Political Science

Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Offers coverage at local, regional, national and international levels. Covers a range of disciplines, including political science, journalism, English, history, environmental studies, sociology, economics, education, business, health, and social sciences. Enables researchers to track subjects geographically and over time, analyze trends and statistics.

Some titles lasted a short time, or few extant issues have been found, so that the database may contain as little as a single issue from a source. Other newspapers had longer lives, and long runs of issues are available.

African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998:
Beginning with Freedom’s Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York
Age, L’Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman’s Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, and The Appeal (MN).

African American Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1956:
Key titles include Frederick Douglass’s New National Era (Washington, DC), Washington Tribune (Washington, DC), Chicago Bee (Chicago, IL), The Louisianian (New Orleans, LA), The Pine and Palm (Boston, MA), National Anti-Slavery Standard (New York, NY), New York Age (New York, NY), Harlem Liberator (New York, NY), North Carolina Republican and Civil Rights Advocate (Weldon, NC), and Southern News (Richmond, VA).

Includes access to Series 1 and 2:

African Newspapers, Series 1, 1800-1922:

Features English- and foreign-language titles from Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. Covers such events/topics as the repercussions of the Atlantic slave trade, life under colonial rule and the results of the Berlin Conference, the emergence of Black journalism, the Zulu Wars and the rejection of Western imperialism.

African Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1925

Features English- and foreign-language titles. Includes notable publications, such as the Demain (Algeria), Africa’s Luminary (Liberia), France Orientale (Madagascar), Al-Moghreb Al-Aksa (Morocco); O Moçambique (Mozambique), Voortrekker (Namibia), Nigerian Times (Nigeria), Munno (Uganda) and many widely sought South African titles from Cape Town, Grahamstown, Port Elizabeth, Pietermaritzburg and Johannesburg. Among the South African titles are Black Man, British Settler, Cape Times, Johannesburg Times, and South African Spectator.

Focus is on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, LGBT, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.

Focus is on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, LGBT, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.

Based on a collection of rare newspapers held by the American Antiquarian Society, with contributions from the Boston Athenaeum, the Connecticut Historical Society, the Connecticut State Library, the Library Company of Philadelphia; the Library of Congress, the libraries of universities such as Brown and Harvard, and private collections. Fully text-searchable; browseable by newspaper title.

Collections included:

African American Newspapers
African American Newspapers, Series 2
Caribbean Newspapers
Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876: From Colonies to Nation
Early American Newspapers, Series 2, 1758-1900: The New Republic
Early American Newspapers, Series 3, 1783-1922: From Farm to City
Early American Newspapers, Series 4, 1756-1922: The Rise of Industry
Early American Newspapers, Series 5, 1777-1922: An Emerging World Power
Early American Newspapers, Series 6, 1741-1922: Compromise and Disunion
Early American Newspapers, Series 7, 1773-1922: Reform and Retrenchment
Early American Newspapers, Series 11, 1803-1899: From Agrarian Republic to World Power
Early American Newspapers, Series 12, 1821-1900: The Specialized Press
Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection
Hispanic American Newspapers

Includes access to:

British Library Newspapers, Part I: 1800-1900:

Ranging from early tabloids like the Illustrated Police News to radical papers like the Chartist Northern Star, the 47 publications in Part I span national, regional, and local interests. Other notable papers of Part I include the Morning Chronicle, with famous contributors such as Henry Mayhew and John Stuart Mill; the Graphic, publishing both illustrations and news as well as illustrated fiction; and the Examiner, the radical reformist and leading intellectual journal.

British Library Newspapers, Part II: 1800-1900

Part II includes additional English regional newspapers with 22 additional publications. Researchers can find the newspapers of a number of towns and regions included in this collection: Nottingham, Bradford, Leicester, Sheffield, and York, as well as North Wales. The addition of two major London newspapers, The Standard and the Morning Post, captures conservative opinion in the nineteenth century, balancing the progressive, more liberal views of the newspapers that appear in Part I.

