Associate Librarian
Recommended reference works
Reference works, like dictionaries and encyclopedias, are great starting points for gaining background information and broader context. You can start here, then dig into the primary and secondary sources on the next page to use for the majority of your research.
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity (eBook) by
Genocide: the systematic annihilation of a group of people for simply being who they are, whether in ethnic, religious or social terms. It has been with us since the beginning of history. The most widely-studied and catastrophic examples are, however, historically close: the Nazi Holocaust against the Jew, ethnic cleansing in Bosnia, and tribal warfare in Rwanda. Genocide is unfortunately a key feature of the study of world history at nearly every level. The Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes against Humanity spans the globe to explain the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large. It traces the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity, profiles perpetrators and heroes, and explains international laws and law proceedings aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity at specific groups or at least punishing those who have committed such crimes.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780028658476Publication Date: 2004
Genocide (eBook) by
This book presents the background and history of genocide, the key issues associated with this worldwide crime, and the problems inherent in preventing its occurrence. * Provides a chronological timeline of genocide from 1900 to present day * Includes related content such as brief biographies of major 20th century leaders accused of genocide, bilateral immunity agreements involving the United States from 2003 to 2009, and a directory of organizations that have worked to prevent or end genocide * Addresses key issues such as the motivations for genocide; the perpetrators, victims, and bystanders; and the eight stages of genocide * Contains an annotative bibliography of print and nonprint resources
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781598844894Publication Date: 2011
Modern Genocide: A Documentary and Reference Guide (eBook) by
This book provides an indispensable resource for anyone researching the scourge of mass murder in the 20th and 21st centuries, effectively using primary source documents to help them understand all aspects of genocide. This illuminating primary source collection closely examines and analyzes primary documents related to genocides, focusing on genocidal events from the beginning of the 20th century to the present. Thematically organized into eight sections, each document comes with an introduction and analysis written by the author that helps provide the crucial historical background for the users of this title to learn about the complexities of genocide. The first section considers a range of definitional matters relating to genocide, crimes against humanity, and war crimes; the second section relates to warnings of impending genocide, and how they have been received; the third considers atrocities and how they have been perpetrated; the fourth is an examination ofexamines a range of resistance initiatives that have been taken in response to genocide; the fifth looks at reactions to genocide from outside actors; the sixth considers the ways in which states have intervened to stop genocide; the seventh relates to post-genocide justice measures; and the eighth section relates to how states and NGOs have sought to prevent genocide. Offers a large number of documents relating to various genocides, demonstrating the multifaceted nature of this crime in various settings Presents the reader with an analysis of each document to help contextualize and explain it Allows documents to "speak for themselves," setting out the parameters of genocide, what events actually occurred, and what was done afterwards Provides a short list of further reading at the conclusion of each document to assist readers looking to further research the topic
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781440862335Publication Date: 2019
Dictionary of Genocide (eBook) by
Over 600 terms identify and explain the history and suffering of ethnic and religious groups experiencing genocide throughout the world. The people, places, governments, agencies, documents, legal terms, and all other aspects of genocide are defined for new students and scholars alike.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780313329678Publication Date: 2007
Modern Genocide: Analyzing the Controversies and Issues (eBook) by
An indispensable resource for those interested in the scourge of mass murder and genocide in the 20th and 21st centuries, this book analyzes modern and contemporary controversies and issues to help readers to understand genocide in all its complexity. This vital reference work looks at current areas of debate in genocide studies to provide insights into what a genocide is, why genocides occur, and what the consequences are once a genocide is recognized as such. It also illuminates how and why rational people can view the same set of circumstances as genocide or not, and how it might be possible in the future to alleviate or even prevent genocide. Dozens of accomplished scholars provide perceptive insights into the controversies and issues that dominate genocide discussions. The book is organized into five parts. The first considers how genocide is defined, while the second covers the pre-1945 period as it includes such controversial topics as the American Indian Wars, Australian Aborigines, Irish Potato Famine, Armenian Genocide, Ukrainian Starvation, and Holocaust. A Cold War section examines genocidal violence in Cambodia, East Timor, and Guatemala and against the Kurds; a post-Cold War period section covers Bosnia, Rwanda, Darfur, and the Rohingya in Myanmar. The final part concerns such issues as genocide prevention, humanitarian intervention, and the role of military personnel as perpetrators of genocide. Offers up-to-date coverage on controversial issues related to genocide, including the atrocities perpetrated against the Rohingya in Myanmar Includes engaging and carefully outlined essays from such well-known experts as Michael Berenbaum, Roger W. Smith, Colin Tatz, and Henry C. Theriault Presents differing perspectives on issues discussed and assists the reader in developing an informed opinion Explains what genocide is and how the concept can be abused Suggests several ways in which the risk of genocide can be minimized or averted in the future
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781440864674Publication Date: 2019
Atrocities, Massacres, and War Crimes (eBook) by
Both concise and wide-ranging, this encyclopedia covers massacres, atrocities, war crimes, and genocides, including acts of inhumanity on all continents; and serves as a reminder that lest we forget, history will repeat itself. * Provides coverage of atrocities, massacres, and war crimes that is wide-ranging in scope and historical perspective, covering everything from genocides to isolated actions that constituted grave breaches of the laws of war * Comprises contributions from over 200 scholars, including international law experts currently prosecuting war crimes * Contains a lengthy chronology of major atrocities throughout history * Written in accessible and clear language appropriate for college freshmen and general readers
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781598849264Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Reference works, like dictionaries and encyclopedias, are great starting points for gaining background information and broader context. You can start here, then dig into the primary and secondary sources on the next page to use for the majority of your research.
