Confused about what types of information are found in which databases? Check out the Database Quick Guide.
Industry/Market Research
Understanding wider industry trends and market forces can be helpful when exploring entry into a market. Start with these databases.
- Mergent IntellectTo access Dun & Bradstreet's First Research industry reports, scroll down on the home page and select "First Research." You will be prompted to enter your IU email address. You will then be routed to the search page for the industry reports where you can search by keyword or NAICS or SIC code.
- Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries
- Frost & Sullivan Growth Partnership Services
Full-text access to international industry-specific databases including healthcare, telecom, IT, transportation, electronics, and semiconductors.
- ProcurementIQ
Access to procurement reports covering a multitude of indirect purchasing lines. Reports range from 15-20 pages, cover product/service pricing dynamics, product characteristics that affect the purchasing decision, supplier benchmarking and supply chain risks, and negotiation questions and tactics.
- BCC Research
Access to market research reports that cover life sciences, sensors, materials, environment and sustainability, commerce, and publishers. Provides the latest trends, opportunities, challenges, and innovations emerging within these landscapes.
- SBRnet: Sports Business Research Network
Market research from the National Sporting Goods Association; the U.S. Department of Commerce; various sports governing bodies; and full-text articles from various magazines.
- Bizminer
Access to industry and area specific financial benchmarks for over 5,000 industries and market statistics for more than 9,000.
Marketing Research
Try these sources for market research on consumer attitudes, behaviors and opinions
- Mintel Reports
Please note: Mintel allows access for IUB faculty, staff, and students only. Market research reports covering US and International markets with an emphasis on consumer products and industries.
- MRI-Simmons InsightsData on U.S. consumer demographics, attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits. The database can be used to create individualized reports for marketing strategies, advertising choices, and other business decisions. See this video to learn how to create a quick demographic profile.
- Statista
Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts.
- Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries
- SBRnet: Sports Business Research Network
Market research from the National Sporting Goods Association; the U.S. Department of Commerce; various sports governing bodies; and full-text articles from various magazines.
* See also the News and Business Literature Databases below for more consumer and advertising research.
News and Business Literature
IU Libraries has several databases that let you search across a wide variety of newspapers and magazines, as well as offering direct access to some local and national newspapers.
- Business Source Complete
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
- EBSCO Management Collection
Full text articles from 1,200 business sources and 10,000 company profiles.
- ABI/INFORM Global
Full text access to business research journals, trade journals, dissertations, working papers, as well as key business and economics periodicals
- Factiva
Provides full-text access to national and international newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data.
- Nexis Uni
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Also includes access to Nexis Dossier.
Company Research
Use these databases to find out more about specific companies, but realize that new, small and/or private companies may not be covered at all, or not covered in as much depth as publicly traded companies when you do find them .
For public companies:
- MarketLine Advantage
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources.
- Mergent Online
Database of corporate information covering over 22,000 US and foreign public companies. Includes access to Investext reports written by analysts at investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms. Reports cover financials and analysis on companies and select industries.
For private companies:
- Reference Solutions
Detailed business and consumer data on businesses in both the U.S. and Canada. Includes directory information, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
- PrivCo
PLEASE NOTE: INDIVIDUAL REGISTRATION WITH AN OFFICIAL INDIANA UNIVERSITY EMAIL ACCOUNT IS REQUIRED TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE. PrivCo is a source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.