Reference and Clipping files
The Reference and Clipping file folders are accessible the Archives readhing room. Organized alphabetically by subject or individual, the files contain newspaper clippings, press releases, small publications, and some correspondence which will get you started on a research topic. Ask an archivist and they are happy to pull these files for you.
Manuscript Collections
-
Archives Online at Indiana University
Portal for accessing descriptions of archival and special collections held by libraries, archives and other cultural heritage units at Indiana University or affiliated with Indiana University.
-
ArchiveGrid
Provides access to online findings aids, detailed collection guides or inventories describing where to find an archival collection, how it's arranged, and what it contains.
Historic Newspapers & Periodicals
-
Arbutus Yearbooks, 1894-presentThe Arbutus Yearbooks dating from 1894-2025 are located on the north side of the wall in the reading room. Many of these are also accessible through this website.
-
Chronicling AmericaHistorical newspapers dating from 1789-1963. Most are from the 19th c., but several (especially from Pennsylvania) are from the 1790s.
-
Guide for Indiana Newspapers on MicroformProvides a detailed summary for accessing Indiana newspapers on microfilm
-
Indiana Alumni Quarterly and Indiana Alumni MagazineCopies of the Indiana Alumni Magazine (or the Alumni Quarterly from 1914-1938) are located on the north side wall in the reading room. Many of the older issues are accessible through HathiTrust.
-
Indiana Daily StudentPublication Date: 1867-presentThe Indiana Daily Student from 1867-1924 can be searched in the NewspaperARCHIVE; however, the later papers will need to be searched on microfilm. Microfilms can be accessed on the 2nd floor of the East Tower in the Wells Library. The Archives also has an index for the IDS that goes through 1938, which will help fill the gap between what is in the NewspaperARCHIVE and the microfilm.
-
IU BulletinsThe IU Bulletins are located on the north side of the wall in the reading room and contain valuable information about faculty, departments, courses offered, information about the campus and student body. Many of these are available digitally here through HathiTrust while later bulletins can be accessed online here: http://bulletins.iu.edu/iub/.
-
Indianapolis RecorderWhat began as a two-page church bulletin by co-founders George Pheldon Stewart and William H. Porter, the Indianapolis Recorder is now one of the top African-American publications in the nation. Established in 1897, the Indianapolis Recorder focused on local people and events in Indianapolis but also reported national events. IUPUI University is pleased to present the Indianapolis Recorder Digital Collection. Providing access to the 1899-2005 run of the Indianapolis Recorder will have an impact on researchers from all walks of life.
-
NewspaperARCHIVE
Digital access to more than 1000 historical newspapers from communities within Indiana.
Digital Resources
-
Archives of Institutional Memory
Archives of Institutional Memory or AIM@IU was created to collect, preserve and make available the official records with long-term value produced by the Indiana University administrative and academic community.
-
Bloomington Faculty Council minutesThe Bloomington Faculty Council (BFC) is a representative body of elected members from the Bloomington campus of Indiana University.
The digitized BFC collection features two key documents: BFC minutes and circulars. The BFC minutes are verbatim transcriptions of the monthly BFC meetings from each academic year. The circulars are supplementary documents that often serve as the basis of discussions at BFC meetings and range in scope from Memorial Resolutions to policy changes in the Academic Calendar or Faculty Handbook.
-
HathiTrust Digital Library
Shared digital library created and designed by partnership of major research libraries.
-
Indiana University Board of Trustees Minutes, 1838-presentThe Trustees minutes includes official acts, resolutions, policies, agreements, and other business records pertaining to the governance of Indiana University. The Archives houses the official paper copies of the minutes from 1838 to the present, except 1859-1883 which were destroyed in the campus fire of 1883 at the former location of Indiana University at Seminary Square.
-
Indiana University Web Sites on Archive-It.orgSeeks to preserve and facilitate access to web sites produced by administrative offices, schools, departments, service units, institutes, centers, programs, and faculty, student and alumni organizations on the Indiana University, Bloomington campus. In addition, a few websites for Indiana University offices that are responsible for operations at the system-wide level have also been collected.
-
IUScholarWorks Journals
Open access journals published by the IU Libraries in a variety of subject fields.
Image Collections
-
Archives Photograph CollectionThe Indiana University Office of University Archives and Records Management holds a vast photograph and negative collection that comprises approximately two-million images. The majority of these were shot by Indiana University’s Photographic Services Department, Athletic Department, and News Bureau. The remaining images were shot mostly by local professional photographers, alumni, and faculty. Nearly all of the images document the history of Indiana University.
-
Building a Nation: Indiana Limestone Photograph CollectionThe Indiana Geological Survey recently rescued a collection of over 25,000 photographs from the early to mid-1900s; these photographs were used by the Indiana Limestone Company (Bedford, Ind.) for marketing purposes, namely, to illustrate architectural styles, limestone uses, and limestone types. The images reflect the urban transformation of the United States, but were hidden for decades in a dilapidated house on the outskirts of a quarrying operation in southern Indiana. The collection shows the extensive use of Indiana limestone in commercial, municipal, institutional, and residential building projects in nearly every state. Most of the black and white photos are 8 x 10 inches and are mounted on cloth; glued to the cloth backing are typed or handwritten labels that provide information on the location and name of the building, architect, date of construction, type and quantity of limestone, and other building details. The majority of the photographs were taken by professional photographers and the photos are stamped with the photographer’s name or company. Indiana University’s Office of the Vice Provost provided funding for this portion of the collection to be inventoried, catalogued, and scanned by the Indiana Geological Survey. The collection available here is of images from Indiana and Chicago and their corresponding data.
-
Charles W. Cushman Photograph CollectionCharles Weever Cushman, amateur photographer and Indiana University alumnus, bequeathed approximately 14,500 Kodachrome color slides to his alma mater. The photographs in this collection bridge a thirty-two year span from 1938 to 1969, during which time he extensively documented the United States as well as other countries. Large sections of the collection document urban architecture and community life in cities such as Chicago, San Francisco and New Orleans.
-
Image Collections OnlineImage Collections Online showcases image collections curated by libraries, archives, and other cultural-heritage institutions of Indiana University.
Census and Government Information
-
Ancestry Library Edition
Popular consumer online genealogy resource that includes birth, death, and marriage records as well as searchable manuscript census records for the U.S. 1790-1930. Similar records are also available for the U.K., Germany, and a few other countries. Only works with the latest versions of Firefox, Chrome, and Safari browsers.
-
Accessing Government InformationProvides several links and resources for state and federal government information.