Library Research Guides: Optometry: Find Articles

Specialized Health & Clinical Medicine Databases

These specialized health databases include health sciences, medical sciences, allied health information, biology, psychology, and related subject areas.They index academic journal articles but may also allow you to find conference proceedings, books, reviews, reports, and more.

PubMed
Free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. Contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature.
Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
SPIE Digital Library
The SPIE Digital Library provides access to scholarly work on optics and photonics. It includes more than 434,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1962 to the present. More than 18,000 new technical papers are added annually.
Contents of the SPIE Digital Library:
Proceedings of SPIE (1963-)
Optical Engineering (1962-)
Journal of Electronic Imaging (1992-)
Journal of Biomedical Optics (1996-)
Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS (2002-)
Journal of Applied Remote Sensing (2007-)
Journal of Nanophotonics (2007-)
Journal of Photonics for Energy (2011-)
Journal of Medical Imaging (2014-)
Journal of Astronomical Telescopes, Instruments, and Systems (2014-)
Neurophotonics (2014-)
SPIE eBooks (selected titles)

Please note: some Proceedings volumes are not available in the SPIE Digital Library as SPIE does not have electronic rights to this material.
Embase
Biomedical and pharmaceutical database containing bibliographic records with abstracts.
Cochrane Library
Access to systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and policy.
AccessMedicine
Provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and health professionals with access to more than 65 medical titles, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, and time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.
Provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and health professionals with access to more than 65 medical titles, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, and time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
The EBSCO interface to Medline, the primary source of world-wide literature on biomedicine and health care.
Medline provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as:

- The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE.
- Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing.
- Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.
Web of Science
Citation database covering scholarly journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Search interface allows cross-searching of BIOSIS Previews, Medline, Zoological Record, Web of Science Core Collection, and others.
Users can search by cited reference, author, topic, publication name, and more. Results can be analyzed by document type, institution name, source title, and subject area.

Bio Databases

Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic
Indexes journals covering topics in medicine including clinical medicine, nursing dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Offers some full-text.
The Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic indexes journals covering medical topics including clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. All full-text titles included in the Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic Edition are also indexed in MEDLINE. Coverage dates back to 1985.
BioOne Complete
A collection of full-text journals, mostly from small societies and non-commercial publishers, focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
BioCyc
BioCyc is a collection of Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs), plus software tools for understanding their data. PLEASE NOTE: users need to create individual accounts with their official iu.edu email to maintain access.
The BioCyc collection of Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs) provides a reference on the genomes and metabolic pathways of thousands of sequenced organisms. BioCyc PGDBs are generated by software that predict the metabolic pathways of completely sequenced organisms, predict which genes code for missing enzymes in metabolic pathways, and predict operons. BioCyc also integrates information from other bioinformatics databases, such as protein feature and Gene Ontology information from UniProt. The BioCyc website provides a suite of software tools for database searching and visualization, for omics data analysis, and for comparative genomics and comparative pathway questions.
One Mail instructions:
On February 26, 2025, BioCyc support will update all active accounts using @indiana.edu email addresses to use @iu.edu email addresses. No further action is needed for users who had active BioCyc accounts.
CSH Protocols
Contains new and classic research techniques covering cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging.
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols allows the user to search for peer-reviewed new and classic research techniques in bioinformatics, cell biology, genetics, immunology, molecular biology, neuroscience, plant biology, and a variety of related topics. New protocols are added continuously, and users can be notified of updates by signing up for RSS feeds and alerts. The database offers lists of protocols by subject category as well as a list of newly added protocols and a list of product protocols. Searching the full text of protocols can be accomplished by using the search box found on every page. An advanced search screen is provided for more detailed searches. The advanced search feature will allow the user to search recipes and cautions in addition to protocols. The Cold Spring Harbor Protocols site also offers discussion forums.
Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection
Access to audio-visual lectures, seminar-style talks, and case studies presented by experts in biomedicine and life sciences.
Subject areas covered: agriculture & environmental sciences, biochemistry, cancer, cell biology, clinical medicine, diseases, disorders & treatments, genetics & epigenetics, immunology, metabolism & nutrition, microbiology, neuroscience, omics & systems biology, pharmaceutical sciences, and reproduction & development.
JoVE
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) provides access to peer reviewed scientific video journals. JoVE has produced over 17,000 videos demonstrating experiments from laboratories at top research institutions.
JoVE began in response to a problem within the world of biomedical science: only 10-30% of published scientific articles can be successfully reproduced. By filming experiments and publishing them in video format JoVE makes visible techniques involved in research for anyone to see and replicate.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These multidisciplinary journal databases include articles on health science, engineering, technology, business and more.

Scopus
Citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Comprised of 21,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Exporting data to Reference Managers such as Mendeley, RefWorks and EndNote, tracking citations with Citation Overview/Tracker, analyzing journal performance with Journal Analyzer and alternative journal impact metrics SNIP and SJR are some of its unique features.
OneSearch@IU
Academic Search (EBSCO)
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, including millions of works from thousands of universities. Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
Includes the following:

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: A & I
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: CIC Institutions
SciFinder-n
Covers the primary literature of all areas of chemistry, medicine, and other areas.
PLEASE NOTE: First time users must first register via this registration page using your @iu.edu email address. Authorized users may only utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes at Indiana University.
Access to the CAS content collection, patent documents and step-by-step synthetic procedures and methods.
Account use:
Please note that credentials used for the classic SciFinder site will work on the SciFinder-n site.
Walk in users (non-commercial only) allowed at IU Bloomington Libraries reference desks. Contact the Sciences Library at libsci@iu.edu for any questions.
One Mail instructions:
On November 25, 2024, SciFinder support updated all active accounts using @indiana.edu email addresses to use @iu.edu email addresses. No further action is needed for users who had active SciFinder accounts.
If you have not used your SciFinder account in over 18 months, it is possible it may have been inactivated. In that situation, please email help@cas.org for assistance with reactivating your account and ensuring that it is associated with your @iu.edu email address. Information to include your email:
- Your IU Bloomington affiliation (student/faculty/staff)
- Your existing SciFinder username (if known)
- Your @indiana.edu and @iu.edu email address
  - This will allow SciFinder support to identify your inactive account regardless of which email you used initially.
Sage Data
Data analysis resource for social science researchers and students. Includes access to 13.5 billion U.S. and international datasets from over 90 sources. Users can manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators and sources, chart trends over time, and map data on a single interface, as well as create customizable visualizations of the data.
Allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators and sources, and derive new statistics. Users can visualize data in multiple formats: table, chart, map, or graphs, and profile specific industries, geographies, topics, or points in time. Includes statistical literacy with detailed source descriptions and a library of reference material addressing the basics of all things data.

Finding Research Funding Opportunities

PIVOT
- This link opens in a new window
The Office of the Vice Provost for Research and the IUPUI Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research jointly funds Indiana University's subscription to Pivot for all IU campuses. Pivot is a database of funding opportunities for research.