- Cambridge Archive Editions
Historical reference materials related to the national heritage and political development of the Middle East, Russia and the Balkans, the Caucasus, Southeast Asia, and China and the Far East.
- Europa World Plus
Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Includes contact information for officials and features information on over 1,700 international organizations.
- Modern Genocide: Understanding Causes and Consequences
Presents comprehensive information and documents on modern genocide, focusing on the beginning of the 20th century to the present day.
- Oxford Reference
Reference resources from the Oxford University Press. Includes English dictionaries and thesauruses, English language reference books, bilingual dictionaries, quotations, maps and illustrations, timelines and subject reference sources.
A Century of Genocide: Utopias of Race and Nation by
Blending gripping narrative with trenchant analysis, Eric Weitz investigates four of the twentieth century's major eruptions of genocide: the Soviet Union under Stalin, Nazi Germany, Cambodia under the Khmer Rouge, and the former Yugoslavia. Drawing on historical sources as well as trial records, memoirs, novels, and poems, Weitz explains the prevalence of genocide in the twentieth century--and shows how and why it became so systematic and deadly.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 0691009139Publication Date: 2003
Centuries of Genocide: Essays and Eyewitness Accounts by
The fourth edition of Centuries of Genocide: Essays and Eyewitness Accounts addresses examples of genocides perpetrated in the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries. Each chapter of the book is written by a recognized expert in the field, collectively demonstrating a wide range of disciplinary perspectives. The book is framed by an introductory essay that spells out definitional issues, as well as the promises, complexities, and barriers to the prevention and intervention of genocide.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780415871921Publication Date: 2013
Reigns of Terror by
Reigns of Terror is a study of states that have committed gross human rights crimes against their own citizens. Patricia Marchak seeks to discover whether these states have anything in common - whether there are preconditions that can be identified as leading to crimes against humanity so that the world community could take preventive action in similar situations elsewhere. She provides short histories of nine culturally and historically diverse societies where such crimes occurred during the 20th century.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 0773526412Publication Date: 2003
Genocide: A History by
Genocide is a topic beset by ambiguities over meaning and double standards. In this stimulating and gripping history, William Rubinstein sets out to clarify the meaning of the term genocide and its historical evolution, and provides a working definition that informs the rest of the book. He makes the important argument that each instance of genocide is best understood within a particular historical framework and provides an original chronology of these distinct frameworks.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780582506015Publication Date: 2004
A Problem from Hell: America and the Age of Genocide by
While the history of America's response to genocide is not an uplifting one, "A Problem from Hell" tells the stories of countless Americans who took seriously the slogan of "never again" and tried to secure American intervention. Only by understanding the reasons for their small successes and colossal failures can we understand what we as a country, and we as citizens, could have done to stop the most savage crimes of the last century.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 0465061508Publication Date: 2002
Final Solutions: Mass Killing and Genocide in the 20th Century by
Benjamin A. Valentino finds that ethnic hatreds or discrimination, undemocratic systems of government, and dysfunctions in society play a much smaller role in mass killing and genocide than is commonly assumed. He shows that the impetus for mass killing usually originates from a relatively small group of powerful leaders and is often carried out without the active support of broader society. Mass killing, in his view, is a brutal political or military strategy designed to accomplish leaders' most important objectives, counter threats to their power, and solve their most difficult problems.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780801439650Publication Date: 2004
