HIST H270 What is History?

Based on a collection of rare newspapers held by the American Antiquarian Society, with contributions from the Boston Athenaeum, the Connecticut Historical Society, the Connecticut State Library, the Library Company of Philadelphia; the Library of Congress, the libraries of universities such as Brown and Harvard, and private collections. Fully text-searchable; browseable by newspaper title.

Collections included: African American Newspapers, Series 1 ; African American Newspapers, Series 2 ;  Caribbean Newspapers ; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection ; Hispanic American Newspapers ; Early American Newspapers, Series 1-7, 11-12, and 17-19.

Based on a very comprehensive microfilm collection of American magazines and journals, 1740-1940. Contains searchable full text of all extant issues of over 1000 titles, ranging from children's magazines to professional journals. Can be cross-searched with historical newspaper archives.

Includes access to:

British Library Newspapers, Part I: 1800-1900:

Ranging from early tabloids like the Illustrated Police News to radical papers like the Chartist Northern Star, the 47 publications in Part I span national, regional, and local interests. Other notable papers of Part I include the Morning Chronicle, with famous contributors such as Henry Mayhew and John Stuart Mill; the Graphic, publishing both illustrations and news as well as illustrated fiction; and the Examiner, the radical reformist and leading intellectual journal.

British Library Newspapers, Part II: 1800-1900

Part II includes additional English regional newspapers with 22 additional publications. Researchers can find the newspapers of a number of towns and regions included in this collection: Nottingham, Bradford, Leicester, Sheffield, and York, as well as North Wales. The addition of two major London newspapers, The Standard and the Morning Post, captures conservative opinion in the nineteenth century, balancing the progressive, more liberal views of the newspapers that appear in Part I.

British Library Newspapers, Part III: 1741-1950

Part III includes 35 newspapers, encompassing provincial news journals like the Leeds Intelligencer and Hull Daily Mail, local interest publications such as the Northampton Mercury, and specialist titles such as the Poor Law Unions’ Gazette. Other noteworthy titles in Part III include the Westmoreland Gazette, whose early editor, Thomas De Quincy (of Confessions of an English Opium Eater) was forced to resign due to his unreliability.

British Library Newspapers, Part IV: 1732-1950

From early newspaper titles like the Stamford Mercury to what may be the oldest magazine in the world still in publication, the Scots Magazine, the 23 newspapers in Part IV offer local and regional perspectives from Aberdeen, Bath, Chester, Derby, Stamford, Liverpool, and York. In addition, Part IV includes the 1901-1950 runs of papers such as the Aberdeen Journal and Dundee Courier whose earlier newspapers are available in Part I and Part II.

British Library Newspapers, Part V: 1746-1950

With a concentration of titles from the northern part of the United Kingdom, the 36 newspapers in Part V includes titles from the Scottish localities of Fife, Elgin, Inverness, Paisley, and John O'Groats, as well as towns just below the border, such as Morpeth, Alnwick, and more. Includes access to the Coventry Herald, which features some of the earliest published writing of Mary Ann Evans (better known as George Eliot).

Smartphone and tablet apps can be downloaded for free by visiting: https://www.nytimes.com/services/mobile/index.html (Please note e-reader apps are excluded from our Academic Group Pass.)

New IUB Affiliated Users - One-Time Activation of NYTimes.com IUB Group Pass
1. Go to http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT
2. Create a NYTimes.com account using your IU email address. (Note: If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your IU email address, you may log in with those credentials)
3. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear
4. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy your full access from any location

Returning IUB Affilated Users 
Once you have activated your IUB Group Pass account, it should allow you full access until your expiration date with no further action on your part. However, if for any reason while on NYTimes.com you are served the message that you are reaching the limit of free articles on the site, please do the following: Make sure you are logged in to the NYTimes.com account with which you activated your Group Pass. If you log out of your account or visit NYTimes.com on a device where you are not logged in, you can simply log in to your account to continue enjoying access.

If your Group Pass has expired: Visit http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT to activate a new pass. Make sure you are logged in to the NYTimes.com account with which you activated your IUB Group Pass.

Unaffilated users may access up to 10 free articles (including blog posts, slide shows and other multimedia features) each month on NYTimes.com. This free, limited access resets at the beginning of each calendar month.

