This database contains historical documents capturing the hidden history of Europe from 1940-1945. It contains records of political life in Occupied Western Europe available to the British Government during World War II, and includes detailed information from the occupied states of Belgium, Denmark, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway and the Vatican, and the neutral countries—Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. Topics range from the German occupation, the propaganda struggle, the creation of the first resistance units, and essays on life under occupation in France, the Low Countries and Norway.
Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Includes contact information for officials and features information on over 1,700 international organizations.
Contains reproductions of hundreds of FBI files documenting the federal scrutiny, harassment, and prosecution to which Black Americans of all political persuasions were subjected.
Many of the documents originated with Black "confidential special informants" enlisted by the FBI to infiltrate a variety of organizations. In addition to infiltration, the FBI contributed to the infringement of First Amendment freedoms by making its agents a constant visible presence at radical rallies and meetings. This archive is based on original microfilm.
Contents: COINTELPRO: Black Nationalist "Hate" Groups -- FBI file on A. Philip Randolph -- FBI File on Adam Clayton Powell -- FBI file on the Atlanta child murders (ATKID) -- FBI file on the Black Panther Party, North Carolina -- FBI file on the Committee for Public Justice -- FBI file on Elijah Muhammed -- FBI file on the Highlander Folk School -- FBI file on the Ku Klux Klan murder of Viola Liuzzo -- FBI file on Malcolm X -- FBI file : MIBURN (Mississippi Burning) -- FBI file on the Moorish Science Temple of America -- FBI File on the Murder of Lemuel Penn -- FBI file on Muslim Mosque, Inc. -- FBI file on the NAACP -- FBI file on the National Negro Congress -- FBI file on the Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU) -- FBI file on Paul Robeson -- FBI file on the Reverend Jesse Jackson -- FBI file on Roy Wilkins -- FBI file on the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee -- FBI file on Thurgood Marshall -- FBI file on W. E. B. Du Bois -- FBI investigation file on Communist infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference -- FBI surveillance file: Malcolm X -- FBI investigation file on Marcus Garvey. (OCLC)
The collection contains texts, personal letters, journal essays, radio broadcasts, and memoirs from women congresses from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime.
The collections, mostly in Spanish, include works by feminists about feminists and their causes, works by men on the status of women, and literary works by feminist writers that illustrate or discuss the condition of women. Among the journals in the collection are items from Aspiraciones, a feminist journal published by the Partido Feminista Aspiraciones, La Mujer Moderno, the journal for the Club Femenino de Cuba, and La Mujer, the journal of the Partido Demócrata Sufragista.
There are also assessments by politicians, jurists, and legislators about the condition of women in the cities and countryside and excerpts from novels, essays and poetry written by women about women. Also included are literary anthologies of Cuban women writers in general as well as literary analysis of these women's works.
Source Library: Personal collection Dr. K. Lynn Stoner
Statistical data on government financial operations for 145 IMF member countries.
The IMF Government Finance Statistics Manuals and Guides contains statistical data on government financial operations for 145 IMF member countries. Where reported, the database contains time series from 1990 onwards using the Government Finance Statistics Manual, 2001 (GFSM 2001) framework. The statistics, issued quarterly, are updated as new data are received and time series become available. These time series present combined statistics on revenue, expenses, transactions in nonfinancial assets and financial assets and liabilities as well as for stocks of assets and liabilities of general government and its subsectors. (IMF site)
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) supplies the numeric raw data from a variety of sources, including survey research, censuses, and administrative records. PLEASE NOTE: User must create an account while on campus before they can access ICPSR while off campus. Please click "more" for additional details.
ICPSR holdings include several time series and other types of aggregate data. ICPSR datasets were originally collected for specific research or administrative purposes. However, the data have research potential that outlives the original purposes for which they were collected. ICPSR preserves these valuable data resources and makes them publicly available for secondary analysis. ICPSR Direct is a new service providing direct access to the ICPSR data holdings for all students, faculty, and staff at ICPSR member institutions.
ACCESS: Off-campus access is available but users must first create an account on-campus and log in on-campus every 6 months.
FBI surveillance files: African Liberation Support Committee and All African People's Revolutionary Party.
