Scholarly Background Info
- Oxford Reference
Reference resources from the Oxford University Press. Includes English dictionaries and thesauruses, English language reference books, bilingual dictionaries, quotations, maps and illustrations, timelines and subject reference sources.
- History Encyclopedias in IUCATThis link takes you to a list of hundreds of encyclopedias that are available as e-books
Books & eBooks
Some advice for searching in catalogs for books and ebooks:
-
Use broad search terms to start. Most catalogs only search in titles, chapter titles, and sometimes book summaries rather than the full-text, so you want to give yourself the best chance of finding relevant works.
-
Change up your search terms. Scholars from different fields may use different terminology or approach a topic from different directions, so don't hesitate to skim your search results and change up your keywords.
-
Use built-in tools, like filtering by Subject, to narrow your search. Subjects are topical tags assigned to individual titles that can lead you to related works.
-
Look for titles cited in other books or articles that you have read on the topic. Start by searching in IUCAT, and if you don't find it there, try WorldCat.
- IUCAT This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
IUCAT, the online catalog for all titles available through IU Libraries, is the often the best place to start a search for books and ebooks, and also includes government documents, videos, and sound recordings.
- Use broad search terms to give IUCAT the best chance of finding relevant titles.
- Use the red Request This button to have print materials delivered to the most convenient library for pick-up.
- Use the filters like Subject and Publication Year on the left side of the page to narrow your search results.
- When you find one title that looks promising, use the hyperlinked Subject headings to locate additional titles.
- Watch this brief video tutorial on searching and accessing books and ebooks in IUCAT.
- WorldCatExpand your search to include titles available at IU and a majority of library systems across the United States and abroad.
- If you find a title in a citation or bibliography and can't locate it in IUCAT, search WorldCat to locate and request the title.
- Unlike IUCAT, WorldCat can also locate specific articles and book chapters.
- Click View Indiana University-Bloomington Catalog to access titles that are available through IUCAT.
- Click the red Request through ILL button to submit a pre-filled form to receive the title from another institution.
- Use the hyperlinked Subjects to continue your search.
- If you encounter issues requesting books through WorldCat, please send me an email or visit this site for troubleshooting steps.
- Google BooksEven though many books are only available in "preview" mode in Google Books, it can be a lifesaver. Use it alongside a print copy of a book to find particularly relevant sections to read or glance at an introduction at home before deciding whether to check the book out from the library.
- Request a title through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Request and access titles that you have not been able to locate in IUCAT or WorldCat through Interlibrary Loan. Watch this brief video for an introduction.
Scholarly Articles
Some advice for searching for scholarly articles:
- Don't be afraid to change up your search terms. Skim your search results and use the terminology and themes that you are finding to improve your next search. Didn't find what you expected or wanted? Just try a different combination of search terms or a different database.
- Make use of the filters and features that are built in to each of the search tools. Look for filters like subject and publication date, as well as features that recommend related articles.
- Use reviews published in scholarly journals to locate relevant books. Search for the book title in IUCAT, or use WorldCat if it isn't owned by IU.
- Get the most out of one really great source. Search for the sources that are cited in that article, and use Google Scholar to locate other works which have cited that article.
- Search in at least two databases to find a broader range of sources. Many databases include unique journals, and, even when there is overlap, the search algorithms may surface different results in a different order.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is particularly useful for locating related articles by using the Cited by tool. Copy and paste the title of a great article, then click on Cited by underneath that article to find the articles that have cited it thus far. Can't access the full-text? Copy and paste the article title into OneSearch@IU or WorldCat to locate it.
- International Medieval Bibliography
The IMB indexes articles in journals, conference proceedings, collections of essays and Festschriften. Indexing includes materials worldwide in a variety of languages.
- JSTOROne of the most prominent databases for research in the humanities, JSTOR provides access to a wide range of journals, book chapters, and more. Take advantage of the Related Texts suggested to the left of a search result to find more sources.
- OneSearch@IUUse OneSearch when you want to do the broadest search for scholarly articles, limit your results to Peer Reviewed. Open up All Filters to filter results by Subject.
- Oxford JournalsAccess to Oxford University Press journal content, including The Journal of American History. Use the Subject filter on the right to focus on publications relevant to History.