Skip to main content

Research on Indiana University

IU Libraries University Archives Preferred Citation for Manuscripts

Citing items from our manuscript collections is very easy. Go to the collection finding aid in Archives Online that contains the item you would like to cite. Make sure you click on "entire document" on the left of the page. Then scroll down to "Preferred Citation" in the finding aid. Describe the item and then copy the rest of the preferred citation. For the purpose of your own research, it is always a good idea to write down the item, folder name, box number, and collection number. You will always be able to find your way back to your materials when you adopt this practice.

IU Libraries University Archives Preferred Citation for Reference Files

To cite items from the Reference Files, follow this structure: [Item], [Name of Reference File], Reference Files, IU Libraries University Archives, Bloomington. 

Example: Centennial Brochure, Indiana University Centennial Celebration, Reference Files, IU Libraries University Archives, Bloomington. 

IU Libraries University Archives Preferred Citation for Photographs

When citing a photograph from the IU Archives, it is important to include the image number and "Indiana University Archives." For example, "Image number: P0020477, Indiana University Archives." You can locate the image number in the information located to the right of the photograph in the Photograph Collection.

If you have any questions concerning use of a photograph, please contact the Photograph Curator, Brad Cook, bcook@indiana.edu