IUCAT, Indiana University's online library catalog, provides comprehensive access to millions of items held by the IU Libraries statewide, including books, recordings, US government publications, periodicals, and other types of material. Users can access IUCAT from any Internet-connected computer or device, whether in the libraries, on campus, or off campus.
Provides scholars, graduate students and professionals a free daily forum to discuss Japanese history, culture, religion, and society, including contemporary political, diplomatic, security, and economic issues.
Western-language bibliographical database for research on East, Southeast and South Asia. Published by the Association for Asian Studies, it covers all subjects with special focus on the humanities and social sciences.
Includes over 900,000 citations, dating primarily from 1971 onwards, with more than 400,000 citations since 1992. All entries are searchable by author, title, year of publication, place of publication, language of publication, journal title, country, subject, keyword, ISSN and ISBN. Includes the full content of the printed volumes of the annual Bibliography of Asian Studies dating back to 1971.
An index to journals and e-books published by Brill with full text access to content licensed by Indiana University, Bloomington Libraries. Subject areas include the humanities, international law, and biology.
Licensed full text content will display a "Full Access" icon.
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Provides searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, ecology, and business.
JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Mellon Foundation, provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines. These scholarly journals can be browsed online and searched, and the page images can be printed for those available in full-text. The IUB Libraries subscribe to current content for only some titles available through JSTOR.
All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume. Many include content up to a "moving wall" of 3-5 years ago, although some journals have a fixed ending date for their content in JSTOR. Please check individual journals for exact dates of coverage.
Provides full text access and indexing for e-journals and e-books from a variety of scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Contains internet guides to websites about Japan arranged by topic as well as links to bibliographies of books, periodicals, websites, and multimedia materials on topics of Japanese culture, society, history, and U.S.-Japan relations.
Index to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies.
Zasshi kiji sakuin shuusei deetabeesu: Meiji kara genzai made sougou zasshi kara chishi made = The complete database for Japanese magazines and periodicals from the Meiji era to the present. Index to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, and including local periodicals not present in many other indexes. Coverage is from 1868 onwards. Merges data from various composite periodical indexes by Kokuritsu Kokkai Toshokan.
Leaders + plus
New Eiwadai Dictionary
Luminous English-Japanese dictionary
English-Japanese computer glossary
Physics and chemistry English-Japanese dictionary
Medical English-Japanese dictionary
Research company business English-Japanese dictionary
Consists of fully searchable and browseable databases including English-Japanese and Japanese-English encyclopedias and dictionaries, and Toyo Bunko collection.
JapanKnowledge+ is the largest and most resourceful site about Japan. It provides access to various reference sources, including Encyclopedia Nipponica and Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, It also contains full-text of books in the Toyo Bunko collection, recent issues of the Economist Japanese edition, NNA world news, collection of video clips, maps, and many other useful links. IU's subscription of the JapanKnowledge+ database includes the following databases as well: Jitsu 字通, Nihon kokugo daijiten 日本国語大辞典, and Nihon rekishi chimei taikei 日本歴史大系.
The newspaper is used by researchers interested in issues related to Japanese culture, politics, economy, and society.
Product specially designed for libraries and institutes.
It has the following content:
Scanned images of the newspaper from 1945-1984.
Full-text indexed searches from 1985 to the present.
Full-text plus PDF images of all regionally published Asahi news, charts, and pictures from November 2005 on.
Shukan Asahi (Asahi Weekly) from April 2000 on.
AERA weekly from the first issue on.
The 2007 edition of Chiezo.
Archival content from The Japan Times, Japan's largest and oldest English-language daily newspaper. Note: see Japan Times (current) for access to content 1 year - present.
The Japan Times was first published March 22, 1897, with the intention to provide an a English-language paper focused on current events to aid Japan in the participating in the international community.
Select “Click here for Nikkei Telecom login” to access the resource. Includes full text of major Japanese newspapers for the past 30 years, as well as profiles of 1.2 million public and private companies.
Also provides various business data on individual companies from corporate overview to financial and credit information.
Includes access to the full-text of Yomiuri Shinbun from the inaugural issue on Nov. 2, 1874 to the present, and the English paper, The Daily Yomiuri, from September 1989 to the present. Also includes Regional Sections of the Showa Era, and a Biographical dictionary Who’s who of 26,000 modern Japanese figures.
Articles are keyword indexed to 8/31/1986, and can be searched full-text from 9/1/1986 to present.