Associate Librarian
About This Guide
This guide serves as a portal to the many resources relevant to research in Religions Studies that are available through IU Libraries in a variety of formats, with an emphasis on online collections and search tools.
Use the tabs on the left to navigate this portal by source type, and utilize your browser's search function to find specific resources or keywords on each page. Please don't hesitate to contact me through the buttons below my profile picture with any questions or requests.
-
A-Z Databases: All Religion databasesAccess all databases and search tools that have been identified as relevant to Religious Studies. Browse all resources, use the Type filter to narrow this list, or search for specific topics or themes.
-
BrowZine: All Religion journalsUse BrowZine to browse available journals by religion, geography, and theme. You can also search for a specific journal to check its availability through IU Libraries. Note: BrowZine only searches at the journal level to enable browsing by volume and issue. Use another tool to search for articles.
-
IU Libraries Citation LinkerUse this tool from the IU Libraries to locate cited sources found in bibliographies and references. If the tool can't locate the source, it will give you the option to request it via interlibrary loan.
Recommended Starting Points
-
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is a combined index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, biblical studies, world religions, church history, religious perspectives on social issues.
-
Cambridge CompanionsAccess our large collection of Cambridge Companion texts on a variety of relevant topics, including Pentacostalism, religion and AI, biblical wisdom literature, and more.
-
IUCAT This link opens in a new windowIUCAT, the online catalog for all titles available through IU Libraries, is the best place to start a search for books and ebooks, and also includes government documents, videos, and sound recordings. Start with broad search terms or use Advanced Search to locate specific titles. Watch this brief video tutorial on searching and accessing books and ebooks in IUCAT.
-
JSTOR
Provides searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, ecology, and business.
-
Oxford Handbooks Online: Religion
Access to Oxford handbooks covering the subject of religion. Includes essays on critical topics and emerging issues in the study of religion, as well as essays on Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, Sikhism and cross-cultural thematic studies.
Featured: Twentieth Century Collections
-
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume I, Christianity
Access to primary source texts covering Christianity, Christian theology, world religion, religion and law, and religion and politics. Includes the complete 17-volume German edition of Dietrich Bonhoeffer Werke (DBW) and English edition of the Dietrich Bonhoeffer Works Series (DBWE); an international selection of English-language editions of key authors such as Pope Benedict XVI, Hans Urs von Baltasar, Leonardo Boff, Sergius Bulgakov, Rudolf Bultmann, Helder Camara, James Cone, Mary Daly, Ivone Gebara, Gustavo Gutiérrez, Adolf von Harnack, Bernard Lonergan, Henri de Lubac, Mercy Amba Oduyoye, Wolfhart Pannenberg, Rosemary Radford Ruether, Jon Sobrino, Dorothee Sölle, Ernst Troeltsch, and John Howard Yoder; and a selection of the papers of Reinhold Niebuhr.
-
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume II, Islam
Access to texts on modern Islamic theology and tradition. Details Islam’s evolution from the late 19th century and includes digitized printed works and rare documents by Muslim writers. Also includes an international selection of English-language editions of key thinkers such as Sadiq Jalal Al-Azm, Khaled Abou el Fadl, Fethullah Gülen, Sayyid Ahmad Khan, Said Nursî, Abdolkarim Soroush, Muhammad Tahir-ul-Qadri, and Amina Wadud; writings in Arabic by Muhammad Abduh and in French by Abdou Filali- Ansary, and a selection of more contextual monographs.
-
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume III, Judaism
Access to texts on modern Jewish theology and philosophy. Details Judaism’s evolution from the late 19th century. Includes an international selection of English-language editions of key thinkers such as Eugene Borowitz, Elliott Dorff, Emil L. Fackenheim, Blu Greenberg, David Hartman, Mordecai Kaplan, Adolf Neubauer, and Joseph B. Soloveitchik; writings in German and Hebrew from the Markus Brann collection, and a selection of contextual monographs and reference works.
-
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume IV, Eastern Religions
Access to texts on the various facets of Eastern religions spanning over two-hundred years. Includes an international selection of English-language editions of key thinkers such as Alan Watts, Sister Nivedita, K. N. Jayatilleke, and Prayadh Payutto, among others.
-
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume V, Religion in Video
Collection of religious films and documentaries intended to provide an understanding of the social and political context surrounding practicing religion in the modern era. Documents how different faith and belief systems have evolved during the twentieth century and how they intertwine with daily life, from navigating personal relationships to contemplating mortality and processing death.