Associate Librarian
Note that some databases below include full-text articles while others only tell you that an article or book chapter exists. For the latter category, IU-Link will help you determine if IU already has access to the full-text.
Open Access Journal Directories
- ROAD: Directory of Open Access JournalsA project of ISSN, the intergovernmental organization which manages at the international level the identification and the description of serial publications and ongoing resources, print and online, in any subject.
Academic Databases
- Academic Search (EBSCO)
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
- America: History & Life
Bibliographic database focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada, indexing more than 1,800 journals published, dissertations and reviews.
- American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES)
Provides information on East-Central Europe, Russia, Soviet Union and the former Soviet republics, with a collection of indexed sources published in the United States, Canada and some European countries.
- Année Philologique
Covers classical languages and literatures, ancient authors, Greek and Latin. Includes brief abstracts of articles.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
Western-language bibliographical database for research on East, Southeast and South Asia. Published by the Association for Asian Studies, it covers all subjects with special focus on the humanities and social sciences.
- Bibliography of British and Irish History
The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America. Includes more than 350,000 citations for newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, reviews, and trade publications from the United States and Canada with expanded content from Great Britain and Australia.
- Central and Eastern European Online Library
Full-text access to a searchable online archive of academic e-journals and e-books in the Humanities and Social Sciences from and about Central and Eastern Europe.
- China Academic Journals 中国学术期刊全文数据库
Provides access to hundreds of Chinese periodicals related to literature, history, philosophy, economics, political science, and law.
- China Doctoral Dissertations/Masters Theses Full-text Database 中国优秀博硕士学位论文全文数据库
Searchable full-text database of dissertations and theses from Chinese institutions, covering a wide range of subjects.
- Digital Library of Buddhist Studies (National Taiwan University)In Chinese and English. A database that includes bibliographies, full-text scholarship, scriptures, and language lessons.
- International African Bibliography Online
The International African Bibliography Online (IABO) is a specialist bibliography of African Studies and contains 140,000 entries of the International African Bibliography published in the years 1971 to 2015 and about 4,000 new publications will be added per year.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Indexes anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology, and interdisciplinary research in social sciences.
- International Medieval Bibliography
The IMB indexes articles in journals, conference proceedings, collections of essays and Festschriften. Indexing includes materials worldwide in a variety of languages.
- JSTOR
Provides searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, ecology, and business.
- MLA International Bibliography
The MLA Bibliography indexes material in modern languages, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film.
- OpenDissertations
Free database providing access to records for more than 1.2 million electronic theses and dissertations from around the world.
- Project Muse
Provides full text access and indexing for e-journals and e-books from a variety of scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, including millions of works from thousands of universities. Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
- Religion and Philosophy Collection
Full-text database for theology and philosophy research. Includes hundreds of journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language.