East Asian Studies Collection

Product specially designed for libraries and institutes.
It has the following content:

• Scanned images of the newspaper from 1945-1984.
• Full-text indexed searches from 1985 to the present.
• Full-text plus PDF images of all regionally published Asahi news, charts, and pictures from November 2005 on.
• Shukan Asahi (Asahi Weekly) from April 2000 on.
• AERA weekly from the first issue on.
• The 2007 edition of Chiezo.

Includes over 900,000 citations, dating primarily from 1971 onwards, with more than 400,000 citations since 1992. All entries are searchable by author, title, year of publication, place of publication, language of publication, journal title, country, subject, keyword, ISSN and ISBN. Includes the full content of the printed volumes of the annual Bibliography of Asian Studies dating back to 1971.

Licensed full text content will display a "Full Access" icon.

Century Journals Project selects the most important academic journals published in China and digitizes all issues since their very first issue up till 1993 in an effort to expand the China Academic Journals Full-text Database. There are 9317 titles of full-text journals over 90% of all journals which are officially published in China. And there are 3964 exclusively & solely licensed journals which is about 42% of all journals in China.

Chinese Ancient Texts (CHANT), a browsable and searchable database, provides full-text access to Chinese classical works and excavated ancient documents. Images of the original scripts can be viewed side by side with the interpretation texts. Created by the Institute of Chinese Studies (ICS), Chinese University of Hong Kong, it comprises 7 full-text databases including:

1. Oracular Inscriptions on Tortoise Shells and Bones
2 . Bronze Inscriptions
3. Excavated Wood/Bamboo and Silk Scripts
4. Traditional Chinese Texts of Wei Jin and Northern and Southern Dynasties (220-589 CE)
5. The Entire Body of Extant Han and Pre-Han (pre-220 CE) Traditional Chinese Texts.

The largest comprehensive online full-text database in China. In addition to the purchase of the 1994-2001 back files of the Literature/History/Philosophy Series, the IUB Library has current subscriptions to the following modules: (F) Literature/History/Philosophy Series, (G) Politics/Military Affairs/Law, (H) Education & Social Sciences, and (J) Economics & Management. 

China, America and the Pacific offers an extensive range of archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Manuscript sources, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps document this fascinating history.

Includes access to the following modules:  Imperial China and the West Part 1: 1815-1881 ; Diplomacy and Political Secrets, 1860-1950 ; Records of the Maritime Customs Service of China, 1854-1949 ; Missionary, Sinology, and Literary Periodicals, 1817-1949 ; Imperial China and the West Part 2: 1865-1905 ; Hong Kong, Britain, and China Part 1: 1841-1951.

Full-text articles from more than 350 core newspapers from every province of China. The articles are arranged in six series, and IU subscribes to the following four series:

Politics/Military/Law
Economics
Education/Society
Love/Marriage/Family/Health

Rare and important highlights of the Wason Collection include five manuscript volumes of the Encyclopaedia Maxima (1547), a 1661 ‘jade book’ bearing an inscription by the Kangxi Emperor, the manuscripts resulting from the mission to China in 1792-4 of the British diplomat Lord Macartney, a set of publications of the Chinese Maritime Customs Service (founded 1854), and a variety of 16th- and 17th-century books and manuscripts in Latin, French, Spanish and Portuguese, mostly written by Jesuit missionaries.

The University of Michigan's China Data Center provides access in Chinese and English to official statistics from China. Historical statistics, data for cities and counties, and macro-economic and industrial statistics are included.

Comprehensive database Web site focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches. Also includes statistical yearbooks, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China. IU Bloomington's subscription to this database does not include detailed census files for population or economic censuses, or collections such as a specialized Tibetan database. (IUCAT)

Includes theses and dissertations from 469 doctor degree awarding programs and 753 master degree awarding programs. Access includes the following modules:

(F) Literature/History/Philosophy
(G) Politics/Military Affairs/Law
(H) Education & Social Sciences
(J) Economics & Management

IUB has acquired 241 titles of APABI Chinese ebooks and 52 eReference materials. More titles will be added on an on-going basis. The viewer Apabi Reader requires installation. The introduction guide with the Viewer information can be accessed from the "Help" link, located at top right corner of the main page.

