The main subject heading, Buddhism, links to over 5,000 records. You may want to try one of these other, more focused subjects. These are a small sample of subject headings related to Buddhism and Buddhists.
- Geographic regions (e.g. Buddhism--India, Buddhism--Japan, Buddhism--United States, etc.)
- Aspects of Buddhism (e.g. Buddhism--Doctrines, Buddhism--History, Buddhism--Psychology, Buddhism--Relations, Buddhism--Study and teaching, etc.)
- Bstan-ʼdzin-rgya-mtsho, Dalai Lama XIV, 1935-
- Buddhism and culture
- Buddhist antiquities
- Buddhist art and symbolism
- Dalai Lamas
- Gautama Buddha
- Karma
- Mahayana Buddhism
- Monastic and religious life (Buddhism)
- Pure Land Buddhism
- Religious life--Buddhism
- Theravāda Buddhism
- Women in Buddhism
Databases:
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Religion
This link opens in a new window
Digital encyclopedia covering the field of religion. Along with essays, the resource also includes audio and visual content. Encompasses the study of scriptures, practices, social contexts, and history across religious traditions, various eras and places from diverse perspectives. - Treasury of Lives
- This link opens in a new window
Biographical encyclopedia of Tibet, Inner Asia, and the Himalayan region. Includes biographies of a wide range of figures, from Buddhist masters to artists and political officials. - World Religions: Belief, Culture, and Controversy
- This link opens in a new window
Information covering beliefs such as Hinduism, Christianity, Shintoism, Confucianism, and more, including Humanism, Agnosticism and Wicca - Digital Dictionary of Buddhism
- This link opens in a new window
A compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources. In addition to Chinese, Japanese, and Korean sources, the content includes Buddhism of India, Central Asia, and Tibet.
- Database of Modern Chinese Buddhism
This link opens in a new window
A collaborative gathering of information related to Buddhism in China between 1850 and 1950 CE.
Books:
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Call Number: Wells Library - Reference Reading Room -- BQ128 .E53 2008ISBN: 9780816054596Publication Date: 2008From Buddhism in Afghanistan to Zen Buddhism, this book offers an in-depth overview of this fascinating religion.In approximately 700 A-to-Z entries, Encyclopedia of Buddhism provides easy access to the terms, concepts, personalities, historical events, institutions, and movements that helped shape the history of Buddhism and the way it is practiced today. Although the primary focus of the encyclopedia is clearly on Buddhism in all its forms, this easy-to-use resource also provides introductions to Daoism, Shinto, Confucianism, and other religious practices in East and Southeast Asia
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780028657189Publication Date: 2005Also available in print.
Providing a comprehensive overview of one of Asia's most important religious and social forces, the Encyclopedia of Buddhism describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, saints, demons, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, this two-volume set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions like Shinto, Confucianism, Taoism and Christianity.Encyclopedia of Tibetan Buddhism by
Call Number: Wells Library - Reference Reading Room -- BQ7604 .E53 2012ISBN: 9788126146536Publication Date: 2012A five-volume set, covering the following topics: History of Tibetan Buddhism (vol. 1), Native development in Tibetan Buddhism (vol. 2), Schools of Tibetan Buddhism (vol. 3), Monasticism in Tibetan Buddhism (vol. 4), Tibetan Buddhahood and its practice (vol. 5).
Historical Dictionary of Buddhism by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780810857711Publication Date: 2009The Historical Dictionary of Buddhism covers and clarifies Buddhist concepts, significant figures, movements, schools, places, activities, and periods. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 700 cross-referenced dictionary entries.
The Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Buddhism by Call Number: Wells Library - Stacks -- BQ4055 .O94 2017ISBN: 9780199362387Publication Date: 2017As an incredibly diverse religious system, Buddhism is constantly changing. The Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Buddhism offers a comprehensive collection of work by leading scholars in the field that tracks these changes up to the present day. Taken together, the book provides a blueprint to understanding Buddhism's past and uses it to explore the ways in which Buddhism has transformed in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780691157863Publication Date: 2014The most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of Buddhism ever produced in English With more than 5,000 entries totaling over a million words, this is the most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of Buddhism ever produced in English. It is also the first to cover terms from all of the canonical Buddhist languages and traditions: Sanskrit, Pali, Tibetan, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.
- Buddhist-Christian StudiesCall Number: E-resource
- International Journal of Buddhist Thought & CultureCall Number: E-resource
- Journal of the International Association of Buddhist StudiesCall Number: E-resourceSome issues also available in print
- Journal of the Oxford Centre for Buddhist StudiesCall Number: E-resource
- Pacific World: Journal of the Institute of Buddhist StudiesCall Number: E-resource
- 84000: Translating the Words of the Buddha
- This link opens in a new window
The 84000 Reading Room is a browsable catalogue of all the texts in the Kangyur and Tengyur.
