Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research on Indiana University

Outreach and Public Services Archivist

Profile Photo
Carrie Schwier
Contact:
Indiana University Archives
1320 E. 10th Street
Herman B Wells Library E460
Bloomington, IN 47405
(812)855-3322
Website
Subjects: IU Archives, IU History

Hours

HOURS:

Monday - Friday, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Saturdays, 10am-2pm (by appointment)

* Appointments must be made by 5pm on Thursday

CONTACT:

Email: archives@indiana.edu

Phone: 812-855-1127

WEBSITE:

https://libraries.indiana.edu/archives 

LOCATION:

Herman B Wells Library, Room E460

1320 E. 10th Street

Bloomington, Indiana 47405

*We are located in the East Tower on the 4th floor.

Welcome!

As an archives, our primary mission is to collect, organize, preserve and make accessible records documenting Indiana University's origins and development and the activities and achievements of its officers, faculty, students, alumni and benefactors. With an estimated 18,000 cubic feet of records and papers in all formats, the IU Archives is the largest and most comprehensive source of information on the history and culture of Indiana University. To ensure this history is captured, the Archives provides records management assistance to IU Bloomington offices, schools, departments, as well as administrative offices on the IUB campus that have system-wide responsibilities.

We invite and encourage public, students, staff, faculty, and researchers to use our collections, whether the purpose is for teaching, research, or pure curiosity.