Contributor
Page created by Catherine J. Minter.
Please contact the page owner with questions or comments.
Sacco and Vanzetti
The trial of Nicola Sacco and Bartolomeo Vanzetti is one of the most notorious miscarriages of justice in North American legal history. Italian immigrant anarchists Sacco and Vanzetti were convicted of a fatal armed robbery that took place in Braintree, Massachusetts, on April 15, 1920. Despite several appeals, the two men did not receive a fair trial and were executed in Boston on August 23, 1927. The Sacco-Vanzetti case has continued relevance today as an example of ethnic and political intolerance.
The IU Bloomington Libraries offer access to several important collections of digitized primary sources relevant to Sacco and Vanzetti. These include Gale’s Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920, which provides access to court transcripts and other official documents emanating from the Sacco-Vanzetti trial, as well as letters written by the two men from prison. ProQuest’s History Vault includes a collection of case papers pertaining chiefly to the defense of Sacco and Vanzetti, together with papers of Justice Felix Frankfurter relating to the men's trial.
Selected library resources on Sacco and Vanzetti
- Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790–1920
This link opens in a new window
Collection of primary source materials supporting the study of nineteenth-century criminal history, law, literature, and justice. Includes manuscripts, books, broadsheets, and periodicals.
- ProQuest History Vault
- This link opens in a new window
Archival collections documenting topics in eighteenth- through twentieth-century American history. Provides access to digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of historical newspapers. Each issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images.
- Newspapers.com World Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles in addition to small local newspapers.
The Routledge History of Italian Americans by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780203501856Publication Date: 2018The Routledge History of Italian Americans weaves a narrative of the trials and triumphs of one of the nation's largest ethnic groups. This history, comprising original essays by leading scholars and critics, addresses themes that include the Columbian legacy, immigration, the labor movement, discrimination, anarchism, Fascism, World War II patriotism, assimilation, gender identity and popular culture.
The Sacco-Vanzetti Affair: America on Trial by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780300124842Publication Date: 2009This book is the first to reveal the full national and international scope of the Sacco-Vanzetti affair, uncovering how and why the two men became the center of a global cause that shook public opinion and transformed America's relationship with the world. Moshik Temkin contends that the worldwide attention to the Sacco-Vanzetti case was generated not only by the conviction that innocent men had been condemned for their radical politics and ethnic origins, but also as part of a reaction to U.S. global supremacy and isolationism after World War I.
Sacco and Vanzetti: The Anarchist Background by ISBN: 0691047898Publication Date: 1991The Sacco-Vanzetti affair is the most famous and controversial case in American legal history. It divided the nation in the 1920s, and it has continued to arouse deep emotions, giving rise to an enormous literature. Few writers, however, have consulted anarchist sources for the wealth of information available there about the movement of which the defendants were a part. Paul Avrich looks at the case from this new and valuable perspective.
Sacco and Vanzetti: Rebel Lives by ISBN: 1876175850Publication Date: 2004Political activists Nicola Sacco and Bartolomeo Vanzetti were executed for murder in a wave of anti-immigrant hysteria in Boston in the 1920s. Their story is a salutary one, illustrating the way in which anarchists and immigrants were painted as terrorists -- a grim reminder of the consequences of using fear as a political weapon.
Sacco and Vanzetti: The Men, the Murders, and the Judgment of Mankind by ISBN: 9780670063536Publication Date: 2007In the first full-length narrative of the Sacco-Vanzetti case in thirty years, Bruce Watson unwinds a gripping tale that opens with anarchist bombs going off in a posh Washington, D.C., neighborhood and concludes with worldwide outrage over the execution of the "good shoemaker" and the "poor fish peddler."
Representing Sacco and Vanzetti by ISBN: 9781403967381Publication Date: 2005Contributors from a range of academic disciplines and artistic traditions apply critical and interpretive methodologies, assume novel historical perspectives, and analyze overlooked primary materials to illuminate previously unexplored aspects of the Sacco-Vanzetti case. The essays in this book analyze literary, artistic, and mass mediated representations of Sacco and Vanzetti, linking them to stereotypes of so-called 'foreigners' and 'others' that prevailed in the 1920s, and interrogating those images that prevail in our own age.
Boston: A Documentary Novel by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781504026123Publication Date: 2015A wealthy dowager confronts the brutality of the class system and fights for justice in this dramatic account of the Sacco and Vanzetti case. Boston, a "documentary novel" published one year after Sacco and Vanzetti were executed, brilliantly combines fact and fiction to expose the toxic atmosphere of paranoia, prejudice, and greed in which the two men were tried.
- The Sacco-Vanzetti Anthology of Verse (1927)
This link opens in a new window
Edited by Henry Harrison. Courtesy of HathiTrust. - America Arraigned! (1928)
- This link opens in a new window
Edited by Lucia Trent and Ralph Cheyney. Courtesy of HathiTrust. - The Case of Sacco and Vanzetti (1927)
- This link opens in a new window
By Felix Frankfurter. Courtesy of HathiTrust.
- The True Story of Sacco and Vanzetti by
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 1998Streaming video