In the interest of preserving their traditional structure, the two great canonical collections are here divided into the same sections and subsections as the Degé Kangyur and Tengyur. Each subsection lists all the texts that belong to it in their traditional order, showing details of their titles in English, Tibetan, and Sanskrit, and numbered according to the Tōhoku catalogue. Translation status is indicated in the righthand column, with links to the translation if completed. - Ancient Buddhist Texts
- This link opens in a new window
Materials from the early and medieval Buddhist tradition covering texts in Pāli and Sanskrit; line by line (interlinear) texts and translations; translations in English only; studies of grammar, prosody and compilation; maps, reference works and audio files. - Buddha Nexus
- This link opens in a new window
A database devoted to the study of Buddhist texts and literary corpora in Pāli, Sanskrit, Tibetan, and Chinese, with particular emphasis on evolution of scriptures, formation of canons, and intellectual networks. - Buddhism Sacred Books (IUCAT)Books in IUCAT with a subject of Buddhism--Sacred Books.
- Buddhist Digital Archives (BUDA)
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of Tibetan literature with links to digital archives and initiatives
- Buddhist eLibrary
- This link opens in a new window
The Buddhist eLibrary Project is an initiative of Venerable Pannyavaro of the Buddha Dharma Education Association Inc and BuddhaNet.net in partnership with Mahachulalongkornrajavidyalaya University (MCU) International Buddhist College (IBC) and the Young Buddhist Association of Thailand (YBAT). - California State University Japanese American Digitization Project
- This link opens in a new window
Includes hundreds of digitized documents related to Buddhism and Buddhists in America. - Dhamma Talks
- This link opens in a new window
This site offers an extensive collection of English translations of suttas from the Pāli Canon, as well as a multitude of free downloads of Dhamma from the Kammaṭṭhāna (or Thai Forest) Tradition of Buddhism. Ṭhānissaro Bhikkhu of Metta Forest Monastery is the speaker, author or translator unless otherwise noted. - Digital Library of Buddhist Studies (National Taiwan University)
- This link opens in a new window
In Chinese and English. A database that includes bibliographies, full-text scholarship, scriptures, and language lessons. - Gāndhārī.org
- This link opens in a new window
Gāndhārī is a northwestern Middle Indo‐Aryan language closely related to Sanskrit and Pali, attested in use from the third century BCE to the fifth century CE. It served as one of the most important vehicles for early Buddhist literature and was instrumental in the spread of Buddhism to China in the second century CE. Gāndhārī was also an important administrative language, attested in hundreds of coin legends and close to a thousand secular documents, and some examples of non‐Buddhist literary texts in Gāndhārī have likewise been found. In the course of their history, Gāndhārī language and literature spread from their homeland in the Peshawar valley as far as Mathura in the south, Bamiyan in the west, Luoyang in the east and Kucha in the north. Over the last twenty years, the discovery of large numbers of new manuscript and epigraphical sources have greatly enriched our knowledge of Gāndhārī. Gandhari.org provides resources for those engaged in the study of Gāndhārī, including three reference works edited by Stefan Baums and Andrew Glass (A Dictionary of Gāndhārī, the Bibliography of Gāndhārī Studies and the Catalog of Gāndhārī Texts) and their comprehensive collection of source texts. - International Mission Photography Archive
- This link opens in a new window
"The photographs record missionary endeavors and reflect the missionaries’ experience of communities and environments abroad ... The pictures document indigenous peoples’ responses to missions and the history of indigenous churches ... They also offer views of traditional culture, landscapes, cities, and towns before and in the early stages of modern development." - Teachings of the BuddhaEnglish translations of important Buddhist texts. Available in print.
- Tibetan & Himalayan Library
- This link opens in a new window
The Tibetan and Himalayan Library (THL) is a publisher of websites, information services, and networking facilities relating to the Tibetan plateau and southern Himalayan regions. THL promotes the integration of knowledge and community across the divides of academic disciplines, the historical and the contemporary, the religious and the secular, the global and the local. In addition to more typical academic projects, THL promotes participatory knowledge that is created by and benefits local communities, while including contributors from all walks of life around the world. Data includes text, audio-video, images, maps, immersive objects, reference works, and interpretative essays. - Tibetan Manuscript - List of Collections
- This link opens in a new window
List of digital resources maintained by the Columbia University Libraries