Optometry

This book presents and analyses the most recent research dedicated to restoring vision in individuals who are severely impaired or blind from retinal disease or injury. It is written by the leading groups worldwide who are at the forefront of developing artificial vision. The book begins by discussing the difficulties in comparing and interpreting functional results in the area of very low vision and the principal prospects and limitations of spatial resolution with artificial tools. Further on, chapters are included by researchers who stimulate the surface or the pigment epithelial side of the retina and by experts who work on stimulating the optic nerve, the lateral geniculate body and the superficial layers of the visual cortex. Artificial Vision: A Clinical Guide collates the most recent work of key artificial vision research groups to explain in a comparable and stringent order their varying approaches, the clinical or preclinical outcomes and their achievements during the last years. Senior ophthalmic fellows and academic practitioners will find this guide to be an indispensable resource for understanding the current status of artificial vision.   

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! A best-selling source of compact, authoritative guidance on the treatment of ocular disorders in a variety of settings, The Wills Eye Manual, 8th Edition, is the comprehensive, high-yield reference of choice for both trainees and seasoned practitioners. It provides highly illustrated information on more than 200 ophthalmic conditions along with proven clinical recommendations from initial diagnosis through extended treatment. The consistent, bulleted outline format makes it ideal for portability and quick reference.  Provides current, superbly illustrated information on more than 200 ophthalmic conditions in a handy, portable manual, along with extensive multimedia content.  Features easily accessible clinical recommendations for evaluation, diagnosis, management, and treatment.  Contains updates on the latest major clinical trials in ophthalmology,   as well as  two expertly produced new videos and many new clinical images added.  Addresses changing trends in  oculoplastics, glaucoma, cornea, pediatrics, neuro-ophthalmology, uveitis, retina, and more.   Includes videos depicting a wide range of common procedures with step-by-step narration, carefully selected to complement key techniques.  All chapters written and edited by the residents and attending ophthalmologists at one of the busiest and largest eye hospitals in the country.  Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience  Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone.  Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech. 

This book is a comprehensive, in-depth, and up-to-date resource on eye examination that will be of great practical value for ophthalmologists and optometrists. The aim is to guide the practitioner through the diagnostic process and the implications for management of the ocular patient, and in so doing to demonstrate that it is possible to reach appropriate decisions on the basis of eye examination. Every year, existing ocular equipment is being upgraded and new diagnostic equipment is appearing on the market. This book reflects recent progress in upgrading by providing information and guidance on the latest innovations in ocular examination and eye testing while also highlighting the continuing important role of the traditional eye test. The coverage accordingly ranges from such long-established techniques as ophthalmoscopy, tonometry, and slit lamp examination through to the latest advances in OCT technologies, digital fundus photography, confocal scanning laser ophthalmoscopy, ocular ultrasound, and angiography. The authors hope that the book will assist all practitioners who perform ophthalmologic examinations. 

This book is open access under a CC BY 4.0 license. This open access book discusses basic clinical concepts of myopia, prevention of progression and surgical treatments for myopia and pathological myopia. It also summarises the latest evidence and best practices for managing myopia, high myopia and its complications. Written by leading experts, the book addresses clinical diagnosis and interpretation of imaging modalities, and various complications of myopia such as glaucoma, choroidal neovascularization, retinal degeneration and cataracts. It is a valuable comprehensive resource for general and sub-specialist ophthalmologists as well as residents and ophthalmologists in training. 

This atlas presents an overview of Swept Source Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT) and its implications on diagnostics of vitreous, retina and choroid. As the sensitivity of OCT imaging devices has increased, updated technologies have become available for engineers, scientists and medical specialists to adopt, and recent developments have led to the creation of a new generation of devices. The aim of this resource is to explain this new technology and its advantages over previous imaging devices and to illustrate how it may be used in to define eye diseases, aid in their treatment and facilitate treatment options.

This book describes the optical structure and optical properties of the human eye. For ease of reference, the most commonly useful topics are at the beginning and topics with narrower appeal are placed towards the end. The book is divided into five sections, covering: Basic optical structure of the eye, including the refracting components, the pupil, axes, and simple models of the eye Image formation and refraction of the eye, including refractive errors, measurement, and correction Interactions between light and the eye, considering transmission, reflection, and scatter in the media and at the fundus Aberrations and retinal image quality Depth-of-field and age-related changes in the optics of the eye There have been many developments in the field of visual optics since the first edition was published in 2000. There have been advances in instrumentation for imagery, biometry, and aberrations of the eye. The refraction anomaly of myopia has increased in prevalence throughout the world, and is getting increasing attention because of its association with ocular pathology in the middle and later years of life. Ocular aberrations are now considered in terms of Zernike polynomials rather than Taylor polynomials. Aberrations can be manipulated to better understand their effects on visual performance to improve imagery of the retina for the betterment of diagnosis of various ocular conditions, and to treat the progression of myopia in children. To deal with these developments, the section on aberrations and retinal image quality has undergone considerable revision. This book will be an invaluable purchase for all those with an interest in vision, such as optometrists, ophthalmologists, vision scientists, optical physics, and student of visual optics. An understanding of the optics of the human eye is particular important to designers of ophthalmic diagnostic equipment and visual optical systems such as telescopes.

Advances in Ophthalmology and Optometry reviews the most current practices in both ophthalmology and optometry. A distinguished editorial board, headed by Dr. Myron Yanoff, identifies key areas of major progress and controversy and invites expert ophthalmologists and optometrists to contribute original articles devoted to these topics. Broken into sections, this sixth volume in the series covers topics within each of the following categories: Optometry, Cataracts, Pediatrics, Ophthalmic Pathology & Ocular Oncology, Vitreoretinal Disease, Glaucoma, Neuro-ophthalmology, Oculoplastics, and Uveitis.

Understand and meet your patients' eyewear needs with the reference that covers every aspect of dispensing ? from basic terminology to frame selection to eyewear fitting, adjusting, and repairing. System for Ophthalmic Dispensing, 4th Edition, provides a step-by-step system for properly fitting and adjusting eyewear, including the nuances of lens selection, making it an ideal resource both for students who are just learning about dispensing and practitioners who want to keep their skills up to date. Thorough discussions of every topic and hundreds of newly revised and enhanced review questions make this a one-stop educational and clinical resource for today's eyecare professionals. Explains the "how" and "why" behind lens selection to help you better understand and meet the vision needs of those you serve.   Includes in-depth discussions of all types of lenses, including multifocal, progressive, absorptive, safety, recreational, aspheric, high index, and lens coatings.  Provides updated coverage of the latest dispensing procedures and equipment.   Discusses the use of spectacle lenses for the control of myopia.   Contains more than 700 high-quality figures demonstrating how to adjust frames, the optics of lenses, and how light travels through lenses. Photos are all taken from the perspective of the person who is adjusting the frame.  Features more than 600 interactive review questions along with answers, explanations, and worked problems-all newly revised for this edition.  An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.