Pishu are published by the Social Sciences Academic Press, a branch of the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences. These reports feature research and analysis by the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences and authors from similar institutions, and present objective analysis versus official government messaging on strategic issues. Covered topics include a variety of issues of importance to China's government and research community, including international relations, agricultural policy, and industry competitiveness.

This full-text digital collection is based primarily on manuscript materials held at the library of the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), the British Library in London, and supplemented by additional sources from seven institutes, such as the Cambridge University Library. Covers multiple perspectives from politicians, diplomats, missionaries, business people, and tourists. In addition, there are over 400 color paintings, maps and drawings by English and Chinese artists, as well as many photographs, sketches and ephemeral items depicting Chinese people, customs, and events.

Full-text database of scholarly journals published by major Korean academic societies and research institutes. It includes over 1.7 million articles from 1,900 journals from 1918 onwards.

A compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temples, schools, persons, etc. that are found in East Asian Buddhist canonical sources. Since much of what East Asian Buddhists have written about is the Buddhism of India, Central Asia, and Tibet, the content of this database/dictionary/encyclopedia/translation glossary is pan-Buddhist in character.

Duxiu is a huge content-based database composed of more than 600,000,000 full-text pages (books, articles, theses, web pages, newspapers) with very flexible searches. Using the book-filter, one can read a limited number of pages directly on-line, and in many cases you can email to yourself 50 pages or 1/5th of a book, whichever is less, once per week by clicking on Library Document Delivery Center. Within 3 to 5 minutes a link will be sent to your email box, and by clicking that link, you can read the text online, and print it out (6 pages at a time).

The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Many of these materials are first-hand reports of events as they occurred. As such, the FBIS Daily Reports constitutes an archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news.

FBIS Daily Reports is comprised of the reports from Middle East and [North] Africa (MEA), 1974-1987; Near East and South Asia (NES), 1987-1996; South Asia (SAS), 1980-1987; Sub-Saharan Africa (SSA), 1974-1980 and (AFR), 1987-1996; China (CHI), 1974-1996; Asia and the Pacific (APA), 1974-1987; East Asia (EAS), 1987-1996; Latin America (LAT and LAM), 1974-1996; Eastern Europe (EEU), 1974-1996; Soviet Union/Central Eurasia (SOV), 1974-1996; Western Europe (WEU), 1974-1996.

The IUB Libraries' Government Information, Maps and Microform Services (East Tower 2, or ET2), located on the 2nd floor of the Herman B Wells Library at 10th and Jordan, received these reports as part of the Federal Depository Library Program on microfiche. Feel free to contact ET2 staff regarding reports not yet available on this full text database, for earlier and later reports, and about related federal documents (including Congressional and Department of State documents).

The six parts of this collection make available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980:

1919-1929: Kuomintang, CCP and the Third International
1930-1937: The Long March, civil war in China and the Manchurian Crisis
1938-1948: Open Door, Japanese war and the seeds of communist victory
1949-1956: The Communist revolution
1957-1966: The Great Leap Forward
1967-1980: The Cultural Revolution

Includes access to three modules:

Japan, 1931-1945: Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific:

Section one begins in 1931, as Japan invades Manchuria. This incident, and continued Japanese activities in the region, would lead to their dramatic withdrawal from the League of Nations and further alienation from the western powers they had allied with during the First World War. The files in this section document the decline in relations, through war in the Pacific, up until Japanese surrender on board the US Missouri in 1945.

Japan, 1946-1952: Occupation of Japan:

From 1946-1952 Japan was occupied by Allied Powers. The files for this period offer a British perspective on the creation of a democratic state in Japan and the enforcement of a new constitution. They include key British communications and reports covering topics such as war crime trials, reparations, and Japan’s economic recovery. They conclude in 1952, the year the Treaty of San Francisco normalized Anglo-Japanese relations and the first post-war British Ambassador to Japan, Esler Dening, was appointed.

