Get Help
Research & Instruction Librarian
Company Research
- MarketLine Advantage
This link opens in a new window
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources.
Industry/Market Resources
For industry and market reports and analyses, use these resources:
- IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings. - MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources. - Mergent Intellect
- This link opens in a new window
To access Dun & Bradstreet's First Research industry reports, scroll down on the home page and select "First Research." You will be prompted to enter your IU email address. You will then be routed to the search page for the industry reports where you can search by keyword or NAICS or SIC code. - Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on consumer, industrial, and service markets around the world. - Frost & Sullivan Growth Partnership Services
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to international industry-specific databases including healthcare, telecom, IT, transportation, electronics, and semiconductors.
- BCC Research
- This link opens in a new window
Access to market research reports that cover life sciences, sensors, materials, environment and sustainability, commerce, and publishers. Provides the latest trends, opportunities, challenges, and innovations emerging within these landscapes.
Marketing Resources
For information on demographics, marketing strategy and market research, start with these resources:
- Mintel Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Reports that include consumer and market data and analysis and marketing strategies. To get started with this database, see this video. - Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries
- MRI-Simmons Insights
- This link opens in a new window
Data on U.S. consumer demographics, attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits. The database can be used to create individualized reports for marketing strategies, advertising choices, and other business decisions. See this video to learn how to create a quick demographic profile. - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts.
Business Articles and News
These sources capture a wide variety of publication types (academic research, popular press, trade publications) on a range of topics, including marketing and consumer research.
Language matters when searching these sources! Looking for information on what causes consumers to purchase a particular product? Try including "purchase intention" (with the quotes) in your search. Wondering how much more a green product is worth? try the phrase "willingness to purchase" (with the quotes), along with a variety of synonyms like (green or sustainable or environmentally-friendly), like this:
"willingness to purchase" AND (green or sustainable or environmentally-friendly)
- Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
- ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- EBSCO Management Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from 1,200 business sources and 10,000 company profiles.