Composed of FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People's Revolutionary Party; this collection provides two unique views on African American support for liberation struggles in Africa, the issue of Pan-Africanism, and the role of African independence movements as political leverage for domestic Black struggles. (OCLC)
A variety of materials comprise this collection, including:
FBI surveillance and informant reports and correspondence from a variety of offices including, NYC, Baltimore, New Haven, Detroit, Miami, Atlanta, Newark, Kansas City, and Cleveland; Intercepted correspondence; Ephemera from NGO support groups; Justice Department memoranda, correspondence, and analyses; Newsclippings and articles; Copies of handbills, pamphlets, and newsletters; Witness statements; Extremist Intelligence Section reports; Domestic Intelligence Division reports and memoranda; Transcriptions of wiretaps, typewriter tapes, and coded messages; Speech excerpts; Transcripts of conversations.
Originally derived from two essential reference collections for historical legal studies, the Nineteenth Century and Twentieth Century Legal Treatises microfilm collections. Provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history, including casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches and more.
Provides articles from several well-known periodicals and scholarly journals on military and intelligence. Key subjects include: socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more.
A comprehensive index to historical information published by the United States federal government.
Provides online access to all issues of the Monthly Catalog from 1895 to June 1976, both as keyed full text records and as page images of the original printed catalog. This is a finding aid only, and does not include full text for any of the publications included.
Online portal for Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) publications and statistics. Source for internationally comparable statistical, environmental and socio-economic reports and data. OECD works with policy makers, governments and citizens to inform public decision-making.
Also includes content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
Access to fully-translated English-language versions of all the world's constitutions (both national and sub-national), accompanied by individual jurisdictional commentaries, and supplementary materials, including foundation documents, historical versions of constitutions, and amendment Acts/Laws.
Texts in political philosophy, including the major works of: Niccolò Machiavelli (1469-1527), Jeremy Bentham (1748-1832), Edmund Burke (1729-1797), Thomas Paine (1737-1809), David Hume (1711-1776), John Locke (1632-1704), John Stuart Mill (1806-1873), Alexander Hamilton (1757-1804), John Jay (1745-1829), James Madison (1751-1836), and Jean-Jacques; Rousseau (1712-1778).
An archive of primary source documents, covering the repatriation and emigration of the Displaced Persons and survivors of the Holocaust and World War II.
Files include original reports on orphans and Unaccompanied Children Under UNRRA Care, Voluntary Societies British Zone Monthly Reports, 1949-, Welfare Work Amongst Jewish Prison Inmates, DPs in Assembly Stations, 1950, Displaced persons and prisoners of war to and from Italy, Complaints about Russian refugees and displaced persons (DPs); allegations of mistreatment of Soviet nationals, and Repatriation and disposal of prisoners of war, surrendered personnel, displaced persons etc.
Digital archive of Pravda (Правда, Truth), the central daily of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union. Coverage is 1912-2009. Throughout the Soviet era, party members were obligated to read Pravda. Today, Pravda remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation, an important political faction in contemporary Russian politics.
Pravda was launched by Lenin; it survived, usually under different titles, the repeated suspensions by the tsarist government before it became the organ of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union. Many important Bolshevik leaders (including Stalin) worked with the newspaper. It voiced the views of the leadership of the Soviet Union.
Provides access to United States Federal legislative history documents
Compilations of digital full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws. Covers over 27,000 laws, including all CIS histories from 1970-2012 (many with updated research and indexing) and approximately 18,000 new histories from 1789-1969.
Access to political science, public policy, and international relations journals. Also includes thousands of recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources.
Access to statistical content information produced by U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. Includes tables, statistical reports, publication abstracts, and datasets. Results are ranked by relevance. Faceted search results can then be filtered by document type, source, date published, geographic area, and more.
ACCESS TO THIS TITLE WILL NO LONGER BE AVAILABLE AFTER JULY 31, 2023. Citations and abstracts of Russian language monographs, articles, etc. covering economics, demography, philosophy, sociology, history, archeology, ethnography, law, political science, linguistics, literary criticism, religion, and international relations.
This database brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's activism in public life
Resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.
Women and Social Movements contains the following resources:
124 document projects that interpret and present documents, most of which are not otherwise available online. Each document project poses an interpretive question and provides a collection of documents that address the question. Altogether these document projects provide more than 1,731 documents, approximately 740 images, and over 600 links to other websites.
More than 22,000 pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements. These materials have been selected by the Editors for their relevance to the focus of the website. For a full bibliography click on the Primary Sources link
A dictionary of social movements and organizations.
A chronology of U.S. Women's History.
Teaching Tools with lesson ideas and document-based questions related to the website's document projects.