Japan and Great Power Status, 1919-1930:

In 1919, as a vital member of the Allied Powers, Japan found itself occupying a new position of international power within a reorganized world order. The files in this section trace the development of this power and Japan’s relationship with the West during a decade of turbulent economic, political and social change in the wake of the First World War. Beginning with the Paris Peace Conference and the ‘Shantung Question’, the files offer insight into the events of the 1920s, from the termination of the Anglo-Japanese Alliance, the devastation of the Kantō Earthquake, and the end of the Taishō democracy, to the beginning of the Shōwa period, financial crisis and Japan’s increasingly imperialist policies in Manchuria.

Grand Secretariat Archives is a database that contains documents originally housed in the storerooms of the Grand Secretariat of the Qing dynasty (1644-1912). After 1949 these documents were kept at the Institute of History and Philology of Academia Sinica. The entire archive contains about 310,000 items. The collection, dating from the Ming dynasty to the Qing dynasty (1368-1912), encompasses a wide variety of subjects. For full content coverage, see "Grand Secretariat Archives - Inventory and History of Preservation". Also, portions of the archives had been published under title: Ming Qing dang an.--OCLC The archives of the Grand Secretariat currently housed at the Institute were originally kept at the Grand Secretariat Storehouse in the Ch’ing imperial palace. They were removed from the Storehouse when it underwent renovation in 1909. After the overthrow of the Ch’ing, these archives changed hands several times, and were, at one point, even sold to a paper recycling factory. Eventually, the Institute purchased them from Li Sheng-to, a book collector, in 1929 thanks to the efforts of Fu Ssu-nien, the Institute’s first director. There are over four thousand Ming (1368-1644) documents and more than three hundred thousand volumes of Ch’ing (1644-1911) archival materials in this collection, including imperial decrees, edicts, memorials, tribute document, examination questions, examination papers, rosters of successful examination candidates, documents from the offices of the Grand Secretariat, documents from the offices for book compilation, and old documents from Mukden. Memorials make up the bulk these documents.--Publisher

IUCAT, Indiana University's online library catalog, provides comprehensive access to millions of items held by the IU Libraries statewide, including books, recordings, US government publications, periodicals, and other types of material. Users can access IUCAT from any Internet-connected computer or device, whether in the libraries, on campus, or off campus.

JapanKnowledge Lib is the largest and most resourceful site about Japan. It provides access to various reference sources, including Encyclopedia Nipponica and Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, It also contains full-text of books in the Toyo Bunko collection, recent issues of the Economist Japanese edition, NNA world news, collection of video clips, maps, and many other useful links. IU's subscription of the JapanKnowledge+ database includes the following databases as well: Jitsu 字通, Nihon kokugo daijiten 日本国語大辞典, and Nihon rekishi chimei taikei 日本歴史大系.

The Japan Times was first published March 22, 1897, with the intention to provide an a English-language paper focused on current events to aid Japan in the participating in the international community.

JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Mellon Foundation, provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines. These scholarly journals can be browsed online and searched, and the page images can be printed for those available in full-text. The IUB Libraries subscribe to current content for only some titles available through JSTOR. Includes access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Hebrew Journals, Ireland Collection, Lives of Literature, Public Health Collection, Security Studies Collection, Sustainability Collection.

All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume. Many include content up to a "moving wall" of 3-5 years ago, although some journals have a fixed ending date for their content in JSTOR. Please check individual journals for exact dates of coverage. 

For information about access to this resource for IU alumni, contact the Indiana University Alumni Association.

Online Japanese-English, English-Japanese dictionary database that searches multiple dictionary sources, including:

Leaders + plus
New Eiwadai Dictionary
Luminous English-Japanese dictionary
English-Japanese computer glossary
Physics and chemistry English-Japanese dictionary
Medical English-Japanese dictionary
Research company business English-Japanese dictionary
ShinKazuhide Dictionary

Knowledge content resource with focus on Korean Studies, containing 162 digital products categorized under ten subjects (history, literature, art, culture, religion, philosophy, sociology, classics of Korean studies, traditional medicine, and animal and plants).

