Library Research Guides: BUS J375 Strategic Management (Consumer Packaged Goods): Home

Consumer Packaged Goods Resources

Consumer packaged goods (CPG) are items used daily by average consumers that require routine replacement or replenishment, such as food, beverages, clothes, tobacco, makeup, and household products. The library recommends for this project you choose an industry leader, so you should first figure out which consumer packages good industry you would like to focus on.

IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
Example consumer package good industries in IBISworld include:
- Cosmetic & Beauty Products Manufacturing in the US
- Shaving Razor Manufacturing
- Soda Production in the US
Includes additional access to the following modules: US Industry Spotlights collection, Global Industry Reports United States: Industry Reports (NAICS) Industry State Reports (FL, MA, IL, NY, OH, CA, TX) Industry iExpert Summaries Specialized Industry Reports Specialized Industry iExpert Summaries Business Environment Profiles.
MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Industry and company reports. Includes SWOT and Porters Five Forces. You can limit to consumer goods and find reports like:
- United States - Hot Drinks
- South Korea - Prepared Meals
- Australia - Pasta & Noodles
MarketLine offers a collection of company, industry, financial, product and country information, research and data extending over all major marketplaces and industries. A searchable online business information service using published desk research and secondary data sources to create three different types of profiles. Company profiles include company overviews, business descriptions, company history, executive listings, product listings, locations, news, and commentary. Industry profiles contain: 5-year historical and 5-year forecast market values and/or volumes; market segmentations; company and/or product market shares; explanatory text identifying major trends and significant growth points; and analysis of each market's competitive landscape, including main players, distribution channels, and regulatory issues. Each country profile includes a description of the country's economic performance and GDP, an assessment of its potential for development, and detailed market and industry analysis of the country's business environment. Profiles are supplemented by a "news & comment" section.
Mergent Intellect
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and the ability to access industry profiles.
BCC Research
- This link opens in a new window
Covers life sciences, materials, sensors, commerce, environment and sustainability collections. Some consumer goods.
Examples:
- Infant Nutrition: Global Markets
- Plant-based Meat: Global Markets
- The Pet Industry: Food, Accessories, Health Products & Services
Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Includes PESTLE

Company Resources

For company directories, profiles and analyses, you can start with these resources:

MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources.
MarketLine offers a collection of company, industry, financial, product and country information, research and data extending over all major marketplaces and industries. A searchable online business information service using published desk research and secondary data sources to create three different types of profiles. Company profiles include company overviews, business descriptions, company history, executive listings, product listings, locations, news, and commentary. Industry profiles contain: 5-year historical and 5-year forecast market values and/or volumes; market segmentations; company and/or product market shares; explanatory text identifying major trends and significant growth points; and analysis of each market's competitive landscape, including main players, distribution channels, and regulatory issues. Each country profile includes a description of the country's economic performance and GDP, an assessment of its potential for development, and detailed market and industry analysis of the country's business environment. Profiles are supplemented by a "news & comment" section.
Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Financial information for public companies.
Access to U.S. Company Data and International Company Data. Allows users to access reports on companies based around the world, searching by company name or ticker symbol, or searching across all global boundaries to find companies that match specific financial and/or textual search criteria. Also includes detailed information, such as history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt, and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies.
D&B Hoovers
- This link opens in a new window
Integrates business and financial information from data providers throughout the world.
Includes information on more than 170 million businesses, both public and private, around the world; including the UK, Europe, Asia Pacific and emerging markets.
Reference Solutions
- This link opens in a new window
Detailed business and consumer data on businesses in both the U.S. and Canada. Includes directory information, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
S&P Capital IQ
- This link opens in a new window
S & P Capital IQ is a web and Excel-based financial research application produced by Standard & Poor's. It organizes historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide, provide clients with the data necessary to analyze company fundamentals, build financial models, screen for investment ideas, and execute other financial research tasks. Some user-friendly features are its chart builder, screening tools and Excel Plug-in modeling tools.

Available for IUB-affiliated users only. Requires individual registration for access. To sign up, select “New User?”. Questions related to registration should be directed to the Kelley School of Business.

More Company Resources

Marketing Resources

For information on demographics, marketing strategy and market research, start with these resources:

Mintel Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Reports that include consumer and market data and analysis and marketing strategies. To get started with this database, see this video.
Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market. Reports may be downloaded as RTF (rich-text format) files; tabular data may also be saved as CSV (comma-separated values) files.

Access and downloading instructions:
1. All users will have to agree to the Academic permissions and prohibitions, which prohibits systematic copying, use without attribution, use for commercial purposes, or distribution to non-IUB students and employees.
2. After accepting the above permissions and prohibitions, you must create an individual profile in order to download reports.
3. Select "Log into your profile..." to create a new (or log into an existing) Mintel profile.
4. After logging in, downloading is available by either using the direct download option for a report or by using the My Presentations feature which also offers the direct download option for the report.
Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries
MRI-Simmons Insights
- This link opens in a new window
Data on U.S. consumer demographics, attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits. The database can be used to create individualized reports for marketing strategies, advertising choices, and other business decisions. See this video to learn how to create a quick demographic profile.
Simmons Insights (formerly Simmons OneView, and prior to that Simmons Choices3) provides data on adult U.S. consumers based on national surveys. The data includes consumer demographics (age, gender, income ...), consumer psychographics (behavior, attitudes ...) and buying and media habits. The database can be used to create individualized reports for marketing strategies, advertising choices, and other business decisions.
Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts.
Provides access to data from numerous institutes and sources. The portal offers four languages: English, German, French, and Spanish. The German platform focuses on content about DACH-countries; the international platform incorporates international data. The French and Spanish platforms provide country specific data in their respective languages.

More marketing resources

News and Literature Resources

To access news articles and trade publication for background information, trends and case studies, use these resources:

ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2,890 publications, offering the latest business and financial information, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competition environment.
Comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Notable periodicals include The Economist, Sloan Management Review, and the Wall Street Journal.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
Provides access to peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Indexing and abstracts and full text are available back as far as 1886.
Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 25,000 sources including The Wall Street Journal, The Financial Times, and the Dow Jones and Reuters newswires.
Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from international newspapers, magazines, transcripts, legal research and medical journals.
Comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included. Formats found in Nexis Uni are: international and domestic newspapers, magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), company financial information, industry and market news, federal and state case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and state and country profiles. Includes business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Non-English language news sources are available in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch. Campus news from some 400 college/university papers and over 50 wire services are also available.
To access Nexis Dossier select "Business" (near the bottom of the Nexis Uni homepage). Then select "Create a Company List" in the Company Dossier box.

BUS J375 Strategic Management (Consumer Packaged Goods)

Business/SPEA Library

Get Help

Consumer Packaged Goods Resources

Company Resources

Marketing Resources

News and Literature Resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

BUS J375 Strategic Management (Consumer Packaged Goods)

Consumer Packaged Goods Resources

Company Resources

Marketing Resources

News and Literature Resources

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries