East Asian Studies Collection

This trial contains 1,135 selected full-text titles from over 200,000 Airiti e-book titles in the following subject areas: Chinese history and literature, art history, political science, international relations, reference books, and reprint collections of important texts.

Please be reminded that the platform offers unlimited access, but only two users can access the same title simultaneously. Closing the window or having the window idle for 30 minutes will release the seat to other readers. Please clear your cookies if you are only able to read a portion of the book. If the issue persists, please contact your librarian (Wen-ling Liu) for assistance.

Trial period: 9/27-12/9/24

Please send your comments, book recommendations, and questions to Wen-ling Liu (wliu@iu.edu) before 12/10/2024.

The database covers more than 143,000 inscriptions on more than 59,000 oracle bones found at the Yin ruins site. It includes current research as well as information about the artifacts. Representing the earliest known examples of Chinese writing, the inscriptions provide insight into the origin and development of Chinese characters. The database also supports research on the social history of the Shang Dynasty (1600-1050 BCE).

How to log on:
1) Click on URL: http://obid.ancientbooks.cn/
2) Click on “登录 (log on)”at upper right corner
3) Click on “邮箱登录 (mailbox log on)”in the middle
4) Copy ydanjgw@163.com to “邮箱账号 (mailbox account)”
5) Copy “123456” to “密码 (password)”
6) Drag the movable piece on the left to match the picture shown.
7) Successful log in to the trial database.)

Trial period: 7/20/2024-9/15/2024

Please send your comments to Wen-ling Liu (wliu@indiana.edu) before 9/15/2024.

This database includes the following four sub-databases：
1. Database of the Chinese Political Campaigns in the 1950s: From the Land Reform to State-Private Joint Ownership (1949-1956) 中國五十年代初中期的政治運動數據庫: 従土地改革到公私合营, 1949-1956
2. The Chinese Anti-Rightist Campaign Database 1957 中國反右運動數據庫 (1957- )
3. The Chinese Great Leap Forward / Great Famine Database (1958-1962) 中國大躍進/ 大饑荒數據庫 (1958-1962)
4. The Chinese Cultural Revolution Database (1966-1976) 中國文化大革命文庫 (1966-1976)

Trial period: 5/16/2024-6/16/2024

Please send your comments to Wen-ling Liu (wliu@indiana.edu) before 6/16/2024.