The collection includes almost all periodicals published during critical periods later known as the Opium Wars, Westernization Movement, Reform Movement of 1898 and Revolution of 1911. It contains the Women's Periodicals that advocated women's liberation and mental enlightenment, the Four Major Late Qing Dynasty Novel Journals as emerged during the great flourishing period of novels of the late Qing Dynasty, the Vernacular Chinese Periodicals founded to explore the people's mind and spread new knowledge, and the Science and Technology Periodicals which introduced new technologies and spread scientific knowledge. Users may have access to some 280,000 pieces of historical documents and browse or download them in full text.

Edward Sylvester Morse went to Japan on a scientific expedition in 1877 and was eventually made Chair of Zoology at the new Imperial University of Tokyo. In addition to preserving the household records of a samurai family and many accounts of the tea ceremony, Morse made notes on subjects as diverse as shop signs, fireworks, hairpins, agricultural tools, artists’ studios, music, games, printing, carpentry, the Ainu, gardens, household construction, art and architecture.

Comprehensive, editorially maintained database of funding opportunities combined with a unique database of over 3 million pre-populated scholar profiles. Pivot's proprietary algorithm compiles pre-populated researcher profiles unique to Indiana University and matches them to current funding opportunities in the expansive COS Pivot database. This allows users to search for a funding opportunity and instantly view matching faculty from inside or outside IU.

"Han ji dian zi wen xian zi liao ku" is part of the "Full-Text Chinese Records Database" (Han ji quan wen zi liao ku), developed and maintained by the Academia Sinica since 2000. This database alone is a compilation of around 500 titles, including such large ones as "Veritable Records of the Ming Dynasty" (Ming shi lu) and "Veritable Records of the Qing Dynasty" (Qing shi lu).

The electronic version of Si ku quan shu (Complete Library in Four Branches of Literature) was compiled during the years 1773-1782 by edict from Emperor Qianlong. It includes 3,460 works, and more than 36,000 volumes. It covers a wide range of subjects including the classics, history, literature, philosophy, geography, politics, governmental rules and regulations, economics, society, astronomy, science, technology, medicine, and more. It is the most comprehensive collection of Chinese scholarship from antiquity to the 18th century.

Also includes empresses and consorts, relatives of the emperors, and imperial princesses (with the exception of the four families of the imperial princes of Fushiminomiya, Katsuranomiya, Arisugawanomiya, and Kanninnomiya), prepared in the pre-war period through extensive research conducted by the Department of the Imperial Household on all extant documents and records available at the time.

Newspapers included:

Lian he bao 聨合報 (United Daily), 1951- present
Jing ji ri bao 經濟日報 (Economics Daily), 1967- present
Lain he wan bao 聨合晚報 (United Evening News), 1988- present
Min sheng bao 民生報 (Min sheng Daily), 1978-2006
Xing bao 星報 (Star Daily), 1999-2006
Ouzhou ri bao 毆洲日報 (Europe Daily), 2000-2009
Meizhou shi jie ri bao 美洲世界日報 (World News America), 2000- present
Upaper, 2007- present

WorldCat is OCLC's Online Union Catalog. It is the world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 33 million bibliographic records from libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to do a comprehensive search of published material, to verify citations, or to identify other libraries that own an item.

Zasshi kiji sakuin shuusei deetabeesu: Meiji kara genzai made sougou zasshi kara chishi made = The complete database for Japanese magazines and periodicals from the Meiji era to the present. Index to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, and including local periodicals not present in many other indexes. Coverage is from 1868 onwards. Merges data from various composite periodical indexes by Kokuritsu Kokkai Toshokan.

Instructions for access: 
1. Select Ancient Classics 
2. Select Log in 
3. Under the third icon in the first row select Series 1 or Series 2 (合集 初集 二集)