?

Adapted from: George Mason University Writing Center. (2008). How to write a research question. Retrieved from http://writingcenter.gmu.edu/writing-resources/wc-quick-guides

A good research question is clear, focused, and has an appropriate level of complexity. Developing a strong question is a process, so you will likely refine your question as you continue to research and to develop your ideas.  

Clarity

Unclear: Why are social networking sites harmful?

Clear: How are online users experiencing or addressing privacy issues on such social networking sites as TikTok and Snapchat?


Focused

Unfocused: What is the effect on the environment from global warming?

Focused: How is glacial melting affecting penguins in Antarctica?


Simple vs Complex

Too simple: How are doctors addressing diabetes in the U.S.?

Appropriately Complex:  What are common traits of those suffering from diabetes in America, and how can these commonalities be used to aid the medical community in prevention of the disease?

 
Adapted from: George Mason University Writing Center. (2008). How to write a research question. Retrieved from http://writingcenter.gmu.edu/writing-resources/wc-quick-guides

Reference sources like dictionaries and encyclopedias provide general information about various subjects. They also include definitions that may help you break down your topic and understand it better. Sources includes in these entries can be springboards for more in-depth research.

A note on citation: Reference sources are generally not cited since they usually consist of common knowledge (e.g. who was the first United States President).  But if you're unsure whether to cite something it's best to do so. Specific pieces of information and direct quotes should always be cited. 

Source use

Common Reasons to Use Sources
If you find yourself including quotations or sources merely to back up your argument or to fulfill an assignment requirement, remember the intended purpose of sources and citation:

  • Show how your voice enters into an intellectual conversation
  • Communicate your understanding of an issue and your credibility 
  • Inspire and enrich your own ideas 
  • Acknowledge the work of others
  • Connect readers to related research

Adapted from Yale College Writing Center's "Using Sources" webpage. 

Key Questions to Ask:

  • How is this source being used in this context?
  • How might I use the source for my own purposes?
  • What other types of sources will I need?

The BEAM “rhetorical vocabulary” describes four different ways to use sources in a research assignment. 

Background sources

Some sources provide general information or factual evidence about a topic that can be used to provide context. 

e.g., encyclopedia article, dictionary definition 

Exhibits (examples) or Evidence sources

These sources contain material that the author analyzes or interprets. Often, these sources are used to provide an example of, or support for, the argument that the author is trying to make. 

e.g., literary or artistic works, field observations, scientific specimens, contemporary reviews, historical documents

Argument sources

These sources are used to provide examples of the discussions and conversations going on among scholars within the field. Often, a writer will either support or refute the arguments that other scholars are making, or else discuss how those individual arguments contribute to the broader conversations surrounding the topic. 

e.g., scholarly articles, opinion pieces

Method/theory sources

These sources provide general concepts, theories, or procedures that the writer adopted to carry out his or her research. 

e.g., references to theories/methods used by the author (e.g., feminism, New Historicism/ direct observation, mixed methods)

Based on: Bizup, J. (2008). “BEAM: A rhetorical vocabulary for teaching research-based writing.” Rhetoric Review 27, 1: 72–86.

Image: Stephen Francoeur on Flickr. 

Primary sources

Primary Sources provide direct or first-hand evidence about an event, object, person or work of art.

  • Usually contemporary to the events and people described
  • May be written and non-written
  • Examples include:
    • diaries
    • works of art and literature
    • speeches
    • audio and video recordings
    • photographs and posters
    • newspaper ads and stories
    • laws and legislative hearings
    • plant and animal specimens
    • original research studies

Secondary Sources lack the immediacy of a primary record.

  • Produced sometime after an event happened
  • Contain information that has been interpreted, analyzed or processed
  • Often based on primary sources
  • Examples:
    • history textbooks
    • interpretive journal articles
    • book reviews 

These names for primary source types can also be used for keyword searching:

  • Anecdotes
  • Archives
  • Biography
  • Caricatures
  • Cartoons
  • Case studies
  • Catalogs
  • Comic books
  • Correspondence
  • Diaries
  • Documentary films
  • Exhibitions
  • Interviews
  • Manuscripts
  • Maps
  • Photography
  • Portraits
  • Sketchbooks
  • Songs (or music)
  • Speeches
  • Statistics

 

1. Choose a relevant database or digital collection to search. 

2. Enter relevant keywords.

3. If possible, limit search by publication date and format (e.g., book reviews, photographs).
(Many databases have this option.)

4. Consult a librarian for recommended databases and resources.

Cite sources

Quick Style Guides

Full Style Manuals
Most citation questions can be answered with the quick guides above. For more specific questions, refer to these full manuals, or consult a librarian.

Citation managers format references in the style you choose (e.g., APA, MLA, Chicago). NOTE: Always check the accuracy of citations created through these tools. They can be very helpful, but may make mistakes.

IU students have free access to several citation managers (i.e., "bibliographic software"):

Scholarly vs. Popular

Criteria

Scholarly Journal

Trade Publication

Popular Magazine

Accountability

Articles usually peer-reviewed before publication by other scholars or experts in the field)

Articles evaluated by editorial staff who may be experts in the field, not peer-reviewed

Often published by commercial enterprises, though may come from specific professional organizations

Articles evaluated by editorial staff, not experts in the field.