Content Availability:
1851-1922: unlimited article availability
1923-1980: up to five articles per day per user
1981-present: unlimited article availability

Additional access options for the New York Times:
Access to the New York Times from 2008 to the present (with a lag time of about three months)

Digitized microfilm of the NYT with a 3-month embargo. Note: The IUB Library holds the physical microfilm for the NYT as well. The microfilm copy is especially important given that some articles are not available in the ProQuest resource because of the Supreme Court's Tasini ruling concerning the copyright rights of independent journalists and writers. ProQuest entries carry a note referring one to the microfilm copy.

Access to the New York Times from 1851 - 2013 (plus access to the Times Index from 1851 - 1993)

Includes digitized copies and content of the follwing local Indiana Newspapers: Bloomington Evening World (1907-1923), Indiana Daily Student (1867-1923), Madison Herald, Indianapolis State Sentinel, Indianapolis Star, Fort Wayne Journal Gazette,Terre Haute Star and Indianapolis Sun.

Includes access to newspapers from the United States, Canada, United Kingdom & Ireland, Australia, and Panama.

The Vogue Archive is a fully searchable, full content run of the U.S. edition of Vogue magazine from its first issue in 1892 to the present month. It includes every page of each issue (articles, advertising, covers) and high-resolution color images. You may search for advertisements, articles, contributors, covers, fashion shoots, fiction, letters From The Editor, letters to the editor, masthead, poems, cartoons, charts, diagrams, illustrations, infographics, logos, and photographs.

A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office, govinfo provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted. This free service is funded by the Federal Depository Library Program and has grown out of Public Law 103-40, known as the Government Printing Office Electronic Information Enhancement Act of 1993.

IUB has served as a U.S. Federal Depository Library since 1881. Most of the resources available have historically been available in print. Consult reference staff in East Tower 2, Wells Library (Government Information, Maps and Microform Services).

Also includes materials related to constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.

Provides access to the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, began in 1861 and now comprises more than 450 individual volumes. The volumes published over the last two decades increasingly contain declassified records from all the foreign affairs agencies.

ProQuest Congressional provides indexing and full-text access to various publications of the U.S. Congress. It provides easy search access to congressional publications and includes full-text of reports, bills and resolutions, and laws.

Use Advanced Search to select specific series included:
-Congressional Research Digital Collection
-Congressional Hearings Digital Collection
-House and Senate Unpublished Digital Collection
-ProQuest Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection
-ProQuest Congressional Serial Set Maps Digital Collection
-ProQuest Statutes at Large
-ProQuest U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection
-Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations
-U.S Bills and Resolutions

Most publications are owned by IUB, either in print, on microfiche or electronically. IUB has been a Federal Depository Library since 1881. For specific assistance or to ask questions about using congressional publications, contact Government Information, Maps and Microform Services, located on the 2nd floor of the Herman B Wells Library. Email libgimms@iu.edu or telephone 812-855-6924

Declassified Documents Reference Service provides searching and fulltext access to declassified U.S. government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond, this single source enables users to locate key information underpinning studies in international relations, American studies, United States foreign and domestic policy studies, journalism and more.

Users who create an account also gain access to a set of tools for sharing images, curating groups of images, downloading them directly into PowerPoint presentations, and comparing and contrasting images.

Collections include:
European Bureaus Collection: From Vienna, its chief listening post, and also from Prague and Warsaw, the Associated Press (AP) covered Eastern Europe during World War II and the Cold War. This collection is composed almost entirely of rare wire copy, recording the declining influence of the Soviet Union, the last days of the Iron Curtain, and the political and economic restructuring of the former Soviet satellites.

Middle Eastern Bureaus Collection: offers access to records from some of the Associated Press’s (AP) most active international bureaus – Jerusalem, Ankara, and Beirut, as well as their surrounding areas – delivering the exclusive stories behind the headlines from 1967 to 2005.

News Features & Internal Communications: This collection provides access to internal Associated Press publications dating from the turn of the twentieth century, offering insight into the AP, its staff, and the history of news coverage.

U.S. City Bureaus Collection: The U.S. City Bureaus Collection offers access to records from the AP's domestic bureaus, dating from 1931 to 2004.

Washington Bureau Collection, Part I: This collection provides access to Associated Press (AP) records documenting the administrations of eleven US presidents (1938-2009), including an extensive assortment of wire copy covering press conferences, travel, speeches, campaigns, and messages to Congress.

Washington Bureau Collection, Part II: This collection covers significant news reporting on the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of World War I and the post-war period in America and abroad.