British Library Newspapers, Part III: 1741-1950

Part III includes 35 newspapers, encompassing provincial news journals like the Leeds Intelligencer and Hull Daily Mail, local interest publications such as the Northampton Mercury, and specialist titles such as the Poor Law Unions’ Gazette. Other noteworthy titles in Part III include the Westmoreland Gazette, whose early editor, Thomas De Quincy (of Confessions of an English Opium Eater) was forced to resign due to his unreliability.

British Library Newspapers, Part IV: 1732-1950

From early newspaper titles like the Stamford Mercury to what may be the oldest magazine in the world still in publication, the Scots Magazine, the 23 newspapers in Part IV offer local and regional perspectives from Aberdeen, Bath, Chester, Derby, Stamford, Liverpool, and York. In addition, Part IV includes the 1901-1950 runs of papers such as the Aberdeen Journal and Dundee Courier whose earlier newspapers are available in Part I and Part II.

British Library Newspapers, Part V: 1746-1950

With a concentration of titles from the northern part of the United Kingdom, the 36 newspapers in Part V includes titles from the Scottish localities of Fife, Elgin, Inverness, Paisley, and John O'Groats, as well as towns just below the border, such as Morpeth, Alnwick, and more. Includes access to the Coventry Herald, which features some of the earliest published writing of Mary Ann Evans (better known as George Eliot).

The Chicago Tribune (1849-1996) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

Additional access options:

Access to the Chicago Tribune from 2008 – recent (coverage extends to within days of the current issue) is at https://libraries.indiana.edu/chicago-tribune-proquest-digital-microfilm. This is a digitized microfilm of the Chicago Tribune.

The IUB Library holds the physical microfilm for the Tribune as well. The microfilm copy is especially important given that some articles are not available in the ProQuest resource because of the Supreme Court's Tasini ruling concerning the copyright rights of independent journalists and writers. ProQuest entries carry a note referring one to the microfilm copy. Here is the link to the physical microfilm in IUCAT: http://iucat.iu.edu/catalog/8070516

From the acclaimed holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia comes a broad range of recently uncovered books, pamphlets and broadsides, most of which were not included in either Charles Evans' monumental work or Roger Bristol's supplement. Printed during a 130-year period spanning the colonial era and the formation of the new nation, these nearly 1,000 rare and unique items represent a remarkable enrichment of the Readex digital edition of Early American Imprints. Searchable, full text is available for the items in this collection.

Founded to serve the city of London, the Financial Times eventually broadened its coverage to global financial and economic issues. Incorporating its rival the Financial News in 1945, the Financial Times expanded in the post-war years, reporting on topics such as industry, energy and international politics in full for the first time. In the final decades of the twentieth century, coverage of management, personal finance and the arts was added.

The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Many of these materials are first-hand reports of events as they occurred. As such, the FBIS Daily Reports constitutes an archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news.

FBIS Daily Reports is comprised of the reports from Middle East and [North] Africa (MEA), 1974-1987; Near East and South Asia (NES), 1987-1996; South Asia (SAS), 1980-1987; Sub-Saharan Africa (SSA), 1974-1980 and (AFR), 1987-1996; China (CHI), 1974-1996; Asia and the Pacific (APA), 1974-1987; East Asia (EAS), 1987-1996; Latin America (LAT and LAM), 1974-1996; Eastern Europe (EEU), 1974-1996; Soviet Union/Central Eurasia (SOV), 1974-1996; Western Europe (WEU), 1974-1996.

The IUB Libraries' Government Information, Maps and Microform Services (East Tower 2, or ET2), located on the 2nd floor of the Herman B Wells Library at 10th and Jordan, received these reports as part of the Federal Depository Library Program on microfiche. Feel free to contact ET2 staff regarding reports not yet available on this full text database, for earlier and later reports, and about related federal documents (including Congressional and Department of State documents).

Chronicle of 20th century American and international fashion, culture, and society.

