Political Science

The University of Michigan's China Data Center provides access in Chinese and English to official statistics from China. Historical statistics, data for cities and counties, and macro-economic and industrial statistics are included.

Comprehensive database Web site focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches. Also includes statistical yearbooks, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China. IU Bloomington's subscription to this database does not include detailed census files for population or economic censuses, or collections such as a specialized Tibetan database. (IUCAT)

Archive of data for individual countries. In establishing the archive, it was decided to assemble materials dating, insofar as possible, from 1815 (immediately after the Congress of Vienna and formation of the modern international system). It was also decided that all commonly recognized members of the international community would be represented, excluding a handful of quasi-states such as Andorra, Liechtenstein, Monaco, and Vatican City. In 1977, data for the latter were also introduced, with coverage extending from 1975.

The archive has almost 200 variables and contains data for over 200 country units, with provision for entries from 1815 (excluding the two modern wartime periods, 1914-1918 and 1940-1945). The basic structure of the archive is that of a rectangular matrix of periodically augmented records, each encompassing data for one country-year. The data is contained in the file and may be categorized in a variety of ways. First, all of the variables currently included in the file are longitudinal, rather than cross-sectional, in character.

The Demographic Yearbook is a comprehensive collection of international demographic statistics, prepared by the Statistics Division of the United Nations. The Demographic Yearbook is the first electronic version of the Yearbook, providing official demographic statistics for 229 countries or areas of the world from 1948 to 1997. All editions of the Demographic Yearbook have been received by the Government Publications Department at IUB through the UN depository program.

Produced by the International Monetary Fund. The resource contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS Country Pages; exchange rate series for all Fund member countries, plus Aruba and the Netherlands Antilles; major Fund accounts series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS World Tables.

IUB's GIMSS (Government Information, Microforms and Statistical Services), 2nd Floor of the IUB Herman B Wells Library retains print copies of IFS from its beginning. GIMSS was also a subscriber to IFS on CD and has an old edition of that product available. GIMSS staff will be happy to assist with details about the use of the online or print editions of this resource.

The statistics include data on: population, migration, trade, imports and exports, labor force, unemployment, wholesale and consumer prices, education, schools, universities, higher education, agriculture, industry, energy,telecommunications, post, civil aviation, railways, motor vehicles, shipping, TV and radio, Finance, Currency, Government Expenditure, and national accounts.

In addition to tracking political disputes on hot-button issues dating back to the Reagan administration, Polling the Nations includes tens of thousands of polls on global affairs, popular culture, sports, health, inventions, religion, gender, and other diverse subjects.

Each of the nearly 350,000 records reports a question asked and the responses given. Also included in each record is the polling organization responsible for the work, the date the information was released, the sample size, and universe, i.e., the groups or areas included in the interview, such as parents with children in public schools, Great Britain or California.

The print and microfiche counterpart to this resource is titled American Public Opinion Index. It begins in 1981, covering five earlier years complementing this web resource:

Wells Library Reference Department
HM261 .A463
Holdings: 1981-1998
Cumulative index for 1981-1985

Contains very detailed merchandise trade statistics. Includes Commodity list, country list, glossary and various methods for selecting and using the data, including graphs, downloads, and favorites.

Indiana University Bloomington is a depository for United Nations' documents. For additional information consult the staff in Government Information, Microforms, and Statistical Services (2nd Floor of the IUB Herman B Wells Library).

One Mail instructions:

If you setup your UN Comtrade Database account using your @indiana.edu email address, you will need to create a new account with your iu.edu email address following the below instructions. If you would like saved content from your indiana.edu account to be transferred over to your new iu.edu account, reach out Comtrade support (comtrade@un.org) and request saved account data be transferred.

Create a new account:

1. From a web browser, access the UN Comtrade Database. 
2. Select "login" followed by "sign up now.” 
3. Follow the prompts to create an account with your iu.edu email. 
4. To transfer data from your previous account, contact Comtrade support (comtrade@un.org). 

Covers agriculture, forestry, communication, economics, education, energy, environment, health services, disabilities, demographics, international trade, transportation, gender, income and finance.

Most of these data sets have been published in various statistical series received by the GIMSS (Gov't Information, Microforms and Statistical Services) at IUB through the UN depository program or through subscriptions with affiliated international governmental organizations.

Indiana University Bloomington is a depository for United Nations' documents. For additional information consult the staff in Government Information, Microforms, and Statistical Services (2nd Floor of the IUB Herman B Wells Library). 812-855-6924, email: libgimms@iu.edu

Offers external debt and financial flow data for the 189 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System. The time-series for 216 indicators run from 1970 to 2009, with contractual obligations data until 2015. The indicators include external debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, and key debt ratios as well as average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructurings, and scheduled debt service projections.

The database is released in January each year and updated in April, to include the latest-year estimates prepared for the print editions.

Also includes topical country data and regional aggregates showing time series in table and chart form. The topics are: external debt, aggregate net resource flows (long term), net flows and transfers on debt, net financial flows from multilateral institutions, and international bond issues (new and outstanding).

Premiere data source on the global economy. It contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2000 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Data selection screens are intuitive and easy to use. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted. These features plus data export options in standard formats like Excel make WDI Online the most useful tool yet for researching developmental data.
Print and CD-ROM versions of WDI are retained in GIMSS (Government Information, Microforms and Statistical Services), 2nd floor of the IUB Herman B Wells Library, which also subscribes to most World Bank publications.

Allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators and sources, and derive new statistics.  Users can visualize data in multiple formats: table, chart, map, or graphs, and profile specific industries, geographies, topics, or points in time. Includes statistical literacy with detailed source descriptions and a library of reference material addressing the basics of all things data.

The data.census.gov platform is built on the Census Data application programming interface, or API, which provides users with direct access to the data, and allows users to create data visualizations, maps, and other data displays.

Archive of data for individual countries. In establishing the archive, it was decided to assemble materials dating, insofar as possible, from 1815 (immediately after the Congress of Vienna and formation of the modern international system). It was also decided that all commonly recognized members of the international community would be represented, excluding a handful of quasi-states such as Andorra, Liechtenstein, Monaco, and Vatican City. In 1977, data for the latter were also introduced, with coverage extending from 1975.

The archive has almost 200 variables and contains data for over 200 country units, with provision for entries from 1815 (excluding the two modern wartime periods, 1914-1918 and 1940-1945). The basic structure of the archive is that of a rectangular matrix of periodically augmented records, each encompassing data for one country-year. The data is contained in the file and may be categorized in a variety of ways. First, all of the variables currently included in the file are longitudinal, rather than cross-sectional, in character.