While they are in Black and White, instead of the original color, the Digital Sanborn Maps allow researchers to view and download the maps, integrate them in various GIS applications, and access them remotely. Sanborn maps provide house by house or business by business details for cities and towns throughout Indiana. They show the development of water works, school and government buildings, and transportation systems.

Image Collections Online (ICO) includes a variety of historical photographs and images of cultural objects from the Lilly Library, the IU Archives, the Archives of African American Music and Culture, the Liberian Collections, the IU Map Collections, and others. Collection managers interested in submitting their collections for inclusion in ICO should contact the IU Libraries' Digital Collections Services department.

Includes collections sourced from The National WWII Museum, New Orleans. Covers American military and civilian participation in all major theaters of operations, including the army, navy and air force, marines, merchant marines, coast guard, women’s forces and medical personnel. 

The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries knits together diaries, letters, and memoirs from more than 2,000 authors to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war, including what was happening at home. The writings of politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and even spies are included. The letters and diaries are by the famous and the unknown, giving not only both the Northern and Southern perspectives, but those of foreign observers also. The materials originate from all regions of the country and are from people who played a variety of roles.

On March 24, 1800, Forlorn Hope became the first newspaper published within a prison by an incarcerated person. In the intervening 200 years, over 450 prison newspapers have been published from U.S. prisons. Some, like the Angolite and the San Quentin News, are still being published today.

Includes interactive maps and original documents linked to essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies. The sections cover Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class and Colonialism, c1783-1969. The images are sources from the British Library, including the Oriental and India Office Collections at the British Library; the University of Birmingham Library; the Bodleian Library, Oxford; and the Public Record Office and the State Records, New South Wales, Australia.

Includes access to Modules 1 and 2. The bulk of the material ranges from the sixteenth century to the early twenty-first century. Module 2 includes six rare Apicius cookbooks, the earliest of which dates from the ninth century.

Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts.

Provides an extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing. The core is a collection of medieval manuscripts dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China. The manuscripts are from the British Library; Bodleian Library; Bibliothèque nationale de France; Cambridge University Library; Trinity College, Cambridge; Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg; Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, Österreichische Nationalbibliothek; Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen; the Beinecke Library at Yale University and about 15 other Libraries and Archives.

Covers topical categories, including the Israeli-Arab conflict, human and civil rights, international relations, terrorism, and others. The collection includes many points of view and contemporary accounts from both inside and outside the region on events such as: the Six Day War, the Yom Kippur War, Operation Entebbe, the taking of American hostages in Iran, the Assassination of Egyptian President Anwar Sadat, the Achille Lauro hijacking, and the Persian Gulf War. And on the origins and growth of organizations such as: the Arab League, the Palestine Liberation Organization, Hezbollah, Hamas, and the Muslim Brotherhood.

Includes access to the following modules: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange ; British Politics and Society ; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture ; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection ; Children's Literature and Childhood ; Mapping the World ; Europe And Africa ; Photography: the World Through the Lens ; Science, Technology, and Medicine; Women: Transnational Networks.

Users will be prompted to confirm that they are over the age of consent to access this resource. Please be aware that this resource contains material of a sexually explicit nature. Content includes, but is not limited to, descriptions and imagery of sexual violence; non-consensual sexual activity; sexual activity including minors; surgery and suicide.

Includes research papers and records spanning the tenures of the first three Institute directors; Dr Alfred C. Kinsey (1947-1956), Dr Paul H. Gebhard (1956-1982) and Dr June Reinisch (1982-1993).

Covers U.S. involvement in the region from the early days of the Kennedy administration, through the escalation of the war during the Johnson administration, to the final resolution of the war at the Paris Peace Talks and the evacuation of U.S. troops in 1973. Traces the actions and decisions at the highest levels of the U.S. foreign policy apparatus, as well as events on the ground in Vietnam, from the perspective of State Department officials, Associated Press reporters, and members of the U.S. Armed forces, including the Marines and the Military Assistance Command Vietnam. Collections also highlight all of the most important foreign policy issues facing the United States between 1960 and 1975. -- OCLC

The Freedom Riders rode various forms of public transportation in the South to challenge local laws or customs that enforced segregation. The Freedom Rides, and the violent reactions they provoked, bolstered the credibility of the Civil Rights Movement and called national attention to the violent disregard for the law that was used to enforce segregation in the southern United States. Riders were arrested for trespassing, unlawful assembly, and violating state and local Jim Crow laws, along with other alleged offenses.