Electronic access to the illustrated 19th century "Journal of Civilization," for a 56-year period: 1857-1912. Includes illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature and advertisements that shaped and reflected public opinion in this era. Also provides images in three sizes and offers the capability for producing high quality image printouts, and allows you to save pages as JPEG files.

With HarpWeek, you can:

Browse Harper's Weekly issues by a Table of Contents of included articles and illustrations
Browse Harper's Weekly issues by page images
Search for text or phrases within the pages of Harper's Weekly
Use the thesaurus-based index to find articles
Search synopses of fictional works within Harper's Weekly
Search cross-index groupings using the Subject Headings feature
Limit searches to one of 16 Harper's Weekly "Features": Advertisements, Article series, Biographical sketches/obituaries, Cartoons, Editorials, Fiction, Government announcements, Humor/satirical commentaries, Illustrations, Maps, News stories/items, Panoramic views, Poetry, Portraits, Publisher's notices and Travel narratives.

Additional access options: access to content 1988-Present (with a slight lag time for new issues) is available via Access World News.

Covers mostly the West and Southwest, but also Illinois, Indiana, and New York. Topics covered range from literature to politics, to labor and social movements. Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.

Historical Newspapers includes indexes to The Times (London) up to 1905 and the New York Times from 1863 to 1922 (with a few missing years).

The titles correspond to the printed index to the New York Times which the library owns from 1851 to the present (Wells Library, Reference Department); and to Palmer's Index to the Times and The Official Index to the Times, both owned in a complete run (Wells Library, Reference Department).


Full text of both newspapers is also available on microfilm and online.

First published May 14, 1842, the Illustrated London News was the world's first pictorial weekly newspaper. Its founder, Herbert Ingram, was an entrepreneurial newsagent, who noticed that newspapers sold more copies when they carried pictures. The newspaper covered wars, royal events, scientific invention, and exploration. In 1855 it launched the world's first color supplement. Over the years the publication played host to distinguished contributors, including Robert Louis Stevenson, Charles Dickens, Thomas Hardy, Wilkie Collins, Rudyard Kipling, and Agatha Christie; and artists such as Melton Prior, William Heath Robinson, F Matania, Mabel Lucie Atwell and H.M. Bateman.

The illustrated weeklies open a wide window on Russian cultural, social, and political life. Their editors traced the sweep of the Russian imagination at the apogee of Russian cultural power from the peak years of Dostoevsky and Tolstoy to the modernist era and the chaos of 1917. They captured imperial expansion, cultural innovation, high fashion, graphic arts, performing arts, grand funerals and anniversaries, occasions of state, wonders of science, and domestic and foreign politics. In addition, the weeklies inscribed the changing image of Russia’s great cities, its landscapes, and its multinational citizenry, together with literary life and a visual and verbal chronicle of all and sundry occasions and events.

The Index to Jewish Periodicals provides indexing to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Titles include such journals as Contemporary Jewry, Holy Land Studies, Jewish Culture & History, Journal of Palestine Studies, Studies in American Jewish Literature. Most references in the Index are not found in other guides to periodical literature. The database is intended for those interested in Jewish thought and contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs. Coverage of journals dates as far back as 1988.

The Indianapolis Star is the largest paper in Indiana. It has been awarded a Pulitzer Prize three times — once for meritorious public service and twice for investigative reporting. In 1975, the Star was honored for its 1974 series on corruption within the Indianapolis Police Department. It was cited again in 1991 for its 1990 series on medical malpractice.

Spanish thesaurus and interface. Searching in both Spanish and English. Bilingual citations. A collection of Hispanic magazines with full text. Covers business, health, technology, culture, current topics and other subjects. Cubre necesidades de información para todas las disciplinas académicas. Desde economía, ciencia y tecnología, psicología, educación, hasta arqueología, historia, literatura y más. Contiene revistas académicas de toda Iberoamérica.

The full text of the Los Angeles Times, with images of pages and articles; users can search and limit by date and article type.