Edited for format and style.

Audience

Scholarly researchers, faculty and students

Professionals in the field

The general public

Author

Articles are written by experts in the field.

Include author credentials.

Author affiliations listed, usually at bottom of the first page or at end of article.

Articles may be written by a member of the editorial staff, a scholar or a free lance writer.

Author is usually a professional in the field, sometimes a journalist with subject expertise.

Article may be written by a member of the editorial staff or a free lance writer.

Author is frequently a journalist paid to write articles; may or may not have subject expertise.

Content

Articles contain an abstract (descriptive summary of the article contents) before the main text of the article.

Often report original research and reviews while expanding on existing theories.

Offer critiques on previously published materials.

Report current news, trends and products in a specific industry.

Include practical information for professionals in the field or industry.

Cover news about people, organizations, new publications, conferences, and topical issues.

Articles are typically a secondary discussion of someone else's research; may include personal narrative or opinion.

Cover news, current events, hobbies or special interests.

Graphics

Illustrations are few and support the text, typically in the form of charts, graphs and maps.

Few or no advertisements.

Photographs, graphics and charts.

Trade-related advertisements targeted to professionals in the field.

Slick and attractive in appearance with color graphics.

Glossy advertisements and photographs.

Language

Specialized terminology or jargon of the field.

Assume that the reader is familiar with the subject.

Specialized terminology or jargon of the field, but not as technical as a scholarly journal.

Geared to any educated audience with interest in the field.

Short articles are written in simple language..

Language for any educated audience, does not assume familiarity with the subject matter.

Layout & Organization

Very structured.

Includes article abstract and bibliography. May include sections on methodology, results (evidence), discussion, conclusion, and bibliography.

Page numbers consecutive throughout the volume.(Example: Issue 1 will end on page 455; Issue 2 will begin on page 456.)

Informal.

Articles organized like a journal or a newsletter.

Typically use glossy paper.

Very informal.

May include non-standard formatting.

May not present supporting evidence or a conclusion.

References

Verifiable quotes and facts.

Sources cited in footnotes or  bibliographies.

Bibliographies generally lengthy, cite other scholarly writings.

Occasionally include brief bibliographies.

Not required to report any research results.

Sources sometimes cited, but not usually in footnotes or a bibliography

Information is often second- or third-hand, original source rarely mentioned.

Examples

Annals of Mathematics

Journal of Abnormal Psychology

History of Education Quarterly

International Trade Forum

Technological Horizons in Education

Psychology Today

Sports Illustrated

National Geographic

Time

 

Thesis Statements

A thesis is the main point or argument of an information source. (Many, but not all, writing assignments, require a thesis.)

A strong thesis is:  

  • Arguable: Can be supported by evidence and analysis, and can be disagreed with.
  • Unique: Says something new and interesting.
  • Concise and clear: Explained as simply as possible, but not at the expense of clarity.
  • Unified: All parts are clearly connected.
  • Focused and specific: Can be adequately and convincingly argued within the the paper, scope is not overly broad.
  • Significant: Has importance to readers, answers the question "so what?"

Research is usually vital to developing a strong thesis. Exploring sources can help you develop and refine your central point.

1. Conduct Background Research.

A strong thesis is specific and unique, so you first need knowledge of the general research topic. Background research will help you narrow your research focus and contextualize your argument in relation to other research. 

2. Narrow the Research Topic. 

Ask questions as you review sources:

  • What aspect(s) of the topic interest you most?
  • What aspect(s) of the topic interest you most?
  • What questions or concerns does the topic raise for you?  

    Example of a general research topic:  Climate change and carbon emissions
    Example of more narrow topic:  U.S. government policies on carbon emissions

3. Formulate and explore a relevant research question.  

  • Before committing yourself to a single viewpoint, formulate a specific question to explore. Consider different perspectives on the issue, and find sources that represent these varying views. Reflect on strengths and weaknesses in the sources' arguments. Consider sources that challenge these viewpoints.

    Example: What role does and should the U.S. government play in regulating carbon emissions?

4. Develop a working thesis. 

  • A working thesis has a clear focus but is not yet be fully formed. It is a good foundation for further developing a more refined argument.  

    Example: The U.S. government has the responsibility to help reduce carbon emissions through public policy and regulation. 
    This thesis has a clear focus but leaves some major questions unanswered. For example, why is regulation of carbon emissions important? Why should the government be held accountable for such regulation?

5. Continue research on the more focused topic.

Is the topic:

  • broad enough to yield sufficient sources and supporting evidence?
  • narrow enough for in-depth and focused research?
  • original enough to offer a new and meaningful perspective that will interest readers? 

6. Fine-tune the thesis.

Your thesis will probably evolve as you gather sources and ideas. If your research focus changes, you may need to re-evaluate your search strategy and to conduct additional research. This is usually a good sign of the careful thought you are putting into your work!

Example:  Because climate change, which is exacerbated by high carbon emissions, adversely affects almost all citizens, the U.S. government has the responsibility to help reduce carbon emissions through public policy and regulation.