Founded when Miami’s population was less than 5,500, The Miami Herald evolved with the south Florida city, offering detailed coverage of the development of Bayfront Park and the East Coast Railway to the Keys, as well as the Everglades Reclamation Project and the rise of the aviation industry. The Herald staff has won 20 Pulitzer Prizes; the first was awarded in 1951 for its coverage of U.S. Senate hearings on Miami’s gambling parlors. The paper’s most notable columnists have included political commentator Leonard Pitts, Jr., journalist Mirta Ojito, humorist Dave Barry and novelist Carl Hiassen.

Includes access to newspapers from the United States, Canada, United Kingdom & Ireland, Australia, and Panama.

Newspaper Source Plus provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) including the Bloomington Herald Times, and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for articles in the following major newspapers beginning in January 1, 1995:

Smartphone and tablet apps can be downloaded for free by visiting: https://www.nytimes.com/services/mobile/index.html (Please note e-reader apps are excluded from our Academic Group Pass.)

New IUB Affiliated Users - One-Time Activation of NYTimes.com IUB Group Pass
1. Go to http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT
2. Create a NYTimes.com account using your IU email address. (Note: If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your IU email address, you may log in with those credentials)
3. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear
4. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy your full access from any location

Returning IUB Affilated Users
Once you have activated your IUB Group Pass account, it should allow you full access until your expiration date with no further action on your part. However, if for any reason while on NYTimes.com you are served the message that you are reaching the limit of free articles on the site, please do the following: Make sure you are logged in to the NYTimes.com account with which you activated your Group Pass. If you log out of your account or visit NYTimes.com on a device where you are not logged in, you can simply log in to your account to continue enjoying access.

If your Group Pass has expired: Visit http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT to activate a new pass. Make sure you are logged in to the NYTimes.com account with which you activated your IUB Group Pass.

Unaffilated users may access up to 10 free articles (including blog posts, slide shows and other multimedia features) each month on NYTimes.com. This free, limited access resets at the beginning of each calendar month.

Content Availability:
1851-1922: unlimited article availability
1923-1980: up to five articles per day per user
1981-present: unlimited article availability

Additional access options for the New York Times:
Access to the New York Times from 2008 to the present (with a lag time of about three months)

Digitized microfilm of the NYT with a 3-month embargo. Note: The IUB Library holds the physical microfilm for the NYT as well. The microfilm copy is especially important given that some articles are not available in the ProQuest resource because of the Supreme Court's Tasini ruling concerning the copyright rights of independent journalists and writers. ProQuest entries carry a note referring one to the microfilm copy.

Access to the New York Times from 1851 - 2013 (plus access to the Times Index from 1851 - 1993)

Once your account is activated, you can access all content from a web browser, as well as via smartphone and tablet apps, from any location. To retain access via apps and the website, you must validate your account every 90 days by logging in using your IU credentials via https://libraries.indiana.edu/databases/wsj.

Smartphone and tablet apps can be downloaded for free by visiting: https://now.wsj.com/mobile/

After creating an account, you will be able to save articles. They will be permanently stored in your WSJ account and can be access via WSJ.com from any web browser on any device. To locate saved articles on WSJ.com, after logging in, click the arrow next tor your name in the right-hand corner to expand the drop-down menu, then select "Saved Articles."

Wall Street Journal Online is not available for unaffiliated users.

Additional access options:
Access to the Wall Street Journal from 1889-2000
Access to the Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition, 1984 - current

From 1877 - 2000, every backfile issue of The Washington Post has been digitized from cover to cover, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements. You can search using basic keyword, guided, publication-specific searches, and relevancy search techniques to locate information. You may also browse through issues page by page, as one would browse a printed edition.

World News Digest, formerly known as Facts On File, provides summaries of world and domestic news stories 1940-present. It covers major political, social, and economic events, including elections, wars and conflicts, and government and civics information. Maps and charts are included, as are graphs, historic photographs, and story indexes by